This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Ms F from Hertfordshire

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

4

Lodges stayed in

6

Excursions taken

0

Our Rwanda/Botswana trip feedback

Botswana and 3 other countries between 26 Sep 2016 and 11 Oct 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"Fabulous trip.

Great itinerary from Expert Africa - good variety of camps and length of stays were perfect.

Our main Expert Africa contact was actually Megan, not Tracy, but she is not in the pick list.

It would have been nice to have received a phone call on returning from the trip to ask us how it had been.

Our guide Theo was excellent and negotiated two fabulous groups for our gorilla treks."

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Eka Hotel

Eka Hotel

"Eke Hotel Review"

1 night Arrived 27 Sep 2016
"Check-in took ages and they said they would be unable to give us a key for a bit and then the keys didn't work when we got them.

On checking out they tried to charge us for a hotel airport transfer that we didn't take (we had the transfer arranged by yourselves). We did get it resolved but it took a little while.

Breakfast box was average."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Poor
Mountain Gorilla View Lodge

Mountain Gorilla View Lodge

"Gorilla Mountain View Lodge Review"

3 nights Arrived 28 Sep 2016
"Very attentive and friendly staff.

Food was very good.

Items in the shop were extremely over priced e.g postcard was $3 and identical thing was $1 at tourist shop down the road."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
City Lodge OR Tambo

City Lodge OR Tambo

"City Lodge OR Tambo Review"

1 night Arrived 1 Oct 2016
"Check-in extremely slow.

Nice room.

Good breakfast."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Poor
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Machaba Camp

Machaba Camp

"Machaba Camp Review"

3 nights Arrived 2 Oct 2016
"Level of service was spot on - attentive but not in in your face. Very genuine staff. Serving staff the best of all the camps we stayed at.

Moreri was an excellent guide. Sean was an excellent manager/front of house.

Really nice surprise BBQ dinner in the bush.

Fabulous wildlife sightings. Downside is the number of other vehicles and self drivers around but we felt the excellent wildlife offset the negatives of a busier area.

Good combination of individual breakfast and lunch dining and then communal dinners."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Selinda Explorers Camp

Selinda Explorers Camp

"Selinda Explorers Camp Review"

3 nights Arrived 5 Oct 2016
"Victor was excellent guide. All staff were excellent apart from Lizzie who we found too intense and in your face.

Bush breakfasts were amazing - a real highlight and made this camp stand out from others.

Activities were flexible (eg we stayed out very late one evening for specific wildlife sightings) but then on our returned to camp the staff wanted us to rush to dinner to fit with their schedule.

We had a puncture (not unexpected) but the spare tyre was flat so we had to wait for a service vehicle to come out with another spare. However the spare was stuck on the service vehicle. Better maintenance checks should be done on the vehicles before setting out."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kanana

Kanana

"Kanana Review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Oct 2016
"Really lovely camp with lovely communal areas. Lots of inexperienced managers which showed in the service. Service staff were good.

The managers were really annoying and never left you alone. We didn't like the fact that they tried to make you sit in certain places for pre dinner drinks and tea. They didn't make best use of the great communal spaces and always had one big dining table in the back of the lodge for all meals.

Our room (no.7) was right by a generator which was switched on at 4.30am waking u as it was quite noisy. They should consider solar panels.

We were assigned to Chacjos as a guide but only actually had him for one activity. We didn't think he was very good. He didn't inspire any confidence that he knew the best areas for wildlife and he didn't explain anything eg when he was looking at tracks so it made us feel that he was just driving around randomly.

Wildlife viewing was terrible compared to the other camps but this was what we were expecting so wasn't an issue. The scenery is lovely and the boat and mokoro trips very relaxing. The boat and mokoro trips and really good and heronry is excellent.

When we asked for certain things (a private dinner and an early start taking breakfast to the heronry) the staff were excellent and accommodated everything we wanted to do.

Little things let the camp down e.g guides forgetting the keys for the boat two days running so we had to go back to camp for them and our driver taking us to the airstrip turning up 20 minutes late so that we were in a massive rush and had to take our own baggage from the rooms."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Poor
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team