This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Mountain Gorilla View Lodge
Mountain Gorilla View Lodge
Mountain Gorilla View Lodge
Mountain Gorilla View Lodge
Mountain Gorilla View Lodge

Mountain Gorilla View Lodge


1°25’42.7"S 29°33’18.5"E

Reviews of Mountain Gorilla View

Wildlife sightings and reviews

100 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Mountain Gorilla View and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 12 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Mountain Gorilla View.
Mountain Gorilla

92% success

Buffalo

13% success

Elephant

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 11-20 of 100
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs
Weybridge

"Great basis for the trekking"

3 nights Arrived 13 Aug 2018
"It was good to go back to the hotel full of dust and have the shoes taken care of." See all these reviews: 6n in Kenya; 5n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr Tony L
USA

"Gorillas!"

4 nights Arrived 5 Aug 2018
"The numerous staff were always very polite and attentive.

It gets cool at night: 50 degrees F. Get extra wood for your fire. The hot water bottle helps!

Take off a couple of layers before you set out on your trek: it gets warm soon. " See all these reviews: 4n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Mountain Gorilla

6 sightings

H family
Seven Oaks

"Functional and comfortable stay"

3 nights Arrived 25 Jul 2018
"Perfectly acceptable lodge but a little anonymous and tired looking.

The activities more than made up for the lack of a "lodge experience". " See all these reviews: 9n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Sightings Report

Mountain Gorilla

1 sighting

Mr J & Ms M
Tasmania

"Mountain Gorilla View Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 19 Jun 2018
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Mountain Gorilla

8 sightings

Ms M
CambridgeHeath

"Great location and room"

3 nights Arrived 25 Jan 2018
"The rooms were huge and had a fire , which we had lit before dinner. Able to dry clothes beside it and enjoy the warmth.
Hotel also cleaned and dried our shoes after trekking, this was very appreciated as we were very muddy.
The foot massage offered at end of hike was also excellent.
Good food and excellent service.
Lovely gardens as well.
" See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania; 7n in Zanzibar; 5n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Cambourne

"Lovely lodge with a great view"

3 nights Arrived 22 Jan 2018
"The lodge was spacious and clean, with a welcoming fire which was lit afternoon and evening to take the chill off the room.

The gardens were tidy with feeders, plants and flowers to attract the birds.

The free boot clean and foot and leg massage were very welcoming after a muddy hike!

Good choice of food on offer at meal times.
" See all these reviews: 6n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr R
Los Altos Hills

"2nd stay at MGVL"

4 nights Arrived 28 Dec 2017
"Great location. Friendly staff.

Would stay there again." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 5n in Rwanda; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Ms M & Mr S
USA

"Mountain Gorilla View Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 20 Dec 2017
"The service was terrific. They anticipated our needs before we even knew we had them: they lit a fire in our fireplace every night, and provided us hot water bottles to keep us warm through the cool evenings. They washed our boots when we came back from Gorilla trekking completely soaked and covered in mud. They also got up very early on our last day -- 4:30am -- to cook us a hot breakfast before we left. I was quite impressed with the level of service.

The room itself was comfortable and large, with a nice view. It felt very private even though there were other bungalows nearby. It was a little bit of a long walk to the lodge, and when we wanted to ask for more firewood, we had to walk all the way back to the lodge since there is no way of calling the front desk.

We had a very pleasant time. The food was good -- buffet style." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania; 4n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr B
Hertfordshire

"Mountain Gorilla View Lodge review"

4 nights Arrived 6 Oct 2017
"This lodge is situated within a reasonable distance (by vehicle) to the trekking centre. It's difficult to decide whether the somewhat old fashioned interior design is part if it's rustic charm or whether it's just well past its sell by date and in need of upgrading - probably the latter.

Large bed/lounge area with open fire which was lit for us by one of the staff. There was an electric kettle of sorts; not a type seen before - a small jug which only just warmed the water. The shower/wash room, which was huge, left quite a lot to be desired; the shower head was mounted close to the corner of two walls and as a result you could not adequately cover yourself with water. The shower area floor should have anti-slip paint applied or mats to prevent possibly slipping. The wash basin had no plug.

The choice and quality of the food was just about average. Have not previously had the pleasure of eating cold toast - not to be recommended. " See all these reviews: 6n in Rwanda; 6n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Mrs M
London

"Mountain Gorilla View Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 24 Sep 2017
"The Mountain Gorillas Lodge, sister hotel to Lake Kivu, had the same slippery shower floor problem, but otherwise the lodge facilities and standard were fine, although after relative quiet at Nyungwe and two days of splendid isolation at Lake Kivu it came as a bit of a shock to the system to find a fully occupied dining room. The altitude and weather were now back to being cooler, even when not raining, and again we took advantage of the fireplace in our room, although again it had to be specifically requested, but it was clearly a much more regular occurrence. Food was fine, and, from the non-meat eater’s perspective, throughout the trip there was one of the best ranges of food available, with plenty of fish and interesting vegetable dishes. Although the strength of the local coffee can be challenging!" See all these reviews: 10n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 11-20 of 100
88%
100 reviews of Mountain Gorilla View by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
48
44
8
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Rwanda

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Rwanda.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Volcanoes National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Sabyinyo Silverback Lodge

Sabyinyo Silverback

In a fine location close to Volcanoes National Park, Sabyinyo Silverback Lodge is a very comfortable lodge with wonderful views.


95% (21 reviews)
Virunga Lodge

Virunga Lodge

Virunga Lodge is a consciously environmental lodge in a stunning location, about an hour's drive from Volcanoes National Park headquarters.


98% (13 reviews)
Gorilla's Nest

Gorillas Nest

Gorilla's Nest is a very high-end lodge in a great location near the Volcanoes National Park headquarters, from where all gorilla trips start.


73% (6 reviews)
Bisate Lodge

Bisate Lodge

The exclusive and luxurious Bisate Lodge, close to Volcanoes National Park, is one of the best places to stay in the area.


100% (4 reviews)
Bishop's House

Bishops House

In the town of Musanze, a half-hour drive from the Volcanoes National Park headquarters, Bishop's House is well placed for gorilla trekking.


No reviews yet
Kwitonda Lodge

Kwitonda Lodge

Close to the edge of Volcanoes National Park, the luxurious Kwitonda Lodge opened in 2019. Ask your Expert Africa specialist for the latest news.


No reviews yet
Five Volcanoes

Five Volcanoes

Five Volcanoes offers mid-range hotel accommodation around 15 minutes' drive from Volcanoes National Park headquarters.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa