This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Dr C from Newmarket

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

4

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

13

Excursions taken

2

My Jan 2020 trip

Tanzania between 29 Jan 2020 and 6 Feb 2020

Trip rating: Good
"Considering the difficulties encountered I would still say that overall the trip was fairly satisfactory.

Everyone did their best to iron out mishaps, rearrange itineraries and adapt to the unpredictable chaos due to the heavy, unending rainfall. Personally I understand that each trip will be different and no matter how much you plan...” life happens.” This trip just happened to be a bit more adventurous than what was planned; but no regrets.

My fellow travellers all report that though the trip was difficult they are completely blown away by the magnificence of Tanzania, her beauty, her glorious animals and her warm kind people. And yes, I’ll be back:)"

Airport Planet Lodge

Airport Planet Lodge

"First Stop"

1 night Arrived 29 Jan 2020
"This is my second time staying at Airport Planet Lodge.

It is a welcome spot to rest from a long flight. Their hospitality is much appreciated as is their willingness to make a light meal late in the evening.

The rooms are clean, comfortable and the surroundings quiet to ensure a good nights sleep."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Dunia Camp

Dunia Camp

"The Ladies Camp"

2 nights Arrived 30 Jan 2020
"The first word that comes to mind when recalling Dunia is “detail.”

This camp epitomizes the comforts that paying attention to detail can afford a guest. The little touches, such as the lovely fleece lined blankets for wrapping up in during a chilly evening meal, the availability of rain gear in the common area so that there is no need to retrieve your own. The staff is attentive, pleasant and always willing to assist.

Our guide, Zawadi, was knowledgeable, easy going and well informed. Angel and Mary (camp managers) consistently checked in to make sure that you had everything you needed for a pleasant stay.

One thing that I would like to point out is that I was expecting my guests to be met at the airport with lunch. We did not arrive until 2:30pm and then did not make it to camp until 4:00pm, not having eaten since 8:00am. Also on our game drive the next morning no food was prepared for a mid-morning snack. My previous experience with Asilia informed my expectations, so I’m not sure what happened or if things have changed."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Lemala Ngorongoro

Lemala Ngorongoro

"Eden"

1 night Arrived 4 Feb 2020
"Stunning; canopies of acacia, flowering bushes, shades of green surround and envelope this camp.

When I think of Lemala I think luxury, and the Ngorongoro site lives up to Lemala’s standards. The rooms have a rustic elegance to them and the gas heaters certainly help dispel the damp and cold as you snuggle for a comfortable sleep. We lost power in the morning but Lemala was ready with elegant candelabras and soft LEDs at breakfast.

As always the staff was attentive, helpful and kind. The food was expertly prepared and the presentation quite remarkable for a tented camp."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Olduvai Gorge visit

Olduvai Gorge visit

"Olduvai Gorge visit review"

4 Feb 2020 • All-day excursion

It does my heart good to see the continued improvements at Oldupai; what a treasure this site is for Tanzania.

I thoroughly enjoyed the short lecture, the displays and the lovely new lecture gallery.

I never get tired of visiting this spot. It holds so much history and continues to feed my imagination.
Excellent
Plantation Lodge

Plantation Lodge

"Plantation Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 5 Feb 2020
"The old world charm of Plantation Lodge cannot be matched.

The rooms are spacious, comfortable and well organized for a short stay.

Staff is attentive and helpful and the food is very good."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Safari in Ngorongoro Crater

Safari in Ngorongoro Crater

"Safari in Ngorongoro Crater review"

5 Feb 2020 • Morning excursion

A nice day in the crater. We arrived early and avoided the crowds. Unfortunately the roads were in poor condition and we were held up several times waiting for others to be helped out of mud holes. Due to poor road conditions we were unable to drive to some of the more remote areas of the crater.

As we were leaving there was another downpour and the ascending road from the crater was closed. However, we just made it out before a piece of the road was washed away. I love the crater and the beautiful, expansive views and I so appreciate any opportunity to visit.

Each visit is different and each visit is spectacular.
Excellent

Northern Serengeti

Tanzania between 21 Jun 2018 and 25 Jun 2018

Trip rating: Excellent
"This past trip to Africa really gave me a new perspective on what the northern part of the Serengeti has to offer. There is a particular beauty and wildness in this part of the park which I enjoyed. Lemala Kuria Hills camp was so comfortable and the setting so beautiful, I enjoyed every moment that I was there and truly bathed in the privacy that I had with the location of my tent.
On the game drives you could see that there was so much food and space for the animals and therefore the herds were much larger than what I have become accustomed to in the Serengeti. For instance, I would see herds of 50 to 70 topi, hundreds of Thompson gazell, large harems of impala; it was spectacular."

Lemala Kuria Hills

Lemala Kuria Hills

"Serene Safari at Lemala Kuria Hills"

4 nights Arrived 21 Jun 2018
"What a wonderful surprise this beautiful camp was. The views are expansive, varied and are a source for getting completely lost in the moment. I cannot say enough about the comfort of the tent and the glorious amenities such as the soaking tub, outdoor shower, plunge pool and being able to wake at sunrise and make a cup of fresh hot coffee to enjoy on the raised deck. The staff go above and beyond at this camp. Each request is met with an attentive response. I was well taken care of; actually a bit spoiled,
The meals at Kuria Hillls are prepared and presented with the same detail and care that makes this camp exceptional. I appreciated the variety of food, the freshness of the food and meal choices/options. My experiences with the game drives were also exceptional. Frank was my guide and he was knowledgeable with regards to the animals, terrain, environment and it’s impact on adaptation of behavior and physical characteristics. Plus he is a great story teller and we shared laughter and chatter along with silence and reflection. I believe that the attention to detail and conscientiousness of the staff reflect the competent, caring managerial style of Daniel. He is a keen observer of human behavior and responds to people with humor, respect and a tinge of wisdom. Thank you so much to everyone who made my stay at Lemala Kuria Hills unforgettable."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

My Jan 2017 trip

Tanzania between 27 Jan 2017 and 6 Feb 2017

Trip rating: Excellent
"This holiday was just a spectacular journey. Varied, stimulating and fun all the way.

I wish to thank James Denny for working with me all year and making the recommendations that he did. I put this trip together for 3 of my friends but could not have done it without James/Expert Africa. I used Expert Africa for a trip to Botswana and found their planning and the companies that they work with to be reliable and was so glad to work with them once again. They are my Go-To experts for Africa.

My friends were totally delighted with the trip and sincerely loved all of the different pieces that made this a successful, perspective shifting, travel experience.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

No, I really don't. I feel blessed to have found this company. Thank you all so much."

Kia Lodge

Kia Lodge

"Kia Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 27 Jan 2017
"While this is a good place to sleep and start your trip from, the grounds and furnishings could use a bit of a refresh.

However being greeted by this enthusiastic staff will keep me coming back to Kia Lodge when I need a day lodge or an overnight stay."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Namiri Plains Camp

Namiri Plains Camp

"Namiri Plains Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 28 Jan 2017
"This is without a doubt my new favorite place on the planet. Whoever chose the camp location did a spectacular job, I could not have asked for more. The facilities, for me, had just the right amount of creature comforts and bush feel.

Now on to the the amazing staff. First let me say that I am a new fan of Asilia. They are conscientious, inclusive, environmentally and socially aware; they walk the talk. Diana Shambi, assistant camp manager, was working during our stay. This young woman is a queen and made sure that the 3 of us had everything, including pink hot water bottles!!!

My new saying for Namiri is "If you come to a camp being managed by a queen, you will be treated like a queen." And that's the truth. Erasto Macha was our guide during the 4 day stay and his knowledge, expertise, sense of humor and patience made this trip unforgettable. Thank you Erasto. I haven't even gotten to the animals yet!!

Cats, cats, cats everywhere. This site is exceptional both in its beauty and in the density of wildlife. I will out definitely return to Namari.

James Denny of Expert Africa suggested this camp and he was spot on. It became the heart of the trip for me. Thank you everyone."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Gibb's Farm

Gibb's Farm

"Gibb's Farm review"

2 nights Arrived 1 Feb 2017
"I have had the pleasure of being at Gibb's Farm a few times in the past 5 years and have always found it to be exceptional in service and amenities. This stay was a bit disappointing for me as some of the creature comforts i.e., biscuits with coffee in the morning, high tea in the afternoon, sufficient drinking water in the rooms have been discontinued and the fact sheets in the cottages are outdated with the information that they offer. These are small items but the details shape the memory.

There were also some issues with food; poor quality with to-go boxes for lunch, long waits for for some snacks upon arriving the first day. After speaking with the manager, who was very receptive, the food issues were cleared up.

However, after saying all the above guess who will be staying there again in June...yes, me. I love Gibb's Farm, the setting is spectacular, the gardens delightful, the birds and other creatures running around charming and the staff is warm, welcoming and helpful."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Excellent
Oliver's Camp

Oliver's Camp

"Oliver's Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 3 Feb 2017
"We only had two nights here and I would have loved to stay for one more. This camp is relaxing, the staff were helpful, service oriented and welcoming. Jacky, the camp manager, is outstanding and certainly made all of us feel at home.

The beauty of the Tarangire surrounds you and I absolutely loved the outdoor shower; letting nature give me a super-surround. The meals were well prepared with quite a variety of choices. John Mndolwa from Asilia was our guide and driver for the rest of our trip. He knew the nooks and crannies of Tarangire and we were able to experience woodlands, swamp and open plains while enjoying the richness of the wildlife. John kept us on our toes looking for animals as we tried to out-spot him; which we never did. The man can see a lion laying in the bush from two miles away!

This camp is well worth a visit."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Exceptional experience.

Botswana and 1 other country between 14 Apr 2015 and 23 Apr 2015

Trip rating: Excellent
"I cannot say enough to about this trip.

So many truly exceptional experiences, so many kind, warm people, the beauty of the region is astounding as is the amount of wildlife to be viewed. The diversity of the forests, grasses, plants and trees is also spectacular. All the guides and trackers were knowledgeable and so much fun to be with. There were nice connections and nice moments.

Without a doubt I will return to this area and without a doubt I will use Expert Africa.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Not really. Nick was always so timely, informative and attentive. It has been a pleasure working with him over this past year. Also, it is nice to have found a company where I can refer people and be assured that they will receive the best treatment.

Thank you all so much."

Thamalakane River Lodge

Thamalakane River Lodge

"A warm welcome to Botswana from staff."

1 night Arrived 14 Apr 2015
"Friendly staff who went out of their way to make the first leg of this journey comfortable."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Lebala Camp

Lebala Camp

"Lovely Lebala; what a gem."

3 nights Arrived 15 Apr 2015
"This camp is well run, the staff are invested in making your experience exceptional. I met so many friendly faces who shared their talents and kind hearts.

Bate & Mr. Mo made this trip exciting and fun. Their combined knowledge of animal behavior, plant life & star gazing skills made this journey full, rich and memorable.

I have no hesitation recommending this lodge to family and friends and would return in a heart beat."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Little Kwara

Little Kwara

"Exceptional wildlife viewing at Little Kwara"

3 nights Arrived 18 Apr 2015
"While this camp's location is ideal there seems to be a lack of cohesion in the running of this facility. It appears that they are lacking an adequate number of vehicles and staff to offer more than one activity at a time. The facilities are a bit run down and in need of some repair.

Meals were to be at a set schedule, however a couple who were on private safari were able to change the schedule to meet their needs which left the rest of us having dried, over cooked dinners.

The staff was friendly & helpful. The guide & tracker were both extremely knowledgeable about the area & animals. I enjoyed learning about the different prides of lions and their history in the region. The Delta itself was unremarkable due to high grasses & low water levels for mokoro trips. Mother Nature's doing.

There were a couple of times when Adventure Travel turned into Dangerous Travel which I would like to discuss with someone from Expert Africa for their perspective. I loved the area but would not return to Little Kwara."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Poor
Facilities
Average
Ilala Lodge

Ilala Lodge

"Beautiful, relaxing and comfortable."

2 nights Arrived 21 Apr 2015
"What a way to return to civilization!! Fantastic on all accounts.

Comfortable rooms, kind staff, great amenities, good food & beautiful surroundings. I had a relaxing message, a nice swim, a great dinner and appreciated the locale for walking to Victoria Falls and exploring the rest of the town.

A definite redo."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team