This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Onsea House
Onsea House
Onsea House

Reviews of Onsea House

Wildlife sightings and reviews

32 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Onsea House and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 11-20 of 32
Duration
Arrival date
Dr A, B & B
San Diego

"Onsea House review"

2 nights Arrived 30 Jul 2014
"Calvin gave us a wonderful walk around the hill on which Onsea is located, including agricultural aspects and local people. Food ranged from good to excellent, with service always excellent. Had a very later dinner awaiting us when we arrived. Had a very nice chat with one of the owners, Axel. Definitely a great place to recoup from air travel in preparation for a safari. The one and only issue about cost on this trip occurred at Onsea House. One of our vouchers read full board and the the other read half board. We had to pay $65 (US) for a lunch for all three of us. So, was this supposed to be included or not?" See all these reviews: 13n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr & Mrs S
Cheshire

"Overnight / day room"

1 night Arrived 21 Jul 2014
"Used at the beginning and end of trip. Located mid-way between Kilimanjaro and Arusha airports" See all these reviews: 14n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs V
Harlow

"Onsea House review"

1 night Arrived 17 Jul 2014
"Our journey home had a large gap due to airline schedules and so Asilia booked a dayroom for us at Onsea House. A smallish lodge tucked away on the quiet outskirts of Arusha; we didn't expect much but Onsea was great.

A comfortable room, a shower to wash the safari dust off, lunch thrown in and an hour or so quiet kip before the final bit of our journey home. So much better than a hotel" See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania; 4n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Dr & Mrs E
Poole

"Onsea House review"

1 night Arrived 1 Oct 2013
"Welcoming (after our long flight,) an ideal place to rest and get ready for the safaris that were to follow.. twent four hourd here were very enjoyable." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
The B family
Otley

"Onsea House Feedback"

0 night Arrived 29 Jul 2013
"If I hadn't have known where I was, gazing out from the terrace I'd have plumped for somewhere in the very verdant Caribbean.

Although I was asleep for part of the time here due to succumbing to two lunch-time beers, the house, gardens and outlook were all stunning and it is a wonderful little oasis off the beaten track." See all these reviews: 6n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr W x 6
New Zealand

"Onsea House review"

1 night Arrived 1 May 2013
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr W x 6
New Zealand

"Onsea House review"

1 night Arrived 25 Apr 2013
"This is a great place with an excellent manager.

When we had flight issues he was flexible to our needs and helped source transport from the airport etc.

They weer helpful and allowed us to use phones etc to sort forward problems. I will detail transport problems to Maruska later.
There was a very helpful french woman there whi I would have rated 10/10 except she had strong words with some staff within earshot of guests. A bit more discretion with staff problems may be in order.

This is without doubt a great asset for Ex Af to have on the ground" See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs W
Grantham

"Overnight and lunch on return"

1 night Arrived 9 Feb 2013
"The development of Onsea House has been a big improvement. Outward our stay was excellent but on our return where we had a day room and lunch there were very few options on the menu and service was very slow." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs L
Wellington

"Unexpectedly good hotel just outside Arusha"

1 night Arrived 26 Aug 2012
"Ideal stp-off between flights" See all these reviews: 6n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Dr N
Virginia

"Great place to recover from jet lag!"

2 nights Arrived 31 May 2012
"A lovely guest house.

Excellent accommodations and restaurant. A nice place to decompress after international flights and before safari.

A bit off the highway, but still a very pleasant, safe area for walking and getting oriented." See all these reviews: 14n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 11-20 of 32
91%
32 reviews of Onsea House by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
20
9
3
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Arusha

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Rivertrees Country Inn

Rivertrees Country Inn

Rivertrees is a peaceful and relaxing place to stay, not far from Arusha. It can be added to either the beginning or end of a safari.


86% (42 reviews)
Arusha Coffee Lodge

Arusha Coffee Lodge

Arusha Coffee Lodge is a neat, comfortable lodge, right on the highway, close to Arusha Airport. It is a convenient stop for a night.


88% (28 reviews)
Machweo

Machweo

Machweo is a nine-room lodge on the outskirts of Arusha. The rooms are large and stylish, and the service and food here are very good.


87% (15 reviews)
Kia Lodge

Kia Lodge

Kia Lodge is a simple, country-club-style lodge situated close to the buildings and runway of Kilimanjaro International Airport.


75% (12 reviews)
Airport Planet Lodge

Airport Planet Lodge

Airport Planet Lodge is a new hotel located close to Kilimanjaro Airport, making it ideal for a short stay before or after your international flight.


96% (10 reviews)
Hatari Lodge

Hatari Lodge

Hatari Lodge is designed around a bright, fun 1960s retro theme and is a relatively high-quality base to explore Arusha National Park.


93% (6 reviews)
Katambuga House

Katambuga House

Katambuga House is a smart hotel on the western side of Arusha, an hour’s drive from Kilimanjaro Airport and 10 minutes from Arusha Airport.


96% (5 reviews)
Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary

Mount Meru Game Lodge

Mount Meru Game Lodge, near Arusha, is a good spot to stay en route to northern Tanzania's most famous safari areas.


80% (5 reviews)
Legendary Lodge

Legendary Lodge

Legendary Lodge is boutique luxury lodge, perfect for an indulgent overnight stay at the start or end of your safari.


100% (4 reviews)
Twiga Lodge

Twiga Lodge

Twiga is a Tudor-style lodge with welcoming owners, country-style gardens and a viewing platform looking onto Arusha National Park.


No reviews yet
Arusha Serena Hotel

Arusha Serena Hotel

The Serena Arusha Hotel is a comfortable hotel close to Lake Duluti. It makes a good stopover before or after a safari in northern Tanzania.


No reviews yet
Siringit Kilimanjaro Golf Safari Retreat

Siringit

Siringit Kilimanjaro Golf Safari Retreat is a six-bedroom villa offering a luxury stay in complete privacy on a championship golf course.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa