This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Dr N from Virginia

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

7

Excursions taken

0

My May 2012 trip

Tanzania between 31 May 2012 and 14 Jun 2012

Trip rating: Excellent
"My experience with Expert Africa was completely positive. Everything on the trip happened on-time and as-promised. The camps and hotels that I used were likewise accurately represented in every way, so there were again no surprises. The communication in planning the trip was really excellent and extremely helpful. I would recommend Expert Africa to any traveller to Tanzania.

I chose to make my trip early in the season (arriving around June1). I knew that the game viewing would potentially be better later in the season when more of the water sources had dried up, but wanted to travel before the dry season became too advanced and everything really dried out. My assessment proved correct, but I have no real regrets about the timing of my trip.

However, most of the camps were just opening, with various "start-up" issues (changing staff, finding where the animals were hanging out, etc.) and animals would likely have been better acclimated to the vehicles in another week or so. A week later might thus have been better timing for the trip, but hardly a major issue."

Arranged By Maruska Adye-Rowe


Onsea House

Onsea House

"Great place to recover from jet lag!"

2 nights Arrived 31 May 2012
"A lovely guest house.

Excellent accommodations and restaurant. A nice place to decompress after international flights and before safari.

A bit off the highway, but still a very pleasant, safe area for walking and getting oriented."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge

Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge

"Comfortable lodging on the crater rim"

2 nights Arrived 2 Jun 2012
"A very nice place to stay on the Crater rim. Excellent access to road down into Crater is the biggest plus.

Orientation (facing West) is not ideal, at least in May-June, as crater was socked in by fog and clouds in the morning and the view was overpowered by the glare of the setting sun in the afternoon. Facilities and rooms were very nice. However, there was a tendency to raise expectations as a luxury facility that were not really realized in terms of food and service. But nevertheless a fine site for a Crater rim experience."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Ruaha River Lodge

Ruaha River Lodge

"Beautiful site on Ruaha river"

2 nights Arrived 4 Jun 2012
"A great place to stay in Ruaha National Park, with a really beautiful setting on the Ruaha River.

Lots to see from the veranda and dining area. Manager and staff were very welcoming and helpful. Setting promotes interaction among the guests.

Guiding on game drives was outstanding. I visiting early in the season (early June) and the place was not at all crowded, but the number of visitors was obviously building. A great place to stay, with no particular negatives. Bandas were very nice, comfortable, and secure.

Electricity was available during the hours of darkness, which was quite adequate."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Mdonya Old River Camp

Mdonya Old River Camp

"Secluded tented camp provides great experienc"

3 nights Arrived 6 Jun 2012
"A really lovely place.

The managers (Nicol and Fabia; regrettably now rotated to different assignments) did a great job of creating a welcoming and friendly, but also extremely professional, atmosphere. Guiding was also excellent. The location has lots of animals, thought thicker brush than some other locations in Ruaha.

My stay here was one of the highlights of the trip."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Lake Manze Adventure Camp

Lake Manze Adventure Camp

"Good, not great"

2 nights Arrived 9 Jun 2012
"My stay at Lake Manze was a bit of a disappointment relative to other locations on the this trip. In part, that was a reflection of the lack of an assistant manager, leaving all the managerial responsibility on one person. I think this is not the normal situation.

However, guiding was clearly the weakest of the 4 locations that I visited, with a personable guide but one that was clearly less skilled than desirable. Again, this may have been just luck of the draw, as our driver clearly emerged as a very skilled (but less communicative) guide. Facilities are fine, and the location seems good, but we say very little of interest on the boat safari, which was VERY different from the second location I visited in the Selous."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Excellent
Selous Impala Camp

Selous Impala Camp

"Up market, with all that implies"

2 nights Arrived 11 Jun 2012
"This is a very nice camp, with great facilities and food, appropriate for up-market (versus budget) travellers.

The opportunity for boat safaris on the river was a real highlight, with great views of animals and birds, plus sundowners on the shore. The camp draws lots of UK honeymooners on their way to/from Zanzibar, which to me was neither a positive or a negative.

Easily the best food of the 4 camps I visited in S. Tanzania.

Good, capable guiding and an excellent, friendly staff."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Southern Sun Dar

Southern Sun Dar

"A well-run business-oriented hotel"

1 night Arrived 13 Jun 2012
"I stayed here for one night preparatory to returning to the U.S. after a 2-wk safari in the TZ game parks.

The hotel served that purpose very well, plus giving me a day to explore Dar. It is not a tourist hotel, with a much more business-oriented clientele, but that was fine. Good service, good food, opportunity to check email in the business center.

All the things one needs to do in preparation for returning home."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team