This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Onsea House
Onsea House
Onsea House

Reviews of Onsea House

Wildlife sightings and reviews

32 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Onsea House and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 21-30 of 32
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs P
Surrey

"Onsea House review"

3 nights Arrived 11 Jan 2011
"We loved the intimacy of Onsea House. Everyone was so friendly and attentive, with the atmosphere being very relaxed. The rooms were beautifully furnished - stylish but not over the top. The setting was peaceful. We were lucky to be in the cottage which was very secluded.

I'm not sure whether I would have been happy to stay in the guest rooms at the main house as they overlooked the terrace area where drinks and meals were served - we are early night people and I wonder whether when it's busy whether this would have been a problem for travellers like us. I would have wanted to have known this in advance if that had of been an option so that I could factor this in to my decision making.

Food was great and Axel was a great host. He accommodated my shellfish allergy (which I find very boring as from the few prawns which I have tasted I loved!) making me feel that it just wasn't an issue and that he was creating something just for me. Overall a brilliant start to our trip." See all these reviews: 18n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs G
Michigan

"Onsea House review"

2 nights Arrived 10 Oct 2010
"We loved having a small, quiet place to relax on our first day in Tanzania. The hosts were gracious and friendly, and we were happy to find a computer available for our use. The pool and lawn area is lovely, but too far to walk to in our jet-lagged state so we didn't use it." See all these reviews: 13n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs P
Otley

"Onsea House review"

1 night Arrived 23 Sep 2010
"We would not recommend Onsea House for a short 22.00-8.00 overnight stay. A simpler B and B would be sufficient.

They seemed more concerned about being a 'Chic Resort' which was not what we needed." See all these reviews: 6n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Mr & Mrs S
Stanford

"Onsea House review"

1 night Arrived 19 Sep 2010
"We arrived at midnight and were greeted by the lovely hostess. She made sure that we had a first-class breakfast very early in the morning. The room was charming and breakfast was a real pleasure.

Nomad evidently did not inform Onsea House that we would be arriving on the late Precision Air flight from Nairobi. Onsea House expected us on the earlier KLM flight." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 4n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Petersfiel

"Onsea House review"

1 night Arrived 7 Feb 2010
"Shame the owner had to leave for a hospital visit no else seemed to what to do." See all these reviews: 13n in Tanzania; 6n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Poor
Facilities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Poor
W family
Pennsylvania

"beautiful cottage great food and hospitality"

1 night Arrived 9 Oct 2009
"Beautiful grounds and cottage with lovely gardens. Stayed only 1 night in rooms 3 & 4 which were contained in a huge cottage with great common space with dining table and kitchenette with a well stocked frige and microwave.Would be great for a traveling family who needed to spread out. This cottage overlooked the pool and had a nice view of Mt. Meru.Location is on a hill with lots of steps so I would not recommend to tourists with disabilities.

We were greeted upon arrival by the owner Axel, staff, and two beautiful golden labs with cool towels and cool drinks. Very welcome!

The owner is a chef and dinner was great. The staff was polite, efficient and attentive.

Dinner was served on a very comfortable covered porch. A billiard table and small bar area was contained in a ground level room.
Both bedrooms of the cottage were lovely, comfortable and contained nice linens and towels. Shampoo and bath soap products as well as bottled water were included.

Breakfast was buffet and very adequate. Cooked breakfast was offered but we found it unnecessary. A lovely packed boxed lunch was delicious with great variety of baked goods,cheeses, sandwiches, and fruit.

Distance from Kili airport was just fine no problem even after a long flight @ 17 hours.

Only thing that was unexpected was the amount of security with guards and gates. The area near the Onsea felt a bit unsafe with night time bands of men roaming the dark roads with sticks. Our driver who is from Arusha stated when asked "These are not good guys". This is not considered a problem by us just an observation. Security was quite tight." See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Norbury

"Good for resing after flights London & Dar"

1 night Arrived 4 Oct 2009
"We were in one of the garden cottages, very pretty room. Maybe because we were very tired service after main course was a bit slow." See all these reviews: 6n in Tanzania; 2n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
W Sussex

"Belgian chocolates?"

2 nights Arrived 8 Sep 2009
"Lovely place, wonderful setting, friendly staff, great food but it did have me wondering why we had come all the way to Africa to eat Belgian chocolates and drink Italian fizzy water. Given that Onsea make no secret of the fact that they import not only these but also a wide range of basic ingredients (their advertisement in a free tourist magazine we got on the flight to Arusha makes it a selling point) I was surprised we had not been warned by Expert Africa that the "best food in Arusha" (p112 of EA brochure) was not locally sourced. I would have preferred to eat less well." See all these reviews: 13n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
C family
West Sussex

"Onsea House review"

1 night Arrived 16 Jul 2009
"Very relaxing and welcoming. Great food.
Good place to recover after the flight.

Wish we had used this as a base for a day trip to Arusha NP before setting off for the safari to the bigger parks" See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Ms O & Mr W
Surbiton

"Onsea House review"

2 nights Arrived 6 Jun 2009
"Very nice place to stay - the staff were all very helpful and pleasant.

I felt they could be a bit more organised about sorting out your bill - it was very much on an honesty basis." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 4n in Zanzibar; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Showing 21-30 of 32
91%
32 reviews of Onsea House by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
20
9
3
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Arusha

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Rivertrees Country Inn

Rivertrees Country Inn

Rivertrees is a peaceful and relaxing place to stay, not far from Arusha. It can be added to either the beginning or end of a safari.


86% (42 reviews)
Arusha Coffee Lodge

Arusha Coffee Lodge

Arusha Coffee Lodge is a neat, comfortable lodge, right on the highway, close to Arusha Airport. It is a convenient stop for a night.


88% (28 reviews)
Machweo

Machweo

Machweo is a nine-room lodge on the outskirts of Arusha. The rooms are large and stylish, and the service and food here are very good.


87% (15 reviews)
Kia Lodge

Kia Lodge

Kia Lodge is a simple, country-club-style lodge situated close to the buildings and runway of Kilimanjaro International Airport.


75% (12 reviews)
Airport Planet Lodge

Airport Planet Lodge

Airport Planet Lodge is a new hotel located close to Kilimanjaro Airport, making it ideal for a short stay before or after your international flight.


96% (9 reviews)
Hatari Lodge

Hatari Lodge

Hatari Lodge is designed around a bright, fun 1960s retro theme and is a relatively high-quality base to explore Arusha National Park.


93% (6 reviews)
Legendary Lodge

Legendary Lodge

Legendary Lodge is boutique luxury lodge, perfect for an indulgent overnight stay at the start or end of your safari.


100% (4 reviews)
Katambuga House

Katambuga House

Katambuga House is a smart hotel on the western side of Arusha, an hour’s drive from Kilimanjaro Airport and 10 minutes from Arusha Airport.


95% (4 reviews)
Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary

Mount Meru Game Lodge

Mount Meru Game Lodge, near Arusha, is a good spot to stay en route to northern Tanzania's most famous safari areas.


80% (4 reviews)
Twiga Lodge

Twiga Lodge

Twiga is a Tudor-style lodge with welcoming owners, country-style gardens and a viewing platform looking onto Arusha National Park.


No reviews yet
Arusha Serena Hotel

Arusha Serena Hotel

The Serena Arusha Hotel is a comfortable hotel close to Lake Duluti. It makes a good stopover before or after a safari in northern Tanzania.


No reviews yet
Siringit Kilimanjaro Golf Safari Retreat

Siringit

Siringit Kilimanjaro Golf Safari Retreat is a six-bedroom villa offering a luxury stay in complete privacy on a championship golf course.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa