This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs P from Surrey

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

5

Lodges stayed in

15

Excursions taken

0

My Sep 2014 trip

Namibia and 3 other countries between 5 Sep 2014 and 26 Sep 2014

Trip rating: Excellent
"We had a great trip.

On the whole everything was as expected (see comments on Budget and Ndhovu as exceptions) and we got to see the wild dogs which was the main focus of our holiday."

Arranged By Claire Scott


River Crossing

River Crossing

"River Crossing review"

1 night Arrived 6 Sep 2014
"We liked this hotel. Good location from the airport and nice food offering.

Not sure that it would warrant more than an overnight stay, but was good for a first or last night option."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Okonjima Bush Camp

Okonjima Bush Camp

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 7 Sep 2014
"Had a really good stay here. Great food and hospitality, but shame we all sat at different tables for dinner and often on our own as it's nice to share stories about the day. Also may have been nice of the guides joined you for dinner which often happens at other places. Rohan was a great guide - fun and very knowledgeable.

We weren't aware that house wine at 200 Namibian dollars a bottle was included in our stay. Would have been good to know in advance either from Expert Africa or the lodge."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

1 night Arrived 10 Sep 2014
"Staying here is all about the waterhole where you see lots of animals.

The site itself is rather municipal and the restaurant food basic. The bush chalet was well equipped comfortable and clean.

It was what we expected so no complaints."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

"Halali Camp review"

1 night Arrived 11 Sep 2014
"The bush chalet was basic but clean and comfortable. Food was basic but ok.

Waterhole viewing was not as good as Okaukeujo, but we may have just been unlucky.

The standard of the camp was what what we expected so no complaints,"
Good
Location
Average
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

"Mushara Bush Camp review"

1 night Arrived 12 Sep 2014
"Mushara made a good base just outside of Etosha. We had a lovely evening meal in the boma.

Also took a guided trip back into Etosha which we enjoyed.

Room was clean and fresh."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Ndhovu Safari Lodge

Ndhovu Safari Lodge

"Ndhovu Safari Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Sep 2014
"The hostess at this lodge were very welcoming and attentive. Lodge is in a lovely position on the river.

The tent we were allocated (No. 1) didn’t have a view of the river and the decor was a bit tired. We were offered a move to another room - we however later decided not to do this as the neighbouring lodge were having late night parties and the other room was nearer to that lodge.

I think that these noise problems may just be at the weekends so try and avoid these days if you want to stay here."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Lianshulu Lodge

Lianshulu Lodge

"Lianshulu Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 15 Sep 2014
"Lovely lodge in a great riverside position. The lodge managers were very hospitable and made us feel very welcome. Nothing was too much trouble.

Very good food was served."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Lagoon Camp

Lagoon Camp

"Lagoon Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 16 Sep 2014
"We loved Laggon Camp. Great viewing - saw the wild dogs which was the main reason we went there. Our guide and tracker were really knowledgeable and friendly.

Food was amazing and loved the sitting round the big dining table and chatting with everyone. Our room was great and very spacious."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
City Lodge OR Tambo

City Lodge OR Tambo

"City Lodge OR Tambo review"

1 night Arrived 19 Sep 2014
"As aiport hotels go it was ok and it met its purpose. Close to the terminal so it did what we needed it to do.

Dinner choices in the restaurant were very limited (mostly sandwiches and only a few hot meals), but breakfast was an amazing selection."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Azura at Quilalea

Azura at Quilalea

"Quilalea Island Resort review"

6 nights Arrived 20 Sep 2014
"This was an amazing resort. Really friendly team, excellent service and food and great for snorkelling from the beach - we enjoyed this so much we didn't undertake any other activities.

The standard of the rooms was extremely high and there were nice little touches like sunset cocktail delivered to your room."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

Overall

Tanzania between 10 Jan 2011 and 29 Jan 2011

Trip rating: Excellent
"We had a great time and it was everything we expected that it would be. Ellie was so helpful in the booking process and answering my questions.

We loved Tanzania and we agreed that the safari here was better than other countries we had visited. Our driver from Asilia (Albert) was very friendly and knowledgeable. He was always prompt and the vehicle was always spotless.

We undertook a couple of trips with Wayo at the Serena Hotel at Lake Manyara:

1. The night drive into the park made us feel very special as we were the only people in the park on that night. I love the expectation of what you might see and this is what anyone who does this trip needs to bear in mind. It is highly unlikely that you will see Lions and whatever you do see unless you have a very good camera and are very quick at taking the picture you won't be able to do this. So it's best to just sit back and enjoy the trip. We saw different notcturnal animals - porcupine, genet, hippos feeding, bush babies etc.

2. Whilst we enjoyed the bike ride, there are a few factors that anyone doing this needs to think about. It was about 30km and whilst a lot of it is down hill the hot wetaher can take it out of you so take come water (we weren't offered any by Wayo, although our Driver gave us some) and plenty of sunscreen, a hat etc. The bikes are ok, but the seats are a bit worn and uncomfortable (we were talking to the guy who took us and he told us that they wanted to order the gel seats but had to get these form Europe). I had thought that the visit to the village was going to be about meeting people who lived and worked there - we actually visited a curio shop. We then biked into the park and down to the lake and then back up to the village where our driver met us. So overall we enjoyed it but a few things to consider for anyone else.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

I really can't think of any."

Onsea House

Onsea House

"Onsea House review"

3 nights Arrived 11 Jan 2011
"We loved the intimacy of Onsea House. Everyone was so friendly and attentive, with the atmosphere being very relaxed. The rooms were beautifully furnished - stylish but not over the top. The setting was peaceful. We were lucky to be in the cottage which was very secluded.

I'm not sure whether I would have been happy to stay in the guest rooms at the main house as they overlooked the terrace area where drinks and meals were served - we are early night people and I wonder whether when it's busy whether this would have been a problem for travellers like us. I would have wanted to have known this in advance if that had of been an option so that I could factor this in to my decision making.

Food was great and Axel was a great host. He accommodated my shellfish allergy (which I find very boring as from the few prawns which I have tasted I loved!) making me feel that it just wasn't an issue and that he was creating something just for me. Overall a brilliant start to our trip."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Lake Manyara Serena Safari Lodge

Lake Manyara Serena Safari Lodge

"Lake Manyara Serena review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Jan 2011
"We've stayed in a Serena lodge before and whilst it wouldn't always be my first choice (we prefer smaller places) this was a really good lodge. The setting is spectacular and when you take a swim it feels that you are going to swim to the edge of the world. The view from the room was amazing.

The rooms themselves are a bit dated ( I treated it like a step back in time to my 70s childhood!) but they are clean, spacious and comfortable and have everything that you need. Food was average - choice was good but it had that mass produced feeling about it.

The team however were excellent and the service great - so on balance I would have no qualms about staying here again."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Ngorongoro Farmhouse Lodge

Ngorongoro Farmhouse Lodge

"Ngorongoro Farmhouse Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 16 Jan 2011
"The rooms are extremely spacious here with lovely views across the farm's land.

Great location for visiting Ngonrongoro as it really wasn't far from the gate.

The food was nicely prepared and there was a good selection each night at the buffet.

Good service from the staff."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Ndutu Safari Lodge

Ndutu Safari Lodge

"Ndutu Safari Lodge review"

4 nights Arrived 18 Jan 2011
"I loved this lodge. The location is fantastic and even though the wildebeest and zebra's migration route was up the side of our room each night (a bit noisy) it was all part of the wonderful experience.

The rooms are cosy and non-fussy, some people may think the bathroom is a bit municipal, but for us it was a perfect choice.

Service was great and the food was exceptional - the only complaint that we could have is that there was too much food!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Pole Pole

Pole Pole

"Pole Pole review"

7 nights Arrived 22 Jan 2011
"Pole Pole was an ideal ending to our trip.

A small lodge with a lot of character, great location and wonderful people working there. Robyn and her team really looked after us and nothing was too much trouble. The food is exceptionally good and the italian bread which they serve each day delicious. The rooms were beautifully furnished.

We spent most of our time just lazing around although we took a trip to see the whale sharks and also some diving / snorkelling (found the accessibility of the boat a bit tricky due to it being a dhow and when we were there the water was quite choppy). If travelling here remember to pack some waterproof shoes - if you are there when the tides are changing they are a must for walking out into the bay (Tania from the dive centre did kindly lend us some)."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team