This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by C family from West Sussex

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

10

Excursions taken

0

My Jul 2014 trip

Zambia and 1 other country between 25 Jul 2014 and 9 Aug 2014

Trip rating: Excellent
"Excellent trip."

Arranged By Claire Scott


Flatdogs Camp

Flatdogs Camp

"Excellent game and bird spotting at Flatdogs"

4 nights Arrived 26 Jul 2014
"Liked the flexibility of the meal system and also excellent quality food which included fresh produce from the garden

Excellent guide - Bwalya was not only very personable and good company but also had an in depth knowledge of birds as well as animals.

Great to hear they sourced a lot of the food and other things needed for the camp from the local community.

Highlight for me was seeing wild dogs close up"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Tafika

Tafika

"Tafika review"

3 nights Arrived 30 Jul 2014
"Great food for such a remote location - the fresh produce from the garden was a real plus.

Highlight was three leopards in the same tree!

The mountain bike ride was fun and the walking safari was excellent.

We had a variety of different guides all with an excellent knowledge of birds as well as animals and other wildlife"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Chongwe River Camp

Chongwe River Camp

"Chongwe River Camp review"

5 nights Arrived 2 Aug 2014
"A wonderful location, elephants seem to be in camp about half the time.

We enjoyed the opportunity to do a variety of activities including canoeing and the walking safari

We saw less game than in South Luangwa but we didn't do the long drive in which might have revealed more.

The staff were incredibly friendly and welcoming

One improvement would be to use refillable water bottles rather than relying on a constant supply of new bottles which must generate a lot of plastic waste.

Highlight was seeing 2 porcupines on a couple of occasions by our tent!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Ilala Lodge

Ilala Lodge

"Ilala Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 7 Aug 2014
"Lovely place and great location for Victoria Falls. Helpful staff and excellent food."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

Family trip to Tanzania

Tanzania between 15 Jul 2009 and 30 Jul 2009

Trip rating: Excellent
"Excellent. The places we visited and wildlife we saw were wonderful. A great experience for the children. The guides were excellent. Accomodation generally excellent with a couple of exceptions.

Wish we had spent at least a day in Arusha NP.

Suggestions for improvements:

No - I think your advice was excellent

Only thing for us would be if you could help customers who come a cropper with BA like us!

Thank you for your help in setting up a brilliant trip."

Arranged By Claire Scott


Onsea House

Onsea House

"Onsea House review"

1 night Arrived 16 Jul 2009
"Very relaxing and welcoming. Great food.
Good place to recover after the flight.

Wish we had used this as a base for a day trip to Arusha NP before setting off for the safari to the bigger parks"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Tarangire Sopa Lodge

Tarangire Sopa Lodge

"Tarangire Sopa Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 17 Jul 2009
"The Lodge is very impressive if a bit sterile. Very clean and an excellent location in the Park.

Food disappointing and an overly attentive waiter which didn't work for us.

Tarangire was excellent for both game (we saw lion, leopard, cheetah and wild dog) and birds"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Average
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Poor
Image alt

E Unoto Retreat, Tanzania (this camp has since closed)

"E Unoto Retreat review"

2 nights Arrived 20 Jul 2009
"We liked the community involvement.
A desolate 10Km drive across degraded land to get there but the site is at the foot of the Rift escarpment with great views.

Our Masai "butler" for our stay (Yamat) was excellent - interesting, friendly and very helpful.

The only thing to be aware of is there is no electricity or lighting at night - make sure you have a torch for each hut!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Rhino Lodge

Rhino Lodge

"Rhino Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Jul 2009
"Excellent - basic but clean and no pretensions. Good hearty food. Recommended.

Buffalo and waterbuck feed on the grass right outside the rooms!"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Olakira

Olakira

"Olakira Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 24 Jul 2009
"Expensive but a fabulous location and wonderful experience.

Go there if you can."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Lobo Wildlife Lodge

Lobo Wildlife Lodge

"Lobo Wildlife Lodge review"

4 nights Arrived 26 Jul 2009
"A strange place - fabulous location but quite a big Lodge with very few guests - perhaps because not many people come this far up the Serengeti. Probably also because it is badly managed although the waiters, kitchen staff and evening piano/guitar player were lovely and excellent with our children (serious people may not appreciate the guitar player!).

Food very basic

Quite a lot of noisy construction work while we were there and our son was sick after swimming in the pool (on a closer look it was easy to see why....it was full of pond life)

Great area for wildlife though - serval, cheetah and leopard all seen near the Lodge"
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Poor
Rooms
Good
Food
Poor

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team