This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Ms O & Mr W from Surbiton

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

6

Excursions taken

0

Safari in Tanzania, short trip to Zanzibar

Tanzania and 2 other countries between 5 Jun 2009 and 20 Jun 2009

Trip rating: Excellent
"We had an absolutely brilliant safari - we saw loads of animals, more than I had expected. Our guide Halifa was fantastic - he was an amazing spotter, I don't know how he found all the animals but he did it somehow. He was also really helpful and would help out with any problem or enquiry. We also really liked him - very easy to get along with. I would recommend him to anyone going to Tanzania. All the camps we stayed in were excellent, again I'd have no problem recommending any of them. Staff were always helpful and friendly. All the people we met in the camps were very happy and very pleased with the guides and the camps.

The Shooting Star in Zanzibar was very nice, and again the staff very helpful. I think we enjoyed the safari part of the trip more, though - Zanzibar was more a place to relax and do nothing and we're not very good at that! Four nights was enough.

Ellie helped us with the booking and she has been great - she didn't mind any of us ringing up with lots of questions, and could always give you a sensible answer. She really knew her stuff!"

Onsea House

Onsea House

"Onsea House review"

2 nights Arrived 6 Jun 2009
"Very nice place to stay - the staff were all very helpful and pleasant.

I felt they could be a bit more organised about sorting out your bill - it was very much on an honesty basis."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Lemala Ngorongoro

Lemala Ngorongoro

"Lemala Luxury Camp Ngorongoro review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Jun 2009
"This was our first camp and we really enjoyed it. The food was great, everyone - staff and guests - very friendly. Being escorted to your tent at night by a maasai was unexpected!

It was cold in the morning and evening but luckily we'd taken a few jumpers. Liked having the trunks to put all our stuff in as it kept the tent tidy.

Location was fantastic - we were in the crater very early in the morning before other vehicles."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Nomad Serengeti Safari Camp

Nomad Serengeti Safari Camp

"Nomad Serengeti Safari Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 10 Jun 2009
"Loved it - we really liked the way you could split the tent into 3 sections to be a bit more private when washing or changing. Good idea to have a "back door" so that someone can come in and top up your hot and cold water in the morning.

Babu Tryphon and his assistant looked after our every need when we were in the mess tent. All the staff were really nice. Laundry service was very good and very fast.

Excellent location - we saw lots of animals and were right in the middle of the migration with a fantastic view from the dining tent."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Nduara Loliondo Camp, Tanzania (this camp has since closed)

"Nduara Loliondo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Jun 2009
"The yurts were brilliant - we really, really liked them. They were pretty and practical. We were so well looked after by the staff here and had some very useful swahili lessons from Philbert. We also enjoyed talking to Kelfin at the campfire.

We particularly liked doing the walking safari and the night drive which we'd not been able to do at our other camps and visiting the maasai village. The food, laundry, service, everything was excellent.

We had a couple of lovely surprises too - I don't want to spoil things for anyone else, but they were much appreciated and involved a campfire and a breakfast! I think Nomad should advertise this campsite more, as it was truly spectacular."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Shooting Star Lodge

Shooting Star Lodge

"Shooting Star Lodge review"

4 nights Arrived 15 Jun 2009
"Very relaxing, very helpful if you wanted advice on any local activities. We had a problem with our roof leaking and it was fixed within a few hours - we were very impressed. The staff will do anything they can to make your stay more pleasant.

The only thing I would say is that if you want to do activities, rather than just relax, it can be a bit limiting because of its location. We did have a lot of mosquitoes in our room and I think they could do with putting some netting between the roof and the walls and possibly all over the inside of the thatched roof, just to try and reduce them but not being a mosquito expert or an architect I don't know how practical that is.

We were made to feel very welcome and it was a very pleasant place to stay. The food was absolutely wonderful."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Macushla House

Macushla House

"Macushla House review"

1 night Arrived 19 Jun 2009
"We were only there one (short) night but were made to feel very welcome and loved the house."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team