This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs P from Otley

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

6

Excursions taken

0

Offbeat Meru and Elephant Bedroom, Samburu

Kenya between 3 Oct 2013 and 13 Oct 2013

Trip rating: Excellent
"We enjoyed our holiday even more than we expected. The two camps complemented one another very well. Meru is a splendid park to visit.

There was lots of wildlife without the pressure of other visitors and vehicles and Offbeat Meru was an excellent camp from which to explore it. Samburu was rich in wildlife, although a little busier, and the river-side setting of Elephant Bedroom was ideal.

We happily recommend our trip and combination of camps. In retrospect, our transfer arrangements from and back to Nairobi was the weak link and could hopefully be improved. We will email separately on this."

Arranged By Richard Trillo


Offbeat Meru

Offbeat Meru

"Offbeat Meru Camp"

5 nights Arrived 4 Oct 2013
"A very welcoming and well organised Camp in a lovely setting, frequented by a range of the local wildlife (giraffe, bushbuck, kudu and even a leopard, with many different birds). The atmosphere was very relaxed, flexible and informal.

The success of the camp owes a lot to the hosts and managers, Sean and Tanyth, who created and maintained the atmosphere but they were supported by a superb staff who were always enthusiastic and friendly. While the camp lacked some of the facilities of top-market camps, this was more than compensated for by the enthusiasm and friendliness of all the staff. Our driver/guide, Stanley, was ideal. He was an excellent guide and spotter while being good company and anxious to seek out whatever we wanted to see.

We enjoyed our 5 nights there so much and would love to be able to go again."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Elephant Bedroom

Elephant Bedroom

"Elephamt Bedroom Camp"

3 nights Arrived 9 Oct 2013
"Elephant Bedroom camp complemented Offbeat Meru camp very well. Being larger, the introduction was a little more formal but all the staff were unfailingly friendly and helpful. The facilities were all very good and well maintained and the river-side setting first-class.

The camp is unfenced so was regularly visited by elephants with resident dwarf mongoose, many birds etc. The tents were spacious and comfortable, with hot water day and night. The meals were always good and, in the evening, were served in a delightful candle-light setting. Our driver/guide, Anthony, was enthusiastic and knowledgeable and gave us some splendid game drives with lots of action including a rare sighting of a caracal.

We enjoyed our 3 nights there immensely."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

My Sep 2010 trip

Tanzania between 22 Sep 2010 and 1 Oct 2010

Trip rating: Excellent
"We went to Tarangire in 2002 and chose a return trip for 2010 because we enjoyed it so much. We were not disappointed.

2 days in Manyara and 4+ full days in Tarangire is a good balance.

When asked about their private guide, these travellers commented:

Martin was an excellent driver-guide.

Martin Mollel was our driver/guide for a week so was indispensable for a good holiday. He showed just the right conbination of knowledge, skill, efficiency and friendliness.

He made the holiday a real pleasure and we would recommend him warmly to other visitors.

Gwyn [Ed:m one of the travellers.] was interested in birds and he went to great lengths to find and identify any birds we came across. We knew little Swahili and he taught us a lot more."

Arranged By Claire Scott


Onsea House

Onsea House

"Onsea House review"

1 night Arrived 23 Sep 2010
"We would not recommend Onsea House for a short 22.00-8.00 overnight stay. A simpler B and B would be sufficient.

They seemed more concerned about being a 'Chic Resort' which was not what we needed."
Average
Location
Average
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Image alt

E Unoto Retreat, Tanzania (this camp has since closed)

"E Unoto Retreat review"

1 night Arrived 24 Sep 2010
"We enjoyed E Unoto. The staff were helpful and cheerful and the setting is superb.

In some ways we were saddened because maintenance was not what it should be and it seemed to be going downhill. They seem to be short of business and we can appreciate why.

They made us a lovely anniversary cake!"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Tarangire Safari Lodge

Tarangire Safari Lodge

"Tarangire Safari Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Sep 2010
"We really enjoyed the Safari Lodge and its superb view over the river. The staff were friendly and welcoming and the setting was fantastic with plenty of wild-life and birds around the tents.

It was quite busy but this was compensated for by the excellent game viewing in the vicinity."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Oliver's Camp

Oliver's Camp

"Oliver's Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 27 Sep 2010
"This was a very good camp with magnificent accommodation and superb staff. It is a pity that the first and last half-hour of each drive were a bit thin of interest (other than tsetse flies!) - if only the camp could be moved to overlook the Silale swamp.

The manager Salim looked after us very well, including a champagne supper which made a memorable experience."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team