This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Ms Heidi from Chicago

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

6

Excursions taken

0

Incredible Honeymoon in Africa

Tanzania and 2 other countries between 9 Sep 2015 and 25 Sep 2015

Trip rating: Excellent
"Our trip was incredible! Our first time in Africa and our first trip of this extent and we couldn't be happier. We had the perfect combination of safari, tent, beach, hotel and enjoyment.

We thought Tarangire National Park was the most amazing place for a game drive. The elephants were everywhere!! We particularly enjoyed the night game drive and the seclusion of our camp.

We weren't thrilled about Ngorongoro Crater or Lake Manyara. Lake Manyara seemed like a petting zoo compared to Tarangire and the crater had tons of animals but took so much time to get into and exit out. We didn't like the closed safari vehicles which you have to have in both places and the distance from the animals in both wasn't as fun.

The Serengeti is a MUST stop! We got to see the crossing about 4-5 times which was breathtaking. The camp was unreal and everybody should experience a mobile camp bucket shower :) The staff at both tented camps were out of this world.

We looked Asilia!! They were truly unbelievable. The staff was so reliable, intelligent and just fun to be around. We felt completely at home with them and safe. It was so great to work with them!

We loved visiting the Giraffe Centre and David Sheldrick's elephant orphanage. They were both unforgettable and moving experiences. We learned so much and have a huge appreciation for the work both places are doing for these animals. We also visited Mamba Village (crocodile place) and we were not fans of this at all. It was more like a zoo. Animals were captured and brought into this village to be looked at by guests. We saw injured ostriches and camels with mussels. Not a great experience.

After having such incredible experiences during safari, we were so exited to spend time in Seychelles relaxing. Although the islands are beautiful, they were too secluded for us. We found that the islands didn't have much to offer for activities or enjoyment. We left the hotel every night for dinner which was good, but the taxis were VERY expensive so that was disappointing. The highlight of Seychelles for us was scuba diving. We loved it so much we went 2 days in a row. We had a good time relaxing by the pool and taking in the breathtaking views of the beaches. I don't know if I think the amount of travel to get to Seychelles is necessarily worth it but it allowed us our layover visit in Kenya and we really enjoyed that.

Elizabeth is so great to work with, she made the planning promise seamless! I actually had fun picking out the destinations and accommodations. Ellie also was great in Elizabeth's absence. She helped us with our very minor issues while we were in the Seychelles. Both ladies were extremely responsive and helpful. Expert Africa is a superb travel agency, I hope to use again and I will recommend to all of my friends and family. Thank you for giving up the honeymoon of our dreams!!"

Arranged By Elizabeth Chapman


Onsea House

Onsea House

"Beautiful Room with a Great View"

1 night Arrived 10 Sep 2015
"Upon arrival at Onsea we were greeted by the staff with a delicious drink and we were given a tour of the layout and our room. Our room was stunning! The view from the balcony was breathtaking and we captured a sight of an amazing sunset. The bathroom was spacious, comfortable with a blow dryer, great bath amenities and hot shower.

We arrived in the afternoon and enjoyed a comfortable nap by the pool with several visits from the resident dogs and cats, how fun!

We enjoyed an incredible 6 course dinner inclusive of lovely wine and great service. The server brought us each a glass of bubbles to end our meal which was a great touch.

The next morning we had a delicious breakfast on the restaurant deck and walked the premises before departing. The property was very, very small with little to do but it was perfect for us to relax and catch up on our sleep before heading out to the game drives/camp. I wouldn't recommend staying any more than 1 night as I think people would be bored."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Oliver's Camp

Oliver's Camp

"AMAZING Camp, Staff and Safari"

2 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2015
"Little Oliver's Camp was an unforgettable experience!! Upon our arrival at the Kuro strip, we were met with our guide, Habibu and Larazo (our spotter), we went directly onto our very first game drive. They had a delicious packed lunch for us to enjoy at a picnic area as we stared out into Tarangire National park and viewed the peaceful animals.

Upon arrival at the camp, we were instantly greeted by Julie, the camp manager. Julie is amazing! She briefed us on the camp and gave us all the importantant information as this was our first time ever camping or on safari. Our tent was incredible! We had the "honeymoon" tent which was incredibly comfortable and safe. The outdoor shower was unreal. To be outside, taking a hot shower and watching elephants in the distance is just unbelievable, somebody pinch me! We enjoyed drinks by the campfire and a delicious dinner with the group on the deck. We LOVED sharing our experiences with everyone and kind of eating dinner as a "family".

The following day, we enjoyed a walking safari, day game drive and a night game drive. All of them were beyond our expectations. The night game drive was incredible, we saw so many new animals that you would never see during the day. We loved it! Upon our return from the drive, we were whisked away to a private candle-lit dinner on our tent deck. We couldn't believe it! Our friends had also arranged for us to have a nice bottle of bubbles to enjoy the dinner. It was the perfect ending to the perfect day. Julie and the staff did a fantastic job surprising us and arranging this beautiful, romantic evening for my husband and I. We never imagined something so special in the bush ;)

Our last day, we enjoyed another amazing breakfast on the deck and a game drive on our way to the Kuro strip. Our guide and spotter were so wonderful at their jobs. They were extremely intelligent about the park and animals and really offered a wealth of knowledge for us. They even packed the safari jeep with our favorite beer! It was a great experience and really set the bar high as our first safari ever.

We were sad to leave Little Oliver's Camp, it was such a beautiful place right in the national park."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Plantation Lodge

Plantation Lodge

"Great Rooms"

2 nights Arrived 13 Sep 2015
"The Plantation was a nice lodge to enjoy some time away from the tented camps. It is more packed than the other places which allows you to mingle with other guests and enjoy conversation with new people. We liked that part a lot. The grounds are secluded, safe and very beautiful. We didn't get time to enjoy the pool but it looked lovely. We each enjoyed a 60 minute massage which was unreal. It was a great end to our safari day, totally relaxing and very reasonable priced.

The lodge had wi-fi in the main bar/restaurant area which was nice to catch up with family and friends finally. The food was pretty good, not a la carte, which seems typical in these areas but still delicious.

We didn't feel as comfortable with the staff here but since it is a bigger lodge vs the intimate camp setting, I understand the difference. We liked the Plantation Lodge for the 2 nights we were there but we wouldn't have wanted to stay any longer.

Our room was secluded and gorgeous. Another large bathroom, with a huge hot shower. This place did not provide a blow dryer or laundry service.

We made friends with the resident cats here as well, always a treat!"
Good
Location
Average
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Ubuntu Camp

Ubuntu Camp

"Outstanding Camp, Staff, Safari and Service"

3 nights Arrived 15 Sep 2015
"We LOVED Ubuntu Camp!!

As soon as we landed in the Serengeti we were met by the camp's manager who drove us to our safari open vehicle. It was amazing to get right into the game drive as they were waiting for the crossing! We were surprised we were on a shared drive vehicle as everything else had been private but it worked out. We had a full vehicle of 6 people with our guide.

Ubuntu Camp was an excellent experience, one we will never forget. This was a very good version of "glamping". We were in a zipup tent but had a flushing toilet and hot bucket shower. No complaints with the tent at all. The staff were so amazing at bringing us hot water to shower in and making sure we had clean water to brush our teeth and warm water to wash our faces. It was incredible. Every morning they would wake us up with our morning coffee right outside our tent as we watched the sun rise. Incredible service. We enjoyed the breakfast with the group every morning, the food was fantastic!!! The staff was so professional and completely on par to whatever any guest needed to drink, eat, etc. We felt like we were at the Four Seasons camping style.

We had an amazing time eating meals with the group, enjoying drinks and conversation by the fire and playing games in the main tent with the staff. We even got a tour of the bush kitchen, which was VERY cool!

On our final night at Ubuntu Camp, our safari guide drove us to this beautiful cliff in the Serengeti where the staff had set up a bar with drinks and appetizers for our group to enjoy the sunset. It was literally unbelievable. Upon returning from our final evening game drive, the staff had set up a beautiful private dinner in front of our tent. There was a little fire and candles everywhere. It was such a cool experience! This camp stops at nothing to ensure everybody has an amazing, unique time. We loved listening to the animals during the night, we never felt scared but just really enjoyed the experience.

We loved Ubuntu Camp and would recommend everybody to go and really live the bush life :)"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Macushla House

Macushla House

"Great Service"

2 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2015
"Macushla House was a nice place to relax and enjoy a couple of nights out of the tent. It was in a secluded part of Nairobi in an area called Karen. We felt safe and relaxed at the house. It was a bit of a drive from the airport which was a bit treacherous and dirty to get to but upon arrival we were happy to be there.

There were a few other guests at the house while we were there, not a very social, exciting atmosphere but it was a beautiful place to enjoy our time. The room was very dark and old. It was spacious and comfortable but seemed dated and different. The bathroom shower was pretty strange. It was just a shower head that drained directly into the floor. No tub, curtain or separate area. My husband had a lizard in his shower and i had a caterpillar on my toothbrush one morning. It wasn't a big deal, but I didn't really agree with the open window, no screen in the bathroom. I don't like to be naked with the creatures at the same time!

The pool was beautiful and we loved all the fun decorations around the house. My husband and I enjoyed dinner both nights and drinks by the fire as we played chess. Wi-fi is included in the main areas but there really isn't much to do here otherwise. We adored our server, Stephen! He did a fantastic job and really made us feel at home."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
La Reserve

La Reserve

"Beautiful Room & Pool"

6 nights Arrived 20 Sep 2015
"La Reserve was saved by the amazing hotel room we had and the beautiful pool. The room was spacious, comfortable with A/C, huge shower, flushing toilet and incredible view of the ocean. We were steps away from the beach which was a HUGE bonus for us. The bed was very comfortable, we didn't have any bug issues in the room and we loved the bathroom amenities.

We enjoyed the daily breakfast which was included in our rate. It was a buffet with made-to-order egg station. We hulked out here daily, we love breakfast! Other than that we thought the hotel lacked good food options. They only offered buffet for dinner which we did the first night. It was overpriced and pretty awful in our opinion. The service was bad, if you would even call it service. None of the staff smiled or helped with anything. Coming from the other areas and enjoying the best service, this was very offputting for us. We chose to dine out elsewhere every night after our first dinner at La Reserve. It was the best decision we made.

The gym was a joke. It smelled stale and old in there and the equipment had to have been from the 1950's. It was unusable. The hotel did provide snorkels for use which was a great bonus. We enjoyed snorkeling off the other islands and right off our beach near our hotel room. We borrowed bikes the first day which was also a joke. These bikes were in the same condition as the gym equipment. It was incredibly hard to pedal these bikes and we had a less than enjoyable bike ride around the island. Never made that mistake again.

I think La Reserve has potential but the staff was just incredibly rude and unhelpful. We felt every time we needed something or ordered food/drinks we were inconveniencing them! It was pretty uncomfortable and we enjoyed leaving the hotel to dine else places or enjoy other activities.

They provided music as entertainment every evening which was nice but just not that enjoyable. I just don't think this was the place for us. We are social people and enjoy being active, we just couldn't find ways to entertain ourselves at this hotel. It was boring."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Poor
Activities
Poor
Rooms
Good
Food
Poor
Facilities
Average

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team