This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Sisters from London

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

9

Excursions taken

3

My Sep 2019 trip

Tanzania between 7 Sep 2019 and 20 Sep 2019

Trip rating: Excellent
"It was great trip.

We felt it was in the right order too, starting in Arusha, moving on to the Crater via Manyara, and then the 'real safari' in the Serengeti and Ruaha.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

No it was all really great and went very smoothly. Everything went to plan.

Maybe a mention should be made of the Tsetse flies in the Ruaha bush in case it was a deal breaker for some people!"

Arranged By Lyndsey Marris


Rivertrees Country Inn

Rivertrees Country Inn

"Rivertrees Country Inn Overview"

2 nights Arrived 7 Sep 2019
"Good location near to Arusha National Park, with grounds. Service was quite good and the food was tasty and generous. The packed lunches were delicious.

The rooms were clean and spacious and nets over beds. Great bathroom with a huge bath!

The Colobus monkeys were very entertaining to watch in the trees."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Safari in Arusha National Park

Safari in Arusha National Park

"Great first day safari in Arusha"

8 Sep 2019 • All-day excursion

We were lightly unlucky with the weather on the first morning as it was low cloud, cold and rainy, which wasn't expected! Sadly we weren't able to get a view of Kilimanjaro and visibility for photos wasn't great. The cloud lifted by late morning as we travelled through the park.

Fabulous sightings of many towers of giraffes, elephants, zebra and other mammals, including Colobus monkeys. Good bird spots included the Silver-cheeked Hornbills, Coucals, Sunbirds and Little Bee-Eaters along with lots of water birds.

The picnic location for lunch was stunning, with a view over the park and lakes.

In the afternoon we had a canoe boat trip experience,( trying to avoid potential hippo sightings!). A very peaceful, way to see the many water birds at eye level and to appreciate the location. The boat guys were experienced and good fun, as well as being very knowledgable.

A good first day in Tanzania.

Good
Ngorongoro Farmhouse Lodge

Ngorongoro Farmhouse Lodge

"Fabulous setting on Coffee plantation"

2 nights Arrived 9 Sep 2019
"A beautifully located lodge in kitchen gardens with a view up to the crater escarpment. A lovely terrace for drinks. A large restaurant serving buffet food, good quality and choice. Staff entertainment, dancing and music pre dinner.

A lovely pool if there is time to use it.

Rooms spacious and comfortable with water cooler/heater (slightly annoying as noisy), terrace with glass doors.

Great bird watching on the colourful flowers and trees."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Lake Manyara Safari

Lake Manyara Safari

"Lake Manyara Flamingos"

9 Sep 2019 • All-day excursion

A lovely day spent at lake Manyara, through different terrains as well as the lakes and flamingos.

We saw lots of baboons and black faced monkeys, eating the fragrant acacia blossom, which were very entertaining.

Great hippo viewings, wallowing in the lakes. Lots of ibis, storks, hamerkop and vultures. Just great to eat our packed lunch watching all the water activity. Not as many flamingo as anticipated as the lake was quite dry by now but still good, with hundreds of pelicans too.

Would recommend this park for the variety of wildlife.
Excellent
Safari in Ngorongoro Crater

Safari in Ngorongoro Crater

"Surreal Safari in the Ngorongoro Crater"

10 Sep 2019 • All-day excursion

To travel along a bumpy road through thick fog for an hour, to then arrive at the rim, as the cloud clears to reveal a sunny vista of the wide crater expanse is truly memorable. It felt like a film set as various animals entered stage left on cue!

We saw ostriches, hyenas with a kill, lionesses to start and various unusual birds within a short time. A remarkable place with lots of different eco-systems within the crater. We saw many animals, apart from the elusive rhino.

As the sun rose higher the wind whipped up and the dust with it. As there is a large dry area creating the conditions and making it difficult to stay much past mid day. A long zig zag climb back to the top of the crater, provided some amazing views and more sightings.

Excellent
Lemala Mara-Ndutu

Lemala Mara-Ndutu

"Great camp in the Serengeti"

4 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2019
"A fabulous camp in the heart of the Serengeti near to the Mara river crossings. All day and split day drives, provided some exciting encounters. Leopards, cheetah brothers, lioness and cub and a family group. A lion kill, a hyena kill, jackals and of course, the amazing wildebeest.

Seeing the sheer scale of the wildebeest numbers across the plain was incredible, and of course the terrifying excitement of seeing them cross the river, sadly not always managing to avoid the crocodiles.

The camp itself was great and the food, drinks and service top notch. Our driver guide Barnabas was really good too. The tent was fantastic, and we enjoyed the room service coffee with our early wake up call, and the 'talk to me' bucket showers!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Mdonya Old River Camp

Mdonya Old River Camp

"Immersive remote Mdonya Camp experience"

4 nights Arrived 15 Sep 2019
"The experience at Mdonya Old River was very special due to the location. It was very remote and at one with nature, the animals being part of daily life, particularly the elephants.

We expected no frills at this camp, but it was a bit more than that, dining al fresco under the stars with great food and good wine. No electricity in the tents added to the feeling of being less intrusive on the habitat and environment. Candles and lanterns provided atmosphere. Masai guides walked you to and from your tent after dark. Great hot showers in the 'open' bathroom.

We had great game drives here with our wonderful driver and guide, Thomas and Henry, who were both great birders too and went out of their way to find us some great sightings. We had some really wonderful leopard time too and the elephant groups here were extraordinary, searching for water in the dry river bed.

Along with the matriarchal elephant groups with young, there were lots of young and old male bulls, two of whom decided to take large bush down next to our tent at 3am, which was an interesting experience!

The only negative were the tsetse flies, which are very annoying and vicious, although the elephant muffin burning on the back of the jeeps in the area did help somewhat.

The management Kings and Iris, were very friendly and relaxed and were always around joining the group for meals, along with the elephants!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Zambia/Botswana

Botswana and 1 other country between 25 Sep 2009 and 11 Oct 2009

Trip rating: Excellent
"This was our first safari so it needed to be very special, which it was.

We loved the fact all the camps were different and we didnt know what we were going to experience next which was great. Also glad we went to Victoria Falls first rather than last, as it was good to end up at one of the best camps. 2 weeks was a great amount of time to have-would definitely still like a minimum of 10 days with a selection of 2-3 camps plus maybe a coast/beach trip after next time!"

Arranged By Lucy Copson


Avani Victoria Falls

Avani Victoria Falls

"Zambezi Sun review"

2 nights Arrived 26 Sep 2009
"Very pleasant big hotel - ideal for a short stop over. Loved seeing the zebras in the grounds."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Muchenje Safari Lodge

Muchenje Safari Lodge

"Muchenje Safari Lodge review"

4 nights Arrived 28 Sep 2009
"The most amazing location with the view over the Namibian Plains across the Chobe River. Great food-relaxed atmosphere. Great game drives and guides.

The full day drive/boat is a great experience and nice to have the options of walks and early morning activities as well."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Lagoon Camp

Lagoon Camp

"Lagoon Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 2 Oct 2009
"Another great location with views across the lagoon. Full on game drives-slightly hair raising (and slightly surprising that guides go out without compasses and get lost - luckily radio contact and engine revving help to locate us!) but the ferrari safari paid off with great sightings of the wild dogs.

Generally good food and snacks although slight critisism of arriving mid morning and nothing to eat until afternoon tea but the delicious cakes made up for it.

Disappointing that the boat was out of order but luckily we were booked into other delta camps with boats so didnt matter too much. Overall good."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Average
Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp

"Pom Pom review"

2 nights Arrived 5 Oct 2009
"Great deck and campfire but not much of a view from the tents but plenty of night hippo activity. Good plunge pool. Great food.

Good activities and drives although quite quiet when we were there. Macorro boat trips good. Lovely singing and dancing from the staff and great atmosphere at night.

Also rated highly by everyone we met who had been there."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Little Kwara

Little Kwara

"Little Kwara review"

3 nights Arrived 7 Oct 2009
"Very special as is so small and quite a 'family' feeling. Made to feel very welcome.

Great game drives and some very special sightings. Lovely brunch and evening meal, but breakfast could be better with fruit/porridge or toast. Great guides and team.

Will always remember the lionesses walking through the camp at night after following them home!!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team