This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Globetrotters from Belgium

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

6

Excursions taken

0

Extraordinary first time visit to Zambia

Zambia between 29 Aug 2018 and 13 Sep 2018

Trip rating: Excellent
"If anyone were to ask me how I would do it again, I think that I would make the trip a bit shorter and only use the Robin Pope facilities. If I had known how much I was to see in the first 8 days, I would have been happy to shorten the trip. But as a first timer I did not know this. I certainly do not regret the Kafunta add-on to my trip, but it would have been okay without it as the first 8 days were so perfect."

Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Camp

"Overnight stop"

1 night Arrived 30 Aug 2018
"We were picked up at the airport and brought to River Camp for the night. We had a nice dinner and breakfast and left then for Tena Tena. We came back to River Camp after our stay at Nsefu. The camp is very nice. The food very good and the staff helpful and polite."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Tena Tena

Tena Tena

"Wonderful start to our safari"

2 nights Arrived 31 Aug 2018
"We arrived at Tena Tena after a game viewing drive from River Camp. We were shown to our lovely tent and had lunch. The food is excellent in every way and the staff well trained, polite and helpful. In the afternoon we went on the night drives. Our guide was Chilumba, who is extremely knowledgeable and kind. The service here is impeccable as we later found out is the standard with Robin Pope Safaris. We saw every kind of wildlife imaginable except the aardvark and the wild dogs. Many baboons in the camp and the hippos sing all night, but wonderful. Elephants also come into the camp at night."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Nsefu

Nsefu

"The ultimate experience"

3 nights Arrived 2 Sep 2018
"If our safari only had been these 3 days in Nsefu camp then I would have been as happy as possible. This camp is the ultimate experience. Location is excellent and the wildlife around it is so abundant that it is hard to count. The leopard sighting of the female leopard Ulimbe was spectacular. We had the wild dogs almost in the camp every day. The elephants came into the camp to scoop up leaves during the siesta time. The birds and especially the carmine bee eaters are abundant. The guide, Breston as also exceptional. The food fabulous. The surprise Mongolian BBQ at night was a treat. Sundowners always perfect.
We had walked with Chilumbe from Tena Tena to Nsefu. It was interesting to learn about the area, but you do not see any big wildlife when walking. It was a good experience. I shed tears when leaving Nsefu. The camp manager and host, Marco had also been exceptionally kind. His family was visiting him at the same time we were there. If I were to go back to Zambia, I think I would only go to Tena Tena and Nsefu. The central area is fine too, but a bit more cars are around so you do not get that remote feeling as you to in Nsefu."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Camp

"Time to relax a bit"

2 nights Arrived 5 Sep 2018
"On the drive to River Camp we encountered a snared lion. Luckily it had been reported and the help was on the way. We learned later that it had been darted and the snare removed and on its way to recovery. River Camp is very relaxed and a dip in the pool was welcome. Again, here the food and service in unreproachable. The setting is very nice and you have ellies regularly in the camp or near to it. The wildlife in the area is abundant, although you are nearer to the main gate section where there are more cars. The guide was Jona and Daudi, who is also the manager of the camp. Especially Jona is a very good guide. We saw the usual animals and many birds. Each guide tries his best to show you a maximum of animals and they always position the jeeps so that you can get good photos. Very professional people."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Three Rivers Camp

Three Rivers Camp

"Beautiful setting and very remote"

3 nights Arrived 7 Sep 2018
"The camp is beautiful and very remote. The only thing that slightly spoiled our stay were the bothersome tse tse flies. They are very painful and abundant in this area. And there is not way to keep them from biting. Otherwise the camp is very pretty and the elephants come daily to drink at the camp waterhole. The hippos are close and at night wander through camp. The star beds are a real experience. The quality of the food and service is a notch lower than Robin Pope. Some of the drinks that were standard at Robin Pope were on the supplement list with Kafunta. The food was good, but not at all as good as Robin Pope.
The guides and staff are probably also pretty new at their jobs and are doing their best and learning. I think if they can handle the fly problem this camp will become much better in the future."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta River Lodge

"Great place to relax and end the trip"

2 nights Arrived 10 Sep 2018
"Kafunta Lodge is a wonderful place to end the trip. It has a wonderful swimming pool and hairdryers in the rooms. This way you can get yourself back into a civilized shape for the trip home. The first day we relaxed and went on the safari drives the second day. Again here the food was good, but not at all comparable to Robin Pope standards. The bar is nicely set up and the general look of the place is very nice. The rooms are very good and the ceiling fan just what you need. The plain and waterholes in front of the camp is a wonderful for just looking at to see wildlife come and go for a drink or grazing. The last evening drive offered us 2 different sightings of leopards! The wildlife in the area is very good and we saw Ginger and Garlic lions twice. We saw a Scops Owl and many other birds. Again, in this area there are more cars, but it is not a hinder.

I have written unsure about the number of sightings per animal, as usually it was many times a day. In average I think it would be around 2-3 times a day for the lions and leopards, elephants at least 10 times a day. Giraffe 2-3 times a day. The antilope we mainly saw were, Bush Buck, Water Buck, Impala, Puku and Kudu

We saw a herd of baboons chasing a leopard during our transfer from Nsefu to River Camp. That was amazing but it went so fast we could not film or photograph it. The leopard did escape!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team