This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Nsolo Bushcamp
Nsolo Bushcamp
Nsolo Bushcamp
Nsolo Bushcamp
Nsolo Bushcamp

Reviews of Nsolo Bushcamp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

52 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Nsolo Bushcamp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2018, 1 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Nsolo Bushcamp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

0% success

Wild dog

0% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Aardvark

0% success

Eland

0% success

Giraffe

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Showing 11-20 of 52
Duration
Arrival date
Mr H
Switzerland

"Nsolo, the roaring Lion Camp.."

3 nights Arrived 8 Oct 2014
"Wonderfull setting on the Riverbank of the Luwi River, which will drying out during the hot summer months. But there's a waterhole in front of the Camp's main area.

We've spotted large herds of Elephants and other animals out from there. The Elephants also crossed the Camp's Dining Location during our Lunch, what an extraordinary experience. Also would I like to thank Sarah the Host of Nsolo, for the great time we had in her Camp. Great Guiding an Walking with "Pince" too.

To hear a roaring Lion during the nighttime was also a great special there...nice!" See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr T
Amersham

"Another lovely bushcamp"

2 nights Arrived 18 Jun 2014
"More excellent walks with another very knowledgeable guide and varied terrain. Very good food." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Miss CH
E London

"A Lovely, secluded camp"

2 nights Arrived 8 Jun 2014
"A very nice secluded camp (I didn't see any other jeeps whilst I was staying here)." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Miss M
Maidstone

"Nsolo Bushcamp review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2013
"Innocent our guide made our stay here amazing. He and Lewis, the scout, had us stalking a lion on foot and even better was Innocent's excitement when we saw a pack of 5 wild dogs which are so endangered (we saw them several times over our stay there); another highlight was when he drove us to Mchenja and we had a wonderful sighting en route of a leopard in a sausage tree - probably our best leopard spot! These events were among many others such as the unexpected day time sight of honey badgers. The food was brilliant again and my non-meat diet was excellently catered for as at Kapani. There were just 4 of us in the jeep each time here which was great.

We did feel that the room and decking was in a slight 'end of season' state but it wasn't a problem.

Two nights here was ideal for us." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs G
Devon

"Nsolo Bushcamp review"

2 nights Arrived 17 Sep 2013
"Again an excellent camp site with plenty to see and learn about on our walks in the area and during the drives.

We walked here from Luwi, and on the way saw 3 lionesses in a dry river bed which we were crossing, with 2 buffalo on the opposite bank, all close by, amongst numerous other species. The humble impala soon becomes a familiar sight, but what a beautiful creature, don't overlook them !.

Cookson's wildebeest were spotted and we managed to get close enough for decent photographs. They are only found in the Luangwa Valley. A lovely encounter with a very tired but well fed lioness, and then sundowners with hyenas and a tawny eagle for company.

On our second day here we found a large herd of buffalo to which we walked in close, nearly stepping on a hippo setting off somewhere In broad daylight. There were too many encounters to relate them all." See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Prof B & Dr B
Warwick

"Wonderful stay at Nsolo Bush Camp"

2 nights Arrived 4 Sep 2013
"What can we say here - from the moment we were greeted by Tatum (our hostess) to the moment she waved us goodbye we had the most wonderful experiences. Her friendliness and exuberance made this camp special to us and we would be pleased if that was fed back to the company. Again we were lucky as were the only guests for our two nights stay and the private meal Tatum arranged on our deck was magical. (I challenge any guests to guess her nationality!)

But it wasn't only the hosting that was excellent but also we were very lucky to have Innocent as our guide. What a lovely man and his love of the Zambian wild life was self evident - he was the perfect guide for us. We had so many great experiences on foot and in the vehicle they are too much to list. But approaching lions and seeing how close we could get on foot is something we will never forget. Also watching elephants clear lions away from a waterhole so they could drink was amazing to watch ( especially with sundowner in hand!). Elephants visiting us for lunch was such fun.

We had Room 2 - which I suspect was the best as the balcony was wonderful with a lovely tree built into it giving great shade (comfortable chairs inside and out here)." See all these reviews: 13n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr V
Chenai, India

"Nsolo Bushcamp review"

2 nights Arrived 15 May 2013
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
Doncaster

"Nsolo"

2 nights Arrived 4 Oct 2012
"Particularly liked the accommodation at Nsolo, and an excellent guide in Lawrence." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
Chelmsford

"Remote bush camp"

2 nights Arrived 30 Sep 2012
"A very small luxury camp on the banks of the dry Luwi river. We loved the walk from Kakuli Camp to Nsolo, but it was very hot (40+) in early October. Spacious and comfortable cabins, friendly, enthusiastic and welcoming staff, good food (how do they provide fresh produce and cook it so well in such a remote place?) and good guides.

Wild life was less abundant than other sites as the place was so dry and tsetse flies were a nuisance. We would return, but earlier in the dry season when the location could be fabulous.." See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs B
Somerset

"Nsolo Bushcamp"

2 nights Arrived 17 Sep 2012
"We walked to Nsolo from Luwi, which was a lovely way to arrive at this delightful bushcamp, passing herds of impala and puku on the way. We also had our first encounter with a buffalo! Pippa, our enthusiastic hostess, made our stay very enjoyable. The food and accommodation were excellent and being able to peek over the bathroom wall and be face to face with an elephant was a very novel experience.
The walks with Lawrence and Innocent were a wonderful opportunity to join zebra, elephant, wildebeest, warthogs and antelope in their environment. We were also lucky to see a serval and grysbok on our night drive." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 11-20 of 52
97%
52 reviews of Nsolo Bushcamp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
45
7
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in South Luangwa National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Tafika

Tafika

Tafika is one of the best camps in Zambia: naturally built, with few apparent luxuries, but actually very high quality. Service and food are excellent, but the real focus is on top guiding skills and wildlife experience.


98% (282 reviews)
Nkwali

Nkwali

In the heart of South Luangwa, overlooking the river, Nkwali is unusual in being open year round. It offers great safaris; a high standard of food, service and care; and an excellent springboard for Robin Pope's various safaris in the park.


96% (207 reviews)
Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp is a small, owner-run camp in a quiet but excellent game area of the Luangwa. Photographers will particularly appreciate the camp’s series of wildlife hides.


97% (191 reviews)
Nsefu

Nsefu

One of the Luangwa's oldest camps, Nsefu is a great safari camp in a remote, beautiful and game-rich location with top-rate guiding.


98% (170 reviews)
Tena Tena

Tena Tena

Tena Tena is one of the Luangwa's best camps in a beautiful location – it's very small, feels very remote and 'in the bush', is run exceedingly well and has top rate guiding.


95% (137 reviews)
Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba is a small, fairly simple, owner-run bushcamp in an excellent game area. It offers first-class walking, 4WD safaris and great game hides; come for excellent guides and a real bush feel.


99% (131 reviews)
Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp is an excellent small, rustic bushcamp that concentrates on walking safaris, and is run by a top-quality operation.


99% (108 reviews)
Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp is a great little rustic bushcamp built to high standards that focuses on excellent walking safaris, with the emphasis on top wildlife guides.


98% (82 reviews)
Kapani Lodge

Kapani Lodge

Just on the south-east side of the national park, Kapani Lodge is the base camp for Norman Carr Safaris, one of the Luangwa's oldest safari operations. It's also a very solid safari camp that has retained lots of character, and runs very well indeed.


95% (80 reviews)
Flatdogs Camp

Flatdogs Camp

A relatively big but very good safari camp, Flatdogs offers value for money with great guiding and good food in a comfortable, relaxed setting.


98% (65 reviews)
Mchenja Bushcamp

Mchenja Bushcamp

Set in a shady ebony grove on the banks of the Luangwa, Mchenja is a smart tented bushcamp. It combines well with Kakuli and Nsolo – its sister camps with a focus on walking safaris.


98% (64 reviews)
Kakuli Bushcamp

Kakuli Bushcamp

Beside the Luangwa River, Kakuli is a comfortable tented bushcamp offering 4WD safaris and walking safaris – the best of which are camp-to-camp walks linking Kakuli with its nearby sister camps.


97% (63 reviews)
Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Lodge is a small and consciously stylish lodge in the Mfuwe area, overlooking the Luangwa River and the South Luangwa National Park beyond – an area renowned for great game.


96% (60 reviews)
Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta is a laid-back, friendly and good-value lodge on the outskirts of South Lunagwa National Park.


96% (39 reviews)
Luwi Bushcamp

Luwi Bushcamp

In a remote part of the South Luangwa National Park, Luwi is a rustic bushcamp whose emphasis is on walking safaris with great guiding and a chance of seeing some rarely seen and elusive antelope.


93% (38 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris bush-camp

Robin Pope bush-camp

RPS bushcamping in South Luangwa National Park, Zambia


99% (25 reviews)
Lion Camp

Lion Camp

Lion Camp is an established and comfortable camp with a swimming pool, located near to the game-rich Lion Plain in the northern part of South Luangwa National Park.


94% (22 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris Mobile Safari Camp

Robin Pope mobile

RPS mobile safari camps are at the heart of their set-itinerary walking safaris in South Luangwa National Park, which start and finish at a permanent camp.


98% (21 reviews)
Kapamba Bushcamp

Kapamba Bushcamp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Kapamba is a small and very comfortable bushcamp offering good walks and game drives.


94% (18 reviews)
Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge is a luxurious designer camp set in a stunning location, high on a hill overlooking a floodplain within South Luangwa. Explore from here on 4WD safaris and walks.


96% (14 reviews)
Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House is a vast and very smart four-bedroom house specifically designed for families and small groups, and offering an exclusive and flexible safari experience.


100% (14 reviews)
Mfuwe Lodge

Mfuwe Lodge

In a game-rich area close to the South Luangwa’s main Mfuwe Gate, Mfuwe Lodge is relatively large by park standards, but it’s stylish, modern and family friendly.


93% (14 reviews)
Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp is a classic bushcamp with particularly delightful hosts and offers top-class walking safaris in South Luangwa National Park.


99% (14 reviews)
Chinzombo

Chinzombo

Opened in early June 2013, Chinzombo offers luxurious and stylish accommodation with very high levels of service and excellent guiding.


98% (13 reviews)
Bilimungwe Bushcamp

Bilimungwe Bushcamp

A smart bushcamp with four very spacious chalets, Bilimungwe offers interesting walking safaris in pretty riverine woodland, as well as day and night safari drives.


95% (12 reviews)
Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village – beside the South Luangwa National Park, offers guests the rare opportunity to appreciate local village life. Visit for a few hours or stay overnight.


95% (11 reviews)
Robin's House

Robin's House

With your own expert guide, private vehicle, chef and valet, the two-bedroom Robin's House offers an exclusive, flexible safari experience – and is open year round.


95% (11 reviews)
Three Rivers Camp

Three Rivers Camp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Three Rivers Lodge is being constructed by the confluence of three of the valleys rivers.


94% (10 reviews)
Island Bush Camp

Island Bush Camp

Island Bushcamp is a good-value, rustic, walking-only camp, in arguably one of the most remote parts of the South Luangwa, well away from all other camps.


100% (9 reviews)
Chindeni

Chindeni

Chindeni Bushcamp is a very modern and minimalist camp, which is a far cry from your traditional bushcamp and unlike most of the other camps in South Luangwa.


96% (9 reviews)
Chamilandu Bushcamp

Chamilandu Bushcamp

A very comfortable little bushcamp, Chamilandu has a picturesque setting by the Luangwa River, with a range of habitats that can be explored on foot and by 4WD, day and night.


100% (5 reviews)
Mwamba Camp-out

Mwamba Camp-out

The Mwamba-Camp Out allows you to have an incredibly adventurous night in the bush, sleeping under mosquito nets with activities led by some of the best guides in Zambia.


90% (4 reviews)
Zungulila

Zungulila

Zungulila is a small, comfortable tented bushcamp with an emphasis on walking safaris, in the remote southern section of the South Luangwa.


93% (3 reviews)
Chichele Presidential Lodge

Chichele Lodge

Chichele Presidential Lodge stands within the park on a hill with superb views. Its hotel-like, air-conditioned rooms and child-friendly attitude make it ideal for families or those who don't want to get too close to the bush outside.


100% (1 review)
Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

For an adventurous night in South Luangwa National Park, come and sleep out in the bush, around a campfire, with an experienced guide and game scout.


100% (1 review)
Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp is a basic safari camp in the far north of the South Luangwa, with walking safaris led by renowned guide Deb Tittle.


No reviews yet
Shawa Luangwa Camp

Shawa Camp

Due to open in June 2020, we’re expecting Shawa Luangwa Camp to be a small, intimate and rustic camp, with a good location in a remote section of the South Luangwa National Park.


No reviews yet
Chikunto Safari Lodge

Chikunto

Chikunto Safari Lodge is a new property in Zambia's South Luangwa National Park, sitting on a peninsula of land created by the meandering Luangwa River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa