This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs G from Devon

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

6

Excursions taken

0

Goodfellow/Williams Trip Sep 2013

Zambia between 13 Sep 2013 and 26 Sep 2013

Trip rating: Excellent
"This trip exceeded our expectations in all respects.

From initial contact with Expert Africa to the conclusion, all details were well and timely arranged and we were kept informed along the way of all matters. At each "choke point" where things might have gone wrong i.e. flights with Proflight, the arrangements worked without a hitch. Transfers between camps occurred seamlessly, and we were expected at each venue.

Congratulations, therefore, to the Expert Africa team for putting together the trip.

The business of tipping we found irksome. At some stages guides and game guards changed and were missed. At others, notably Chongwe, there were so many for the different activities that we lost count. We ended by giving a sum of money to one of the staff at Chongwe and asked that it be distributed fairly among the guides, while also putting money in the tip box. However fair one tries to be, there is always the nagging doubt that some deserving soul has been missed. You ask for money for a donation of £20 to offset carbon emissions from the flights ( for which we have already contributed over £400 for our flights from London , grr), so perhaps there could be a donation similarly for the staff ?.

Throughout the trip the staff were most helpful, courteous, obliging, and knowledgeable and could not be faulted.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Perhaps see comment above re tipping, but otherwise no, we think you are a good organisation with whom we would travel again and which we would recommend to friends.

Thank you."

Kapani Lodge

Kapani Lodge

"Kapani Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 14 Sep 2013
"Warm reception on arrival, good briefing of routine and facilities. This applies to all the camps we visited.

Accommodation very good indeed, swimming pool clean and cool and a very good way to relax after the journey and look forward to what was to come.

An interesting, amusing and professional play about human, animal and natural inter-relationships with dancers mimicking wild creatures and birds to make their points, before setting off for the visit to the reserve to see the situation for ourselves.

Our first drive was an excellent experience. We encountered 17 species of mammal including elephant, lion and leopard and very good bird sightings too. Our companions had not been to Africa before, so a red letter day for them, but also for us it was a very special day."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Luwi Bushcamp

Luwi Bushcamp

"Luwi Bushcamp review"

2 nights Arrived 15 Sep 2013
"Luwi is an idyllic camp. Of simple construction in natural materials it blends with the surroundings and allows visitors to feel at one with the bush, as indeed do all NCS bush camps, but the remoteness of this camp makes it more enchanting.

As we were the only visitors it became "our" camp and thus an even more special place.

The walks in the bush around this area were fascinating and very informative, as were the game drives by both day and night. We saw the not-so-common reed buck and enjoyed watching elephant, impala, zebra and puku from the camp. Indeed some elephant came really close as they grazed and browsed their way through their day. Wonderful.

The idea of "sundowners" taken at sunset in picturesque locations is very good and allows the true ambience to be felt and increases empathy with the environment."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo Bushcamp

"Nsolo Bushcamp review"

2 nights Arrived 17 Sep 2013
"Again an excellent camp site with plenty to see and learn about on our walks in the area and during the drives.

We walked here from Luwi, and on the way saw 3 lionesses in a dry river bed which we were crossing, with 2 buffalo on the opposite bank, all close by, amongst numerous other species. The humble impala soon becomes a familiar sight, but what a beautiful creature, don't overlook them !.

Cookson's wildebeest were spotted and we managed to get close enough for decent photographs. They are only found in the Luangwa Valley. A lovely encounter with a very tired but well fed lioness, and then sundowners with hyenas and a tawny eagle for company.

On our second day here we found a large herd of buffalo to which we walked in close, nearly stepping on a hippo setting off somewhere In broad daylight. There were too many encounters to relate them all."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Mchenja Bushcamp

Mchenja Bushcamp

"Mchenja Bushcamp review"

2 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2013
"There is no doubt that the presence of water enhances any camp, and this was the case at Mchenja. The sight of the river as we approached lifted the spirits just that extra bit and added another dimension to our experience and enjoyment.

It was in this camp that we first found animals so close that they came through the camp in their daily feeding routine. I was able to just touch an elephant as it glided past our tent in the middle of the night, so the staff mean it when they say you must not walk about at night by yourself !.

Again, wonderful close-quarter meetings with many species."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Kakuli Bushcamp

Kakuli Bushcamp

"Kakuli Bushcamp review"

2 nights Arrived 21 Sep 2013
"Again enhanced by its position beside the river, this camp had the advantage of the close proximity of the Luangwa with both bird and animal activity to observe, but one very amusing sighting of a hippo on its back in the water showing a very pink belly and the soles of four feet in the air !.

There was much to see in the surrounding area during our walks and drives, with close encounters involving lions and elephants on foot and lions from the vehicle."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Chongwe River Camp

Chongwe River Camp

"Chongwe River Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 23 Sep 2013
"This camp is sited on the Chongwe river, but with the backdrop of the great Zambezi river, both with flowing water. It was marvellous to see the constant activity of game and bird life across the Chongwe.

Once again elephant browsed their way through the camp at all times of day and night and had to be negotiated as we made our way to and from activities, not to mention the odd hippo en route.

On the first evening the staff had secretly arranged a bar-b-q in the bush a little way from the camp. A very nice touch, very well carried out with candle light and plenty to eat and drink for about 20 assorted visitors, most of whom disappeared at breakfast the next morning.

Excursions onto both rivers were great fun, and to see the game and birds from the river was most interesting. A beautiful leopard warming itself on top of a cliff face, which we watched for ages from the boat. Attempts to catch a fish failed, but it was a lot of fun trying.

It was here that the couple with whom we were travelling announced their engagement to be married, and the staff very kindly put out champagne for all present to celebrate the news. A kind and thoughtful gesture."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team