This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr B from Bristol

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

5

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

26

Excursions taken

0

North and South Luangwa- WOW!

Zambia between 25 Oct 2014 and 7 Nov 2014

Trip rating: Excellent
"My first venture into the North park was special and very private. South Luangwa never let's me down and the safari experience seems to get better every time.

Both NCS and RemoteAfrica provide the highest level of comfort and guiding and everyone should be proud of what they have achieved in provided this grand level of friendly service. Special thanks also to Mindy, very professional in every aspect in the daily running at NCS.

South Luangwa still my favourite game reserve/national park in Africa and one of my favourite places to visit in the world.
Thanks again to Ellie and all at ExpertAfrica.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Keep the flag flying high, standards so high maintained."

Pioneer Camp

Pioneer Camp

"Always Pioneer for me."

1 night Arrived 26 Oct 2014
"Once again an efficient collection at the airport and transfer to Pioneer.
Busy bar and lounge area, social and that delicious Pioneer steak.
Chalet was spacious and clean, a good nights sleep in quiet surroundings.
Thank you to Sophie and all the team at Pioneer."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo Bushcamp

"Never solo at Nsolo."

2 nights Arrived 27 Oct 2014
"Wonderful location inside the national park located along the dry river bed.
Spacious chalet, comfortable stay, often joined by elephants for afternoon tea. The food was excellent remembering that this is a 'bush camp' avec comfort.
Wild dogs regular at this location always a bonus.
Mild mannered excellent guide in Philemon, diligent Sarah as host and a friendly team throughout.
Thank you to everyone, a wonderful experience shared with some other wonderful guests."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Mwaleshi Camp

Mwaleshi Camp

"Privacy personified in the North Park."

3 nights Arrived 29 Oct 2014
"Firstly thanks to Ed for the two fantastic flights in the RemoteAfrica Cessna. The views of the park from the air are magical. Ernst- great guiding, mostly walking safari with some drives.
The river provides a warm bath of relief in the very high temperatures and we could hear the hyena splashing through at night.

Very private stay here shared with friendly staff who all do RemoteAfrica proud and very much part of the extended Coppinger family. Excellent food, many drinks and stories shared with other guests and the grand event of the frisbee match in which the United Nations team beat the Zambians at their own game. Great fun, fantastic experience- thanks to everyone."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Tafika

Tafika

"Sharing the Coppinger home experience."

2 nights Arrived 1 Nov 2014
"They are special moments in life when one meets special people that show such kindness, love and loyalty to people of the local area and the Coppinger family, John, Carol, Jenny and Bryan Jackson do just that. I felt privileged to have met a true family team of friends, excellent guides based in a beautiful location. Special thanks to Heather who essentially planted the seed to visit NOrth Luangwa and Tafika.

The game viewing was excellent, the chalets very comfortable and it was great to be able to view the elephants every day at such close quarter in such a relaxed manner in and around camp. Meeting Norman Carr himself on my first visit to the valley back in 1991 was indeed a wonderful privilege, meeting and sharing this beautiful area with the Coppingers was on a level par to that.

I cannot speak highly enough of my experiences here. Thank you indeed to everyone, what a credit you are to South Luangwa and long may you continue to do something that you all love."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kakuli Bushcamp

Kakuli Bushcamp

"Aubrey and Kakuli the perfect combination."

2 nights Arrived 3 Nov 2014
"Once again words fail me on another visit to Kakuli with my favourite guide Aubrey. This is my favourite camp, very comfortable chalet/tent, great location looking out to the river where the whole cast of animals come to drink.

Always a great team here, the best guiding, wonderful stories shared and so delicious was the food. Bendy - RIP, your legacy will live on.

Thank you to everyone concerned."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Chinzombo

Chinzombo

"True luxury at Chinzombo."

1 night Arrived 5 Nov 2014
"This amazing creation, a vision of perfection much like one of NCS 's finest hosts who will be missed. This is luxury beyond anything in South Luangwa but it is the friendly staff and great guides that make any stay here very special.

The chalets cater for every need. So much space, very comfortable beds, a bath, shower, varied seating inside and outside which has a pool. From the pool/ sun beds and cushioned seating outside you have grand views to the river where elephants and hippos are at play.

The food was excellent, a buffet for brunch and a menu provided to choose your three courses for dinner. Excellent wine to accompany dinner. The bar area has a touching tribute to Norman Carr.

Special thanks to Innocent for his excellent guiding and sharing the experience of the 14 lions trying to take a young elephant- long live Hercules! What an event!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Pioneer Camp

Pioneer Camp

"To unwind in peace..."

1 night Arrived 6 Nov 2014
"Thank you to everyone at Pioneer for another very comfortable stay after my adventure in South Luangwa. Paul, Sophie and the team really have created the right blend of comfort for different styles of guests and travellers here. This is a social place to mix with the best kind of people those that love to explore the world.

Excellent steak again."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good

Emerald season with NCS at its best.

Zambia between 9 Feb 2013 and 23 Feb 2013

Trip rating: Excellent
"I just didn't want to leave...South Luangwa valley- the finest national park game reserve in Africa- 'Minha Africa'.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Excellence remains, loyalty rewarded."

Arranged By Claire Scott


Pioneer Camp

Pioneer Camp

"True Pioneer style."

2 nights Arrived 9 Feb 2013
"Pioneer is the perfect place to unwind and relax after a long flight.

The 'pick up' and transfer was very efficient and the usual friendly welcome and good breakfast that awaits soon after my arrival.
Safe and clean, good birding within the grounds this time of year.

Evenings spent socialising with different people, fellow travellers, sharing stories and enjoying the damn good steaks on offer.

Thankyou to Paul, Alfred and the Pioneer team."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Kapani Lodge

Kapani Lodge

"The butterfly continues..."

3 nights Arrived 11 Feb 2013
"Once again another delightful base at Kapani to explore the immediate area within the national park.

Friendly faces, old friendships reunited, good organisation, excellent food.

Extra activity- being shown around the developing site at Chimzombo.

Thankyou to all the staff at Kapani lodge, especially Brian, my guide for the first 4 days, exciting times ahead."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Kakuli Bushcamp

Kakuli Bushcamp

"The old buffalo at its best..."

5 nights Arrived 14 Feb 2013
"Kakuli, Aubrey and Batwell(scouting), it does not get any better than this.

My favourite bush camp, boating and walking safari with the river high enough to transverse the channels.
Super sightings, close encounters but always in safe hands. The experiences never cease to amaze me.

Beautiful location, fantastic food, friendly faces and great service. I will never forget the brunch arranged on top of the riverbank, under the shade of the ebony tree over looking the river. Cooked breakfast to order, 'G and T' in hand after a long morning walking safari, the experience does not get better.

Thankyou to my friend Aubrey and all of the team at Kakuli- memorable!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kapani Lodge

Kapani Lodge

"Kapani still of the highest order."

2 nights Arrived 19 Feb 2013
"This spell I had the privilege of being guided by the best- Mr Abraham Banda. Thankyou once again and also thanks to Enoch (a wonderful ambassador for NCS), Mario, Ian (Kakuli), Priya, Katie, Judy and Patience (good luck with those guide exams).

Reliving old times, sharing old and new stories/experiences this was a wonderful way to finish in the valley.

David and Christina, what a fantastic team you have. Thankyou."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Pioneer Camp

Pioneer Camp

"Africa at Pioneer, not the concrete jungle!"

1 night Arrived 21 Feb 2013
"Thanks again to Paul and all the team at Pioneer.

The great way to relax in similar surround to that in the valley whilst retaining that Africa feeling.

Enjoyed the conversation and the archery at dusk.

Great steaks, the perfect way to end from what was the perfect vacation."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good

On principle it remains- ZAMBIA.

Zambia between 21 Oct 2011 and 3 Nov 2011

Trip rating: Excellent
"Zambia, after its recent elections seems to be heading in the right direction, generally. It can only be hoped that the national park/game reserves can be maintained by the right people and in the right way. Zimbabwe is not an option on principle while the beautiful people there continue to suffer.

Zambia- the South Luangwa valley is one of(certainly my favourite) game reserves in Africa. NormanCarr safaris have the best guides and the combinations of different bush camps give one the best experiences of safari in Africa.

Thank you to everyone associated with NormanCarr safaris."

Pioneer Camp

Pioneer Camp

"Pioneer Camp review"

1 night Arrived 22 Oct 2011
"Pioneer gave a very comfortable, clean and safe stopping point before and after my safari in South Luangwa.
Efficient transfers (22mins), Paul(manager) and Alfred(assistant) are friendly and helpful. The steaks are good and the breakfast more than adequate.

Pioneer is not 5 star, but it does not advertise as so. This is a bridge into Africa and a easing back down to earth after any up market trip into South Luangwa. In any case if you want a 5 star hotel in Lusaka - good luck!
Paul also arranges on line check in.

No fuss here, straight forward accommodation, retain the look and feel of Africa.
Sometimes, some interesting clients, if you're sociable by nature, even more reason to stay. If you want to shut yourself away then head for the concrete jungle of Lusaka!

Thank you to everyone at Pioneer, striving to improve even further."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Kapani Lodge

Kapani Lodge

"Kapani Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 23 Oct 2011
"O Kapani, I know you so well. Staying here in the emerald seasons of year's past and now at last the dry season.

Very comfortable amidst the extreme temperatures(42-47 degrees celsius), enjoy the fan before heading for the real bush camp experiences. The best guides in Zambia are part of the NormanCarr family. Finding the animals/birds are their forte, their knowledge unexhausted, this is a great start to any safari.

Organised, safe, clean venue, with the wonderful raised decking brings dinner under candle light where excellent food has been created and then provided. Still the great setting first experienced in 1991. Thank you to everyone at Kapani."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Luwi Bushcamp

Luwi Bushcamp

"Luwi Bushcamp review"

1 night Arrived 25 Oct 2011
"Brian(senior guide) and Tara(hostess)provided the best of a real bush camp experience. Enjoyable walks/game drives, super location, friendly staff and excellent food.

The hide overlooking the lagoon created during the dry season is a great little extra.

Thank you to everyone at Luwi, indeed a special place."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Mchenja Bushcamp

Mchenja Bushcamp

"Mchenja Bushcamp review"

3 nights Arrived 26 Oct 2011
"Simon(senior guide), Katie(hostess) combined with the very comfortable chalet meant a very enjoyable stay at Mchenja. The game is prolific here, varied landscape (hot springs area being a bonus visitation), great food and very good company.

Descent sunrise at camp, varied locations taken for excellent sun set.

Enjoyable elephant, lion, buffalo experiences here. Lots to see on spotlight safari.

Thankyou to everyone at Mchenja."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo Bushcamp

"Nsolo Bushcamp review"

2 nights Arrived 29 Oct 2011
"The legendary 'Shaddy' was the senior guide, great walking safari, so close to lions on foot, I guess this depends on the client, the wonderful knowledge of reading the situation and staying safe! Great job.

Fantastic elephant experiences in and around the camp, lions trying to take a wharthog, all while having a drink at the bar- magical.

Chalet's are comfortable, minor points for improvement have already been discussed with Christina.

Thank you to the bar staff/waiters/general staff covering for Jo(hostess)who was ill while I was there."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Kakuli Bushcamp

Kakuli Bushcamp

"Kakuli Bushcamp review"

2 nights Arrived 31 Oct 2011
"Experiencing a great safari depends upon the animals, the location of the camp and having one of the finest guides in Africa let alone, Zambia, senoir guide Aubrey. Another legend like Abraham and Shaddy, Aubrey lives and breathes Kakuli. Nothing is too much of a problem. His knowledge, humour and tracking skills meant this was another very productive venture at Kakuli.

Great location overlooking the near dry river, good gaming, excellent food, friendly staff and the chirpy Sarah as hostess.

Thank you for another great time at Kakuli. This just overshadows Luwi as my favourite bush camp."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Pioneer Camp

Pioneer Camp

"Pioneer Camp review"

1 night Arrived 2 Nov 2011
"Quick transfer, enjoyable evening, good nights sleep before the flight home.

Thankyou to Paul and all the staff at Pioneer."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good

The best of Africa- Zambia and Northern Botswana

Zambia and 1 other country between 22 Jan 2010 and 5 Feb 2010

Trip rating: Excellent
"Before going out to these places, I had very high expectation. Nothing and nobody changed my opinion. I have once again seen what I wanted to see and achieved just what I wanted.

South Luangwa, still the best, Northern Botswana a close second. Very happy and I hope to produce a Dvd that will be sent to all the lodges and camps concerned, last year's Dvd has already been shown and went down rather well. It has been a pleasure to go and stay at these magical places, where the animals, the birds, the grasses and inland seas humble me. Africa beckons, please go and see for yourselves.

Thankyou to everyone that contributed in making this another special trip to 'minha' Africa.

Ashante sana.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

The bush camps that Norman Carr safaris operate can be a great selling point, Kapani lodge is already perfect."

Arranged By Lucy Copson


Kapani Lodge

Kapani Lodge

"Kapani lodge 4 nights, 1 night at Kakuli."

5 nights Arrived 23 Jan 2010
"It took me 19 years to get back to my favourite place in the world- the South Luangwa Valley, once again at a rejuvenated Kapani lodge and having the same guide, the infamous Abraham Banda. Nothing let me down! This was just how I wanted to experience, the best of Africa's game reserves/parks and at my favourite time of the year- the emerald season. Amazing sightings, harder work for the tracker/guide, Abraham, but this is part of the challenge.

The season brings better light and photographic opportunity in general and no dust to test my lenses and camera. This is the place to see leopard and the newly crowned king with a pride of 17 lions in tow. The kill during the famous spotlight safari, with 18 lions in a scrum trying to get their share of the kill was amazing to see and hear. Great birding opportunity, genet, serval and the regular cast.

Had the opportunity for a 'free' upgrade to KAKULI bush camp, and 2 wonderful walking safari's- part of what is the Norman Carr concept. Thank you to all concerned and it will not be another 19 years before I get back to South Luangwa!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Avani Victoria Falls

Avani Victoria Falls

"Zambezi Sun review"

1 night Arrived 28 Jan 2010
"Good 4 star hotel with all the necessary facilities but great location and short walk into the Victoria Falls. Would use again the next time I'm there.

Efficient airport 'pick up' and transfer's through 'wilderness safaris'."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Lebala Camp

Lebala Camp

"Lebala Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 29 Jan 2010
"Lebala, lebala, lebala- so good is the accommodation, the food and the staff.

You will see the African wild hunting dogs here between Lagoon (pack of 18), and the Lebala(pack of 6). Good leopard sightings and excellent for the 3 dominant Cheetah brothers.

Giraffe and elephants in abundance. No lion, but many hyena here. Friendly, cheerful staff and super food. Entertainment, African dancing and singing to top off what was the perfect 3 nights here.

Thank you to all concerned."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp

"Kwara Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 1 Feb 2010
"I visited Kwara last year and just had to come back. It did not let me down.

The best of Kwando safaris guides are here, even though David has left. Jacob and G.T were my team this year, and did everything they could to find what I wanted. 4 out of the 5 of the cheetah cubs from last year have survived, what a mother! Following a nervous female leopard for ages without interfering with her (building trust for later observers). African wild hunting dogs found after a kill and 3 Cheetah brothers, observed, diamond formation and setting off at top speed towards their target- what a privilege!

The 7 male lions have now separated and have created their own territories but I've been informed occasionally, 5 still get back together. Many elephant and giraffe. Walking safari here too. Gcodikwe lagoon, hippos and sundowner, another G and T. Very good accommodation, in great location and the food and service here is excellent.

Thank you to all concerned."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent

Botswana at its best!

Botswana between 19 Feb 2009 and 1 Mar 2009

Trip rating: Excellent
"The most incredible journey even for the seasoned traveller who wants a little comfort and luxury. In hindsight, with the small-spotted genet safari, 3 nights were needed at Kwara (could I be greedy and say 4)? I intend to put that right in the future.

The perfect short trip and one that I could highly recommend."

Arranged By Lucy Copson


Lagoon Camp

Lagoon Camp

"Lagoon Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 20 Feb 2009
"Thanks to a smooth transition from London/Jo'berg/Maun and the light aircraft(Moremi Air), I arrived at Lagoon camp. The wonderful 'team' of staff at Lagoon, created a harmony of professionalism, courteousness and genuine light hearted banter. This was home from home!

My guide and tracker(Dishoe and James) were incredibly motivated to find the game and their skills produced fantastic photo opportunity, when against the odds(this was the rainy/green season and the grasses were tall, hence the game so much harder to find. Both African wild hunting dog packs(Lagoon and Lebala) were found in the same day, cheetah stalking, killing and then eating a young osterich, elephant, most of the antelope and birdlife in abundance. Very good location, friendly staff and great food!

Thankyou to all concerned."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp

"Kwara Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 23 Feb 2009
"Two nights here were not enough! The game is prolific and I intend to go back in the future. Relief management were in place here and this does have an affect on the dynamic at any camp. However my stay here was very enjoyable, my guide(David), is the finest guide/tracker that I've experienced in my 20 years of extensive travelling throughout Africa. No greater compliment can be paid.

Leopard tracking, the finest art! The cheetah with five cubs, the fondest of memories and super photos. Seven male lions that dominant this area, three cheetah brothers and once again an abundance of birdlife.

My favourite 'tent' of the three camps - the sliding doors make it so much easier. Great food and enjoyable company here.

Thank you to all concerned."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp

"Pom Pom review"

3 nights Arrived 25 Feb 2009
"This was the last of the three camps visited and the main lodge area, with its high ceiling built in a semi-circle, (so wherever you sit everyone has a view of the lagoon), was my favourite setting. The general staff seemed shy, slightly subdued but one could build a rapport with most of the staff as time went on.

Meticulously clean, no fuss, the ladies worked very hard to produce the finest of meals. The mokoro trip was a pleasant change, peaceful and tranquil. Botswana has produced a high standard of guides through its policy of education and once again great tracking skills in evidence as several leopard were found for those special moments. Good game viewing, but Kwara and Lagoon/Lebala regions were better.

Sometimes taking the chance of travelling 'out of prime game viewing season' pays off- quite literally! The weather was superb, very little rain and temperature between 28 and 35 degrees celsius. No flat open plains for easy game viewing, this was real safari, off road, very private and game tracking at its best. Thankyou, for all the efforts put in to make this one of my greatest adventure yet! Vi ses igen."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team