This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Nsolo Bushcamp
Nsolo Bushcamp
Nsolo Bushcamp
Nsolo Bushcamp
Nsolo Bushcamp

Reviews of Nsolo Bushcamp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

52 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Nsolo Bushcamp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2018, 1 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Nsolo Bushcamp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

0% success

Wild dog

0% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Aardvark

0% success

Eland

0% success

Giraffe

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Showing 21-30 of 52
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs L
Aldershot

"Nsolo bush camp our second camp"

2 nights Arrived 27 Jun 2012
"We walked to Nsolo which took a very relaxing three hours and once again had a very warm welcome. Our room, which seem to be the norm, was excellent , bed very comfortable services good but let the water run a little so you can have hot water for your shower if you so wish, As with all the camps it's an early start but over the camp fire eating hot porridge or fried eggs with like minded people and your hosts it's a pleasure to always remember . The elephants were around camp during the night and decided to eat the walls of the kitchen and trampled on the water pipe so we had no water fro a few hours but who cared its the bush" See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs C
Hindhead

"Great accommodation at Nsolo Camp"

2 nights Arrived 23 Jun 2012
"Loved the accomodation on stilts and decking area. Service was fantastic.

The guide called us just before our siesta time to take us to see some lions which had just been seen in the area.

We were delighted to have private dining on our decking area and to share it with a group of elephants.

Walking and vehicle game drives were not as interesting as we had hoped.

To improve privacy screening from the bedroom to bathroom needs to be higher to block views to the camp fire area." See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs J
Dyfed

"Elephants at Nsolo"

3 nights Arrived 19 Jun 2012
"Again room this year even better because of wonderful view of dry river bed - perfect for when the elephants came calling.

On our third night we slept out in the river bed and this was a truly amazing experience. We were very appreciative of the hard work that went into making this possible - a special thank you therefore to Pippa and the team at Nsolo." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr B
Bristol

"Nsolo Bushcamp review"

2 nights Arrived 29 Oct 2011
"The legendary 'Shaddy' was the senior guide, great walking safari, so close to lions on foot, I guess this depends on the client, the wonderful knowledge of reading the situation and staying safe! Great job.

Fantastic elephant experiences in and around the camp, lions trying to take a wharthog, all while having a drink at the bar- magical.

Chalet's are comfortable, minor points for improvement have already been discussed with Christina.

Thank you to the bar staff/waiters/general staff covering for Jo(hostess)who was ill while I was there." See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Ms D & Mr B
Berks

"Nsolo Bushcamp review"

2 nights Arrived 20 Oct 2011
"Great guiding and excellent lion sightings!" See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mrs L
Surrey

"Nsolo Bushcamp review"

2 nights Arrived 7 Sep 2011
"Good Host and guide (Andrew). Walking safari focused mainly on the same animal poo that we had learned about at Luwi with a slightly different spin and again confirmed that all the animals ran away from humans. Our disappointment associated with this continued.

Andrew tried a bit too hard to find us a Leopard on both nights which resulted in us driving long distances on the two afternoon/evening drives. The night part of the drive was then done at too fast a speed to be comfortable for spotting and viewing." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs G
Guildford

"A wonderful rustic experience."

3 nights Arrived 13 Aug 2011
"This was our first expereince of staying in a bushcamp and we were not disappointed!

Our host was very welcoming and the guides extremely knowledgeable. The camp offered a comfortable stay and the food was excellent. A great start to our holiday which we could highly recommend!" See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Ms W
Bedfordshire

"Full of character"

2 nights Arrived 28 Jul 2011
"We loved it here. The chalets were charming (once we were used to the frogs!).

The staff were wonderful and Jo was the very best hostess you could have had. Jo was our special person here.

Food again was great.

Only point to make was that Shaddy, our guide, just seemed to have lost his enthusiasim a bit (and we really only noticed this once we meet Aubrey our guide at Kakuli and compared). He was fine and we all liked and respected him, but somehow on reflection we felt that we had not made the most of his wisdom.

The game was quite limited around Nsolo so two nights here is enough from that perspective." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia; 3n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs J
Dyfed

"More amazing experiences"

2 nights Arrived 22 Jun 2011
"Sad to leave Luwi until we arrived at Nsolo. Informed of great excitement the previous night due to lions in the camp. During our first night an elephant visited and browsed on the tree right outside our room. The second night buffalo visited and caused some damage.

Lawrence was our guide here and again morning walks and a clever combination of walking and driving in the afternoon/evening made for some exciting and unforgetable moments eg three lionesses with cubs waking at twilight. Hospitality and guiding of hte highest standard.

Again sad to leave but anothe wonderful long walk with Shaddy to Kakuli, many adventures on the way." See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
UK

"A true bush experience"

2 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2010
"What a contrast to arrive at this Camp from Kapani: we found peace and tranquility and a fine position over the sand river Luwi. We were welcomed warmly by Tara, the assistant manager, given a cool drink and ushered to the spacious honeymoon chalet with its long deck and comfortable seats. Andrew, Aubrey's nephew (Aubrey was our guide at Kakauli) had driven us expertly from Kapani and on the way had introduced us very graphically to a civet midden and stopped to watch a pride of lions at a kill. He was an amusing companion.

Tara was an excellent hostess and attentive to our needs. The staff were very friendly, efficient and helpful and the food was good and varied. On our first evening the dining table was transferred to the sand river with a true bush experience under the stars. On our second evening, as we were the only guests in camp, Tara had organised a dinner table to be set up on our deck, where our meal was served by Felix and Harry, complete with sparkling wine for a celebration of our wedding anniversary. This was such a lovely idea and a complete surprise to us.

Shaddy was our guide and was ably assisted by Batwell, his scout who was very experienced and always alert to danger. They had been a team for 15 years. We were disappointed with Shaddy who appeared bored and diffident. He did not volunteer much information and when questioned his responses were very brief. He gave the impression that he was tired of guiding. On the second afternoon, when we were alone in the camp, he did not appear until we had finished our tea. Whilst we were on our game drive we asked for a drink, only to discover there was nothing on board, not even sundowners. It was a hot evening and as a consequence we had to retrace our steps, return to camp to collect the coolbox and Shaddy said we did not have enough time for a bush walk. This denied us one of the main features of our holiday, walking in the bush, and we felt extremely disappointed.

The next morning during our walk to Nsolo Shaddy was uncommunicative. Although we suggested a tea break he reluctantly stopped after three hours; he did not indicate to us how we were progressing and did not tell us how long we would take to reach Kakauli. We gained the impression he hoped we would not stop as it would enable him and Batwell to return to Nsolo without delay." See all these reviews: 7n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 21-30 of 52
97%
52 reviews of Nsolo Bushcamp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
45
7
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in South Luangwa National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Tafika

Tafika

Tafika is one of the best camps in Zambia: naturally built, with few apparent luxuries, but actually very high quality. Service and food are excellent, but the real focus is on top guiding skills and wildlife experience.


98% (282 reviews)
Nkwali

Nkwali

In the heart of South Luangwa, overlooking the river, Nkwali is unusual in being open year round. It offers great safaris; a high standard of food, service and care; and an excellent springboard for Robin Pope's various safaris in the park.


96% (207 reviews)
Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp is a small, owner-run camp in a quiet but excellent game area of the Luangwa. Photographers will particularly appreciate the camp’s series of wildlife hides.


97% (191 reviews)
Nsefu

Nsefu

One of the Luangwa's oldest camps, Nsefu is a great safari camp in a remote, beautiful and game-rich location with top-rate guiding.


98% (170 reviews)
Tena Tena

Tena Tena

Tena Tena is one of the Luangwa's best camps in a beautiful location – it's very small, feels very remote and 'in the bush', is run exceedingly well and has top rate guiding.


95% (137 reviews)
Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba is a small, fairly simple, owner-run bushcamp in an excellent game area. It offers first-class walking, 4WD safaris and great game hides; come for excellent guides and a real bush feel.


99% (131 reviews)
Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp is an excellent small, rustic bushcamp that concentrates on walking safaris, and is run by a top-quality operation.


99% (108 reviews)
Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp is a great little rustic bushcamp built to high standards that focuses on excellent walking safaris, with the emphasis on top wildlife guides.


98% (82 reviews)
Kapani Lodge

Kapani Lodge

Just on the south-east side of the national park, Kapani Lodge is the base camp for Norman Carr Safaris, one of the Luangwa's oldest safari operations. It's also a very solid safari camp that has retained lots of character, and runs very well indeed.


95% (80 reviews)
Flatdogs Camp

Flatdogs Camp

A relatively big but very good safari camp, Flatdogs offers value for money with great guiding and good food in a comfortable, relaxed setting.


98% (65 reviews)
Mchenja Bushcamp

Mchenja Bushcamp

Set in a shady ebony grove on the banks of the Luangwa, Mchenja is a smart tented bushcamp. It combines well with Kakuli and Nsolo – its sister camps with a focus on walking safaris.


98% (64 reviews)
Kakuli Bushcamp

Kakuli Bushcamp

Beside the Luangwa River, Kakuli is a comfortable tented bushcamp offering 4WD safaris and walking safaris – the best of which are camp-to-camp walks linking Kakuli with its nearby sister camps.


97% (63 reviews)
Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Lodge is a small and consciously stylish lodge in the Mfuwe area, overlooking the Luangwa River and the South Luangwa National Park beyond – an area renowned for great game.


96% (60 reviews)
Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta is a laid-back, friendly and good-value lodge on the outskirts of South Lunagwa National Park.


96% (39 reviews)
Luwi Bushcamp

Luwi Bushcamp

In a remote part of the South Luangwa National Park, Luwi is a rustic bushcamp whose emphasis is on walking safaris with great guiding and a chance of seeing some rarely seen and elusive antelope.


93% (38 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris bush-camp

Robin Pope bush-camp

RPS bushcamping in South Luangwa National Park, Zambia


99% (25 reviews)
Lion Camp

Lion Camp

Lion Camp is an established and comfortable camp with a swimming pool, located near to the game-rich Lion Plain in the northern part of South Luangwa National Park.


94% (22 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris Mobile Safari Camp

Robin Pope mobile

RPS mobile safari camps are at the heart of their set-itinerary walking safaris in South Luangwa National Park, which start and finish at a permanent camp.


98% (21 reviews)
Kapamba Bushcamp

Kapamba Bushcamp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Kapamba is a small and very comfortable bushcamp offering good walks and game drives.


94% (18 reviews)
Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge is a luxurious designer camp set in a stunning location, high on a hill overlooking a floodplain within South Luangwa. Explore from here on 4WD safaris and walks.


96% (14 reviews)
Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House is a vast and very smart four-bedroom house specifically designed for families and small groups, and offering an exclusive and flexible safari experience.


100% (14 reviews)
Mfuwe Lodge

Mfuwe Lodge

In a game-rich area close to the South Luangwa’s main Mfuwe Gate, Mfuwe Lodge is relatively large by park standards, but it’s stylish, modern and family friendly.


93% (14 reviews)
Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp is a classic bushcamp with particularly delightful hosts and offers top-class walking safaris in South Luangwa National Park.


99% (14 reviews)
Chinzombo

Chinzombo

Opened in early June 2013, Chinzombo offers luxurious and stylish accommodation with very high levels of service and excellent guiding.


98% (13 reviews)
Bilimungwe Bushcamp

Bilimungwe Bushcamp

A smart bushcamp with four very spacious chalets, Bilimungwe offers interesting walking safaris in pretty riverine woodland, as well as day and night safari drives.


95% (12 reviews)
Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village – beside the South Luangwa National Park, offers guests the rare opportunity to appreciate local village life. Visit for a few hours or stay overnight.


95% (11 reviews)
Robin's House

Robin's House

With your own expert guide, private vehicle, chef and valet, the two-bedroom Robin's House offers an exclusive, flexible safari experience – and is open year round.


95% (11 reviews)
Three Rivers Camp

Three Rivers Camp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Three Rivers Lodge is being constructed by the confluence of three of the valleys rivers.


94% (10 reviews)
Island Bush Camp

Island Bush Camp

Island Bushcamp is a good-value, rustic, walking-only camp, in arguably one of the most remote parts of the South Luangwa, well away from all other camps.


100% (9 reviews)
Chindeni

Chindeni

Chindeni Bushcamp is a very modern and minimalist camp, which is a far cry from your traditional bushcamp and unlike most of the other camps in South Luangwa.


96% (9 reviews)
Chamilandu Bushcamp

Chamilandu Bushcamp

A very comfortable little bushcamp, Chamilandu has a picturesque setting by the Luangwa River, with a range of habitats that can be explored on foot and by 4WD, day and night.


100% (5 reviews)
Mwamba Camp-out

Mwamba Camp-out

The Mwamba-Camp Out allows you to have an incredibly adventurous night in the bush, sleeping under mosquito nets with activities led by some of the best guides in Zambia.


90% (4 reviews)
Zungulila

Zungulila

Zungulila is a small, comfortable tented bushcamp with an emphasis on walking safaris, in the remote southern section of the South Luangwa.


93% (3 reviews)
Chichele Presidential Lodge

Chichele Lodge

Chichele Presidential Lodge stands within the park on a hill with superb views. Its hotel-like, air-conditioned rooms and child-friendly attitude make it ideal for families or those who don't want to get too close to the bush outside.


100% (1 review)
Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

For an adventurous night in South Luangwa National Park, come and sleep out in the bush, around a campfire, with an experienced guide and game scout.


100% (1 review)
Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp is a basic safari camp in the far north of the South Luangwa, with walking safaris led by renowned guide Deb Tittle.


No reviews yet
Shawa Luangwa Camp

Shawa Camp

Due to open in June 2020, we’re expecting Shawa Luangwa Camp to be a small, intimate and rustic camp, with a good location in a remote section of the South Luangwa National Park.


No reviews yet
Chikunto Safari Lodge

Chikunto

Chikunto Safari Lodge is a new property in Zambia's South Luangwa National Park, sitting on a peninsula of land created by the meandering Luangwa River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa