This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Ms D & Mr B from Berks

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

10

Excursions taken

0

My Oct 2011 trip

Zambia between 17 Oct 2011 and 27 Oct 2011

Trip rating: Good
"A good trip with great lion sightings.

In comparison, the general level of service isn't as good as Robin Pope's, but the cakes are better!

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

None. I think you're an excellent company and one I've recommended to friends."

Arranged By Claire Scott


Kapani Lodge

Kapani Lodge

"Kapani Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 17 Oct 2011
"Only stayed one night and off the next morning to Luwi so didn't see much of the camp."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Luwi Bushcamp

Luwi Bushcamp

"Luwi Bushcamp review"

2 nights Arrived 18 Oct 2011
"Had some great walks and our guide was fantastic."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo Bushcamp

"Nsolo Bushcamp review"

2 nights Arrived 20 Oct 2011
"Great guiding and excellent lion sightings!"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Kakuli Bushcamp

Kakuli Bushcamp

"Kakuli Bushcamp review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Oct 2011
"Loved the location but there were problems. The place was infested with mosquitos and wasn't helped that the flooring of the accommodation had huge gaps. Although these had been plugged with mud earlier in the season, this had dried and fallen out, consequently mosquitoes just came up all the time. Tried tucking the mosi net of the bed into the mattress at night - still got substantially bitten.

There was also a laundry problem (something we experience in all the Norman Carr camps) with laundry getting mixed with other guests and they getting ours. But more annoying was someone ironing a non-iron brand-new shirt leaving it burnt and ripped. Then folding it in such a way that I didn't notice until I got to the next camp. Resolved later with Christina who agreed to pay for a new one, but should have been admitted to and dealt with immediately."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Mchenja Bushcamp

Mchenja Bushcamp

"Mchenja Bushcamp review"

2 nights Arrived 24 Oct 2011
"I liked the situation of this camp but our guide, Simon, was very poor. He just chatted to the scout and ignored his passengers when in the vehicle and was abrupt to the point of rudeness when out. He didn't bother to try and develop a relationship with us or the Jacksons, didn't ask what our interests were, was about to drive past a herd of elephants about to cross the road in front of us and I had to ask him to stop and let us see them. He didn't know that the Jackson's had never seen elephants up close."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Pioneer Camp

Pioneer Camp

"Pioneer Camp review"

1 night Arrived 26 Oct 2011
"It's a good basic camp with simple food. They seem to have improved their paths and lighting since we last stayed. Good improvement!"
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Service
Good

Zambia is a wonderful place to visit.

Zambia between 24 May 2010 and 5 Jun 2010

Trip rating: Excellent
"We had a truly fantastic holiday.

We were very impressed with Rob Clifford in the handling of my lost phone at Tena Tena. He came to Nsefu to talk to us about it and even offered to pay for a new one on our return. Happily, the phone was eventually found at Tena, but Rob's attitude to us as customers was wonderful.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

I'm not sure anything could be improved upon!"

Nkwali

Nkwali

"Nkwali Camp"

4 nights Arrived 25 May 2010
"Love the new dining 'room' and swimming pool!

Staff, food, service - all remain excellent, hence this being our third stay at Nkwali.

An added bonus was seeing a leopard every single evening game drive. Stunning!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Tena Tena

Tena Tena

"Tena Tena - a very special camp"

4 nights Arrived 28 May 2010
"Tena Tena is our favourite camp, hence our second return. It has a very special atmosphere and has wonderful and varied game drives and walks.

The staff at Tena Tena deserve an 'excellent plus' rating as they always go the extra mile. When I pointed out to Simon that there was no easy way for women to dry their undies and described what I thought was needed, he produced a home-made version the next day.

Betram and Gritid make a great walking pair and it's lovely to have a guide and scout that think a 'sitting safari' is a third option. We had a very special 11 hour day trip out with Betram which also involved a bit of just sitting and see what happens. Everyones enthusiasm for their work, the bush, and the animals really makes this an outstanding experience."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Nsefu

Nsefu

"Nsefu Camp"

3 nights Arrived 1 Jun 2010
"We've never stayed at Nsefu before and we had a great time and good game viewing, so the following comments seem a bit picky.

One small problem with the room is a lack of bedside tables (balancing things on the back bed board means items aren't within easy reach); and no bedside lights, having therefore to climb out of bed to turn off the lights. A difficulty with the area is the need to turn left out of the camp and drive down the same road each time before other options open out.

However, the camp itself is lovely and a highlight was watching a group of ellies of all ages cross over the river one afternoon. As was watching Hazel the leopard giving us a stunning performance of a big cat playing like a small cat one early evening."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Pioneer Camp

Pioneer Camp

"Pioneer Camp review"

1 night Arrived 4 Jun 2010
"The last night is always a difficult one and we've tried Taj Pamodzi and Chaminuka before. It's hard for us to judge because we arrived after dark and had to leave very early in the morning.

One thing we didn't appreciate was being dumped late at night with our bags and then trying to find our way back to the dining area in the dark. Turns out there was a portable light in the room, but we didn't recognise it as such.

The owner was friendly and realising our tiredness began cooking our dinner order whilst we were being taken to the chalet so that we could just eat and go to bed."
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Service
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team