This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Chikoko Tree Camp
Chikoko Tree Camp
Chikoko Tree Camp

Reviews of Chikoko Tree Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

105 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Chikoko Tree Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 11 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Chikoko Tree Camp.
Lion

70% success

Leopard

10% success

Wild dog

30% success

Hippo

100% success

Buffalo

82% success

Elephant

82% success

Zebra

82% success

Giraffe

70% success

Spotted Hyena

27% success

Roan antelope

20% success

Wildebeest

18% success

Eland

10% success

Pangolin

10% success

Sable antelope

10% success

Aardvark

0% success

Showing 21-30 of 105
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs E
W Sussex

"A True Wilderness Camp"

2 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2016
"Chikoko camp was a true wilderness, yet you'd never know you were literally in a place with no "roads"! The camp was run really well.

The guiding was excellent. We felt like we were on a geography field trip, it was amazing. We also felt totally safe with the armed Scout and the guide. Bearing in mind where we were located the food and service was truly excellent. Very different from game drives, but unforgettable.

The food was much better here as the evening meal was served to us and we took as much as we wanted, so no waste going on!" See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Family B-D
UK

"A night at chikoko with family"

1 night Arrived 19 Aug 2016
"We spent a single night at Chikoko as a family with our sons aged 14 and 12. The camp is absolutely beautiful and the service amazing - I did feel a little spoilt with more staff than guests and every need catered for. Even down to jugs of hot water provided for our early morning at 5am. The food was fantastic and more family friendly than at Tafika - I'm not sure whether this was deliberately planned because there were no other guests but we loved the burgers and chocolate mousse at lunchtime - and the huge cake at tea which was so fresh it was still warm - the quality of cooking in this environment was simply amazing (all the food is walked into the camp).

After four nights at Tafika we walked in the morning to get to the camp - about 3.5 hours. This walk was beautiful and with lots of game - kudu, buffalo, zebra, waterbuck and of course many birds. The camp itself is also a great birdwatching place. Very comfortable and peaceful.

The chalets are set up high in the trees and the whole camp is very open. We chose to sleep one parent one child in each chalet as they are quite far apart so we felt safer with this configuration.

I think one night was a good choice with the children, since the camp is quite small and apart from the walking not much to do. I personally would like to return to do more walking but family life is always a compromise!" See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr D
Clapham

"Chikoko"

2 nights Arrived 21 Jun 2016
"Excellent
More rustic than Tafika - mud floors on ground floor on the two storey huts.
Hot showers in the evening and a jug of hot water in the morning. 24 hour electricity.
You have a real remote feeling at this small camp of three huts. Only one hut had a double bed when we were there.
Great and safe guide.
Excellent food" See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr T
Salt Lake City

"Crocodile Bush Camp [I didn't stay @ Chikoko]"

2 nights Arrived 10 Jun 2016
"Crocodile Bush Camp.

We had two wonderful nights at CCB. We walked about five hours to get to the camp with an armed and congenial Zambian park ranger in the lead. En route, we walked thru a huge herd of cape buffalo, some zebras, elephants, wart hogs, hippos, birds, giraffes, etc. Many of the rainy season lagoons were dry and absolutely covered with dried mud footprints of elephants and hippos. That made walking a bit challenging but survivable. A pair of walking poles (or two suitable tree branches) would have helped.

The food and accommodations were excellent. Pukus, wart hogs, and elephants right in front of the camp. On one afternoon game walk, we encountered at very close range a pack of wild dogs in hot pursuit of an impala. That was a memorable experience as was the bark of the two of the dogs whose chase we had ruined. On a morning game walk, we saw one eland and a kudu family. That was the only eland of our trip." See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia; 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs A
Utah

"Great walking safari to Chikoko Tree Camp"

2 nights Arrived 10 Jun 2016
"Wonderful stay at Chikoko Tree Camp.

I especially enjoyed seeing the kitchen. We loved everything about this camp.

Issac made it so interesting and lots of animals. I can't imagine not doing a walking safari.

The food and setting was beyond our wildest dreams." See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia; 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr & Mrs C
Henley

"small walking camp with super animal viewing"

3 nights Arrived 24 Sep 2015
"We love this simple camp and this year we saw large numbers of wildebeest, roan antelope and eland as animals move closer to river as water dries up.

Crossed the river by truck, as water level low enough, and by boat. Food just like Tafika's so excellent. Amon in 2nd year as walking guide was good with wide knowledge and friendly style.

Long talks on his family life in the closed season gave us a good insight into how hard it is. New stairs are solid and an improvement." See all these reviews: 13n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Ms W & Mr W
Kent

"Chikoko Tree Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 2 Sep 2015
"Chikoko was our introduction to walking safaris, which gave us the chance to learn about the bush at a more intimate level. Issac's many years of knowledge and experience provided insight on hundreds of things we'd never have known - from those tiny ant lions, to the territorial habits of animals, to the peculiar habits of plants and trees. The view from our hut was gorgeous, with elephants close by every day.

The food at Chikoko was extraordinary - we couldn't believe they could turn out such excellent meals from that small kitchen. Another great experience.

One small suggestion - place mounted bed lights outside the mosquito netting to discourage the entry of bugs/flying insects." See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs D
Cambridge

"Chikoko Tree Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 9 Aug 2015
"We were spoilt in having the camp to ourselves for two night stay. We felt very remote but also very safe in the expert hands of our guide and the rest of the staff.

The walking was at a pace that suited us in covering a lot of ground but also with plenty of stops to view lots of detail you miss from the vehicles.. This more than compensates for not generally getting as close to the larger wildlife whilst driving -(although tracking two young male lions and watching them eat a buffalo from 40m away was a close encounter and one which we felt very safe in.

The great delight of these camps is being able to walk out in the morning and return back on foot - especially to the smell of fresh baking bread!" See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr P
France

"Crocodile & Chikoko Camps"

2 nights Arrived 1 Aug 2015
"The walking experience & staying in the 2 completely different bushcamps for 2 nights each was fantastic. We kept the same team for the 5 days & this was also great. We were 2 couples who had only just met a Tafika, then we had Alex the Scout, Mukupa the guide & Justan as the tea boy.

As we were together the whole time, we all ended up with an excellent friendly, trusting, relationship with the team which I think they also appreciated. As our fitness was good we were walking nearly 6/7 hrs a day. I also have to mention the work of Mukupa as the guide who has a great sense of humour, & worked tirelessly for the whole 5 days as guide, host & all round entertainer.

Alex was also meticulous in his safety, advice & knowledge of animal behaviour. The highlight & most exhilarating was tracking a pride of lions for nearly 2hrs & finally finding them asleep under a bush with 9 cubs having just eaten a buffalo kill" See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs C
Golden CO

"Chikoko Tree Camp review"

1 night Arrived 3 Jul 2015
"Chikoko Tree Camp is more elegant than Crocodile, but still has a remote bush feel. The tent platforms built up into the trees made this camp special. Again, the staff was attentive and the food was delicious.

Crocodile Bushcamp and Chikoko Tree Camp are satellite walking safari camps associated with Tafika. The 6 km / 3.5 mile walks between camps were relaxed and unhurried, though walking across areas with dried hippo footprints required some concentration. Our experienced walking safari guides, Isaac and Bryan, were excellent teachers educating us on details of the animals, birds and traditional uses of the local trees and plants. Unfortunately, wildlife was scarce on our walks.

However, we did enjoy watching elephants, puku, impala, kudu, and baboons from the elevated vantage point of our tent at Chikoko Tree Camp. We sought off after a small pride of lions that were frequenting the area near Crocodile Camp during our afternoon walk. They were close by, as we could hear them across the dry riverbed, but twilight was fast approaching and we had to return to the safety of camp. I don’t know if I was disappointed or relieved at missing the opportunity to see the lions on foot.

If I could have a do over in planning my itinerary after the fact, I would have added another night at Tafika and settled for one day walking safari at Chikoko Tree Camp, simply for the game viewing opportunities. Had we seen the lions while walking at Crocodile, perhaps my enthusiasm for the walking safaris would be different." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia; 7n in Tanzania; 6n in Botswana; 3n in Zanzibar; 2n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Showing 21-30 of 105
99%
105 reviews of Chikoko Tree Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
101
4
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in South Luangwa National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Tafika

Tafika

Tafika is one of the best camps in Zambia: naturally built, with few apparent luxuries, but actually very high quality. Service and food are excellent, but the real focus is on top guiding skills and wildlife experience.


98% (279 reviews)
Nkwali

Nkwali

In the heart of South Luangwa, overlooking the river, Nkwali is unusual in being open year round. It offers great safaris; a high standard of food, service and care; and an excellent springboard for Robin Pope's various safaris in the park.


96% (204 reviews)
Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp is a small, owner-run camp in a quiet but excellent game area of the Luangwa. Photographers will particularly appreciate the camp’s series of wildlife hides.


97% (190 reviews)
Nsefu

Nsefu

One of the Luangwa's oldest camps, Nsefu is a great safari camp in a remote, beautiful and game-rich location with top-rate guiding.


98% (169 reviews)
Tena Tena

Tena Tena

Tena Tena is one of the Luangwa's best camps in a beautiful location – it's very small, feels very remote and 'in the bush', is run exceedingly well and has top rate guiding.


95% (137 reviews)
Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba is a small, fairly simple, owner-run bushcamp in an excellent game area. It offers first-class walking, 4WD safaris and great game hides; come for excellent guides and a real bush feel.


99% (127 reviews)
Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp is a great little rustic bushcamp built to high standards that focuses on excellent walking safaris, with the emphasis on top wildlife guides.


98% (82 reviews)
Kapani Lodge

Kapani Lodge

Just on the south-east side of the national park, Kapani Lodge is the base camp for Norman Carr Safaris, one of the Luangwa's oldest safari operations. It's also a very solid safari camp that has retained lots of character, and runs very well indeed.


95% (80 reviews)
Mchenja Bushcamp

Mchenja Bushcamp

Set in a shady ebony grove on the banks of the Luangwa, Mchenja is a smart tented bushcamp. It combines well with Kakuli and Nsolo – its sister camps with a focus on walking safaris.


98% (63 reviews)
Kakuli Bushcamp

Kakuli Bushcamp

Beside the Luangwa River, Kakuli is a comfortable tented bushcamp offering 4WD safaris and walking safaris – the best of which are camp-to-camp walks linking Kakuli with its nearby sister camps.


97% (62 reviews)
Flatdogs Camp

Flatdogs Camp

A relatively big but very good safari camp, Flatdogs offers value for money with great guiding and good food in a comfortable, relaxed setting.


98% (62 reviews)
Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Lodge is a small and consciously stylish lodge in the Mfuwe area, overlooking the Luangwa River and the South Luangwa National Park beyond – an area renowned for great game.


96% (60 reviews)
Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo is a small, comfortable bushcamp overlooking one or two pools in the usually dry Luwi riverbed. It concentrates on walking safaris in an interesting and diverse area, led by a knowledgeable guide.


97% (52 reviews)
Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta is a laid-back, friendly and good-value lodge on the outskirts of South Lunagwa National Park.


96% (39 reviews)
Luwi Bushcamp

Luwi Bushcamp

In a remote part of the South Luangwa National Park, Luwi is a rustic bushcamp whose emphasis is on walking safaris with great guiding and a chance of seeing some rarely seen and elusive antelope.


93% (38 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris bush-camp

Robin Pope bush-camp

RPS bushcamping in South Luangwa National Park, Zambia


99% (25 reviews)
Lion Camp

Lion Camp

Lion Camp is an established and comfortable camp with a swimming pool, located near to the game-rich Lion Plain in the northern part of South Luangwa National Park.


94% (22 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris walking safari

Robin Pope walking

A seven-day Robin Pope Walking Safari in South Luangwa National Park starts and finishes at a permanent camp, with five days walking between comfortable mobile camps.


98% (21 reviews)
Kapamba Bushcamp

Kapamba Bushcamp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Kapamba is a small and very comfortable bushcamp offering good walks and game drives.


94% (17 reviews)
Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House is a vast and very smart four-bedroom house specifically designed for families and small groups, and offering an exclusive and flexible safari experience.


100% (14 reviews)
Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp is a classic bushcamp with particularly delightful hosts and offers top-class walking safaris in South Luangwa National Park.


99% (14 reviews)
Chinzombo

Chinzombo

Opened in early June 2013, Chinzombo offers luxurious and stylish accommodation with very high levels of service and excellent guiding.


98% (13 reviews)
Bilimungwe Bushcamp

Bilimungwe Bushcamp

A smart bushcamp with four very spacious chalets, Bilimungwe offers interesting walking safaris in pretty riverine woodland, as well as day and night safari drives.


95% (12 reviews)
Mfuwe Lodge

Mfuwe Lodge

In a game-rich area close to the South Luangwa’s main Mfuwe Gate, Mfuwe Lodge is relatively large by park standards, but it’s stylish, modern and family friendly.


92% (12 reviews)
Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge is a luxurious designer camp set in a stunning location, high on a hill overlooking a floodplain within South Luangwa. Explore from here on 4WD safaris and walks.


95% (11 reviews)
Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village – beside the South Luangwa National Park, offers guests the rare opportunity to appreciate local village life. Visit for a few hours or stay overnight.


95% (11 reviews)
Robin's House

Robin's House

With your own expert guide, private vehicle, chef and valet, the two-bedroom Robin's House offers an exclusive, flexible safari experience – and is open year round.


95% (11 reviews)
Three Rivers Camp

Three Rivers Camp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Three Rivers Lodge is being constructed by the confluence of three of the valleys rivers.


94% (10 reviews)
Island Bush Camp

Island Bush Camp

Island Bushcamp is a good-value, rustic, walking-only camp, in arguably one of the most remote parts of the South Luangwa, well away from all other camps.


100% (9 reviews)
Chindeni

Chindeni

Chindeni Bushcamp is a very modern and minimalist camp, which is a far cry from your traditional bushcamp and unlike most of the other camps in South Luangwa.


95% (8 reviews)
Chamilandu Bushcamp

Chamilandu Bushcamp

A very comfortable little bushcamp, Chamilandu has a picturesque setting by the Luangwa River, with a range of habitats that can be explored on foot and by 4WD, day and night.


100% (5 reviews)
Mwamba Camp-out

Mwamba Camp-out

The Mwamba-Camp Out allows you to have an incredibly adventurous night in the bush, sleeping under mosquito nets with activities led by some of the best guides in Zambia.


90% (4 reviews)
Zungulila

Zungulila

Zungulila is a small, comfortable tented bushcamp with an emphasis on walking safaris, in the remote southern section of the South Luangwa.


93% (3 reviews)
Chichele Presidential Lodge

Chichele Lodge

Chichele Presidential Lodge stands within the park on a hill with superb views. Its hotel-like, air-conditioned rooms and child-friendly attitude make it ideal for families or those who don't want to get too close to the bush outside.


100% (1 review)
Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

For an adventurous night in South Luangwa National Park, come and sleep out in the bush, around a campfire, with an experienced guide and game scout.


100% (1 review)
Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp is a basic safari camp in the far north of the South Luangwa, with walking safaris led by renowned guide Deb Tittle.


No reviews yet
Shawa Luangwa Camp

Shawa Camp

Due to open in June 2020, we’re expecting Shawa Luangwa Camp to be a small, intimate and rustic camp, with a good location in a remote section of the South Luangwa National Park.


No reviews yet
Chikunto Safari Lodge

Chikunto

Chikunto Safari Lodge is a new property in Zambia's South Luangwa National Park, sitting on a peninsula of land created by the meandering Luangwa River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa