This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs JK from Surrey

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

7

Excursions taken

0

My Sep 2017 trip

Zambia between 18 Sep 2017 and 29 Sep 2017

Trip rating: Excellent
"A truly brilliant trip - one of our best and we have been to Africa on safari on many occasions..

Our fears of the valley being overrun by vehicles were unfounded as the southern end of the Park was just beautiful and only saw Kainga and Mwamba vehicles. Plenty of game but then it was very hot and animals had to come to water. Wonderful photographic opportunities!

We would recommend this trip but perhaps go to the lodge on the Lower Zambezi at the end of the holiday and have a relaxing afternoon on the river and then collected for evening game drive!

All in all a memorable holiday."

Arranged By Claire Scott


Amanzi

Amanzi

"Amanzi review"

4 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2017
"This is a pretty exclusive lodge and offers both land and river safaris, just what we wanted.

Excellent guide (Mwila) and great night time drives."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp

"Kaingo Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2017
"A super camp at the southern end of the park - we rarely saw another vehicle which was something that worried us when booking for South Luangua, Camp situated in beautiful location overlooking the Luangua river and each bungalow was spacious with several seating areas and outside bathing facilities...

Friendly staff and Catherine, the cook, deserves a Michellin star for producing amazing dishes at every meal! Must comment on the attractive lights (from Malawi and S Africa which hang in the main area.

We had fantastic sightings or birds and animals - several leopard kills (gruesome), lions mating, visits to hippo hide and carmine beeater hide - lots of elephants (lots of young), endless hyenas,Thorneycroft giraffes, lions missing killing a buffalo - and so on and so on..but must say our guide Noelle was just fantastic and her knowledge astounding and we had such amusing and informative times with her - thank you Noelle."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba Bushcamp

"Mwamba Bushcamp review"

3 nights Arrived 26 Sep 2017
"Such a brilliant idea of David Shenton to build a bush camp which is taken down late October and rebuilt every year.

Small camp which works so well - bucket showers (hot and cold mixes) arrive to order and animals wander through the camp which is not fenced so lots of noises in the night! The hide is such an amazing attraction (you can just walk to it whenever you feel like it - divided into 3 sections and wonderful to just sit and watch the game come down and drink, roll in the mud, etc. Great bird life there too.

Noelle accompanied us and we had fantastic sightings of wild dogs and their pups in their den on two occasions - very special as only 3000 left in the world. Saw the pups chasing vultures, adults regurgitating food for pups after hunting and just enjoyed watching them play - so very privileged.

Loved our night drives and always saw genet and civet and of course leopards with kills in trees."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent

Tanzanian Magic

Tanzania between 14 Sep 2010 and 30 Sep 2010

Trip rating: Excellent
"A magical trip. Wonderful lodges and abundant game in both Selous and Ruaha.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

This is the second time we have travelled with you. We will consider using your services again should we return to Africa and certainly recommend you to others."

Arranged By Claire Scott


Selous Impala Camp

Selous Impala Camp

"Selous Impala Camp"

5 nights Arrived 15 Sep 2010
"A friendly well run camp with a very spacious feel to it. Good food. Very good guide and lots of good game.

We especially enjoyed being able to take river trips instead of going out in the vehicle twice a day; lovely birds including bee eaters nesting in the banks."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Mwagusi Safari Camp

Mwagusi Safari Camp

"Mwagusi Safari Camp"

4 nights Arrived 20 Sep 2010
"Another well run camp in which we particularly like the outdoor private dining. We were given the honeymoon suite which was very spacious with lovely view over the dry river bed.

Food was good, especially the buffet lunches and cake for tea! Breakfast in the bush every day was a must.

Just a beautiful park with varied scenery and masses of game - lots of lions, leopards, elephant, buffalo, kudu......and amazing baobab trees. Very good guide. Dinner on our own on last night with 26 lions having just passed through the camp and heard roaring on bank! Magical place."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Pole Pole

Pole Pole

"Pole Pole"

4 nights Arrived 24 Sep 2010
"A quiet and well organised camp with only 7 rooms and making for a peaceful stay. A small beach to ourselves except at high tide.

We enjoyed the boat trips for snorkelling and then lunch on the sandbank cooked by the boat boys. Very interesting trip to Kua ruins on Juani Island.

A great way to relax after our safari."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Serena Hotel Dar

Serena Hotel Dar

"Royal Palm Hotel, Dar"

1 night Arrived 28 Sep 2010
"Poor administration at check-in. Wrong rooms allocated but then quickly corrected."
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Service
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team