This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs K from UK

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

5

Excursions taken

0

South Luangwa & Kafue Oct 2016

Zambia between 3 Oct 2016 and 15 Oct 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"Trip was fantastic. Freddie had really taken on board the type of trip we were looking for with small remote bush camps, and walking safaris focussing on the ecology of the bush. The variety and interest were ideal for us.

Although the parks are quite far apart, we are really glad we visited 2 different ones. South Luangwa had the highest concentration of game you can imagine, but also the highest temperatures. Kafue was refreshingly cooler, with some different species, and still plenty of the larger game.

We loved Zambia and would definitely go back again, and certainly use Expert Africa to plan our itinerary.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

No - great job - MANY THANKS"

Flatdogs Camp

Flatdogs Camp

"Flatdogs Camp was great in October"

3 nights Arrived 4 Oct 2016
"This was our first camp on the trip and the diversity and density of wildlife were extra-ordinary. Over two days we almost all the species we had hoped for. Seeing three different leopards in one evening was particularly exciting. Kwalia was our guide and he was really knowledgeable and friendly, making for some excellent drives.

Its so convenient that this camp is very close to the National Park gate, meaning the wildlife is all around - elephants and hippos behind the tent were a real treat to see.

We really liked the way the restaurant was flexible and 'a la carte' so you could eat whatever you wanted, whenever you wanted and with whoever you wanted - which can be more relaxing than fixed social dinners at some of the other camps.

We stayed in one of the smallest standard tents - but it was just fine - no need to upgrade at all - it had plenty of space, and a waterhole behind providing plenty of interest.

Staff were great and, being one of the only places with a little shop, its an ideal opportunity to stock up on curios to take home..although not sure the postcards we posted from here ever got home!

We have rated the activities excellent because the game drives were excellent, and there was a hide and swimming pool to use in the middle of the day; but this camp does have fewer options than some of the others as there are no walking options or water-based options."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp

"Chikoko Tree Camp"

2 nights Arrived 7 Oct 2016
"We walked here from Crocodile Camp which we visited first. Seeing a large herd of roan as we approached the camp was a real highlight

Stephen was a great guide, and Renardo the scout was entertaining. Once we had been walking with them a day or so, we completely trusted them to spot any large game and take us safely walking through this beautiful wilderness.

In October, with the rivers dried up, the view from the huts was not quite as enchanting or interesting as Crocodile Camp, but it was still a great experience of the bush.

Again, the food was good - and there was lot of it!"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp

"Watching leopards from Crocodile camp"

2 nights Arrived 9 Oct 2016
"This is a beautiful remote camp. Walking the bush with expert guide Stephen, and Renardo the scout, was a fantastic experience. It was great to be able to discover more of the small things that make up the environment...the insects and plants, and learn how the guides track animals using all their senses.

Its a very different experience to a drive and much more fulfilling. Having said that, there was plenty of large game as well, with a leopard crossing in front of the camp at breakfast time, and another taking a drink at the waterhole in the evening - just metres from the bar.

The camp itself has wonderful thatched huts and the social area is relaxing and simple. There is plenty of food, all cooked beautifully in a very simple kitchen."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
KaingU Lodge

KaingU Lodge

"Kaingu Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Oct 2016
"Luxurious lodge, which very welcoming hosts. Our preference is for the simpler bush camps, but Kaingu works well for those who like a little more comfort. The large tents are spacious and have beautiful views over the river.

The setting of the Lodge on an amazing stretch of river is the highlight of this lodge, and the birdlife during the little boat trips between the park and the lodge was excellent. Made a refreshing change from the hotter, drier South Luangwa Park where we travelled from.

We flew with the Wild Dog Charter plane from Mfuwe to Chunga and then were driven to the Lodge. We were slightly nervous of taking such a small plane but it was a smooth, excellent flight and would be happy to do it again.

Our guide was good, but it takes quite a while to drive to areas with game from the Lodge. Making the most of the birdlife on the river is definitely a highlight.

Breakfast Island was a real surprise and a treat!

It was unfortunate that we both suffered some stomach trouble whilst at Kaingu. It wasn't serious, but lasted some time. We don't know the cause, but this was the only Lodge that wasn't getting water from a borehole, so we wished we had just been drinking bottled water."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Musekese Camp

Musekese Camp

"Musekese Camp - wonderful project"

2 nights Arrived 13 Oct 2016
"As ecologists, we loved the ethos of this place and the professionalism of Tyrone and Phil who are really creating a fantastic new camp in the Kafue park. They are passionate about conservation and Zambian wildlife, and it shows in the wildlife sympathetic manner in which they run the camp.

We had a superb time here, and saw some fantastic game. We loved the variety of drives, walks and river trips on offer. Having a mum & baby elephant literally outside our cabin on the last morning was a highlight....followed by seeing a sleeping leopard at about 20metres away from us on a walk was truly astonishing, and there are plenty of lions in the area too.

The food was really excellent - the best of all the camps we stayed at. It was healthy and interesting, without being excessive. What a shame we could only stay 2 nights....we would have loved to stay longer.

The cabins are new and well proportioned. They offer unrestricted views over a lush open area attractive to lots of game (puku, warthogs, elephant, cranes, etc.) in front providing lots of entertainment in down-time between activities. The lack of screens or lattice window guards (used by some) may be disconcerting to some light-sleepers but it doesn't take long to feel completely immersed in the bush. For now, at least, there were no sign of monkeys or other wildlife being interested in raiding cabins. The unrestricted reviews definitely add to the experience.

As Tyrone & Phil are considering the possibility of extending the season at Musekese, they acknowledge they would then need consider mosquito screens in addition to the night-time mosquito nets provided. When we were there, mosquitoes were no major issue, and Tyrone & Phil are also experimenting with tsetse traps. Based on our experience at Musekese versus other parts of Kafue, these seem to be having some apparent success. All things considered, not least Tyrone & Phil's enthusiasm and passion, we would return to this camp in an instant."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team