This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Little Vumbura
Little Vumbura
Little Vumbura
Little Vumbura
Little Vumbura
Little Vumbura

Reviews of Little Vumbura

Wildlife sightings and reviews

121 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Little Vumbura and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 11 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Little Vumbura.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

73% success

Cheetah

55% success

Wild dog

64% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Zebra

91% success

Buffalo

82% success

Wildebeest

50% success

Sable antelope

45% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sitatunga

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

White Rhino

0% success

Showing 21-30 of 121
Duration
Arrival date
Mr AJ & Mrs VA
UK

"Little Vumbura review"

4 nights Arrived 28 Aug 2016
"The guides at all four camps were excellent, but a special mention should be made of Ona (and one other) who was a delight to be with and to share his knowledge. We even had one evening lesson on how to find one's way using the Southern Cross!

A general comment applicable to all camps about the food. The presentation was first class and the choice remarkable given the difficult supply logistics. All meals were a delight and the temptation to over-indulge difficult to resist. Our only negative comment is that with one exception, the evening meal meat courses were almost always overcooked, or bordering on being so. And conversely, the vegetables had on some occasions merely been shown the water - we quickly learnt to avoid the french beans!

As at all camps, the staff were wonderful" See all these reviews: 14n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms S
East Sussex

"Not as good as I expected"

3 nights Arrived 22 Aug 2016
"After experiencing wonderful accommodation and hospitality at Wilderness Savuti Camp, I was expecting more of the same at Wilderness LV as it has such a good reputation. Sadly I was pretty disappointed on almost every front.

The staff (with a few notable exceptions) were cold and unfriendly, the food mediocre and the game drives poor both with game and guiding. Our guide (I won't name names) was so intent in finding the other couple with us a leopard (which we never found) that he barely managed to point out or stop for anything else. There were lots of birds which we weren't able to stop and look at but the mammals were few and far between. This is not the camps fault, it just happened to be very poor game viewing while we were there. The accommodation needs a serious upgrade, the mosquito net had holes in it, the bedside fan didn't work and the curtains were covered in stains. I know that one doesn't come to a camp for the decor, but for the price of this camp I expected something better.

Now for the positives. The mokoro trips are brilliant. Being on the water was fantastic and something different. We saw lots of tiny reed frogs and were lucky enough to spot a Pell's Fishing Owl! The boatmen/guides (Johannas, Tom & Gee) were friendly, fabulous and made the trips really special. We also did a motor boat trip with Gee and it was super fun. He was engaging and interesting. He'd only recently passed his guide exam and has a great future ahead of him I'm sure.

I'd totally recommend a stay at a water camp with water activities but I personally wouldn't stay here again unless some serious changes were made." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 6n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Poor
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs M
Bracknell

"Little Vumbura review"

3 nights Arrived 9 Aug 2016
"Excellent in every way. Location, guiding, staff, food, atmosphere." See all these reviews: 13n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr T
Weybridge

"A very special place."

3 nights Arrived 25 Jul 2016
"Our experience here was very special. Our first camp in Botswana, Little Vumbura is set on an island accessible only by boat.

The game drives were an adventure with our very experience guide Sam whose tracking abilities were second to none. We found baboons grouped high in a tress to come around the corner to find lions lying in the track blocking our route!

Sam is also a bird lover and found some beautiful diversions to the search for the big 5. We met some really pleasant fellow travellers sharing stories over dinner and around the camp fire. The set up of the camp is informal, relaxed and gently brought all the guests to bond together. We have no idea who the manager was - we didn't need to know. Everything ran so smoothly.

The food was such high quality. The flavours so delicate! So please we stayed here." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Tokyo traveler
Japan

"Cozy Camp with Professional Guide"

3 nights Arrived 6 Jul 2016
"Feedback by Hitoshi E.

Good Points
1 Nice View: I enjoyed the wide open view over the calm water from my cozy tent room. It has changed my image of Africa.

2 Hospitality: Camp staff sang local songs before dinner every night. Apparently, they enjoyed singing themselves. Such natural hospitality made my heart warm.

3 Expertise: Our guide Sam is a real professional. We stayed three nights. He designed our safaris carefully so that we enjoyed every safari during our stay. We saw lions, leopards, and cheetahs, in addition to many other animals.

To be improved: English spoken by manager too fast

The camp manager explained camp rules at first. But because she spoke too fast, I understood only part of them.

Feedback by Kazuko E.

This was our first trip to Africa, and Little Vumbula was the very first camp we visited in Botswana. Everything about the camp was far beyond our expectations—beautiful island location, friendly staff, and good food. Above all, I enjoyed seeing all kinds of animals, great and small, who were so beautiful and graceful in the wilderness. I was also struck by the artistic beauty of the landscape and skies in Africa. Our guide, Sam, was a true professional with an extensive knowledge of the wildlife. Every safari was full of surprises. All in all, our stay in Little Vumbula was FANTASTIC!" See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr R&U
Northwood

"Little Vumbura- the Best there is.."

2 nights Arrived 27 Jun 2016
"Wow - what can i say about Little Vumbura - from the moment we were picked up by Kaye - who has to be the best guide in Africa - to the moment all the staff danced and singed for us as we arrived at the camp, we knew we were in for a treat and we were not disappointed at all.

Kaye was almost talking to the elephants - really was!! - and it was as if they respected and knew him. He has been at Little Vumbura for 28 years and it shows. If you go there, do request him.. We tracked and found leopards, wild dogs, a majestic male lion, buffalos and the elusive sable antelope with ease. My highlights included the fantastic sundowners looking at fisheagles on the trees, the numerous hornbills, egrets, and a really special sighting on our mokoro trip of a malachite kingfisher - which might not sound special but believe me - when on a mokoro in the delta at sunset and a sighting of this amongst the papyrus, it really was special.

Food and facilities were fantastic and talking to the guests, definitely a better bet than vumbura plains lodge. Everyone here was one happy team. We even had an okovango delta trust inspector called Wilson on our guides and it was his job to monitor the preservation of the delta etc and he was assigned there for 3 months.

All the other guides were winding him up e.g. hey wilson - hope you are behaving yourself etc - and it was all very friendly banter.

My son-aged 24y and daughter aged 22y were having a great time taking photos and videos etc..

Met some nice people from all over the world and some interesting conversations with this guest who was a private guide from Zimbabwe about his penchant for game hunting in Zimbabwe - aaarggh - which proved to be a highly interesting and provocative topic for after dinner drinks around a fire - all conducted positively!

An elephant swan across the lagoon and into our camp also and a leopard had left its kill outside our lodge the previous week - so of course we declined the open air bath tube on our patio!!! Some brilliant photos and videos here which i will ask my kids to add to this review.

If in doubt where to stay in the Delta, then just go to Little Vumbura.." See all these reviews: 4n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs A
Utah

"Little Vumbura was like being in paradise"

3 nights Arrived 18 Jun 2016
"We loved the delta and the water. Little Vumbura was a wonderful camp in every way.

The staff went beyond what was expected to provide a most enjoyable stay. We loved being surrounded by the water. Sam was a fantastic guide and Busi was so helpful with every request.

Wonderful three days and nights spent at Little Vumbura" See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia; 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr T
Salt Lake City

"Three nights at Little Vumbura in June"

3 nights Arrived 18 Jun 2016
"Access to this camp is by vehicle and a five minute boat ride. Game drives are four guests per vehicle and four guests per boat. Our guides were Nas and Sam. They were both very good and worked hard to create great sightings and experiences.

The most memorable sighting was of a herd of large, beautiful sable antelope.

We had two exciting and informative trips by boat going at fairly high speed through narrow channels between reeds and papyrus along the banks.

The staff was excellent, happy and professional. The food was excellent.

" See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia; 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs LB
Alderney

"Beautiful Little Vumbura"

3 nights Arrived 26 May 2016
"A wonderful location, the access to the camp by boat was lovely. Not so many game sightings but we did see our first leopard up a tree, tssebee, lechwe and and a glance of a honey badger.

The water excursions were great, especially the mokoro.

Food was excellent, the camp was very friendly and we enjoyed sitting around the fire before dinner and then having the staff singing that our dinner was ready..

Only problem was that it was very cold and windy in the mornings and evenings and the first night our accommodation was cold. The next day we did put up the external covering to the windows and this was much better." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Wantage

"3 day stay"

3 nights Arrived 5 May 2016
"Great camp on an island. Only took a few minutes by boat from where jeeps parked but I understand this can take longer when in full flood.

Naz did a great job guiding and we saw a lot of game - only one lion sighting and one leopard but huge heard of buffalo and plenty of other game. Staff were very welcoming but not as skilled at blending guests as we found elsewhere .Went out on mokoro and boat trip to gain a sense of the delta proper and enjoyed driving through water-covered roads.

Room was of a good standard, nice thermos of hot water for making drinks replenished regularly - outside bath a treat!" See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 5n in Mozambique; 3n in Zambia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 21-30 of 121
96%
121 reviews of Little Vumbura by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
100
18
3
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okavango Delta Safari Reserves

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp's private reserve boasts land and water activities year round, with excellent game-viewing opportunities and access to permanent channels of the north-east Okavango Delta.


93% (184 reviews)
Little Kwara

Little Kwara

Little Kwara is an intimate camp offering enthusiastic guiding on both land- and water-based safaris in an area known for good densities of big game.


93% (177 reviews)
Shinde Camp

Shinde Camp

With experienced staff and a wealth of activities, Shinde offers a traditional safari in an exceptionally varied and wildlife-rich environment.


93% (87 reviews)
Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba, in Botswana's southern Okavango Delta, is a small family friendly safari camp; it offers great dry-land safaris and in our experience consistently delivers good game sightings.


96% (78 reviews)
Sandibe Safari Lodge

Sandibe Safari Lodge

The luxurious Sandibe Okavango Safari Lodge lies in a private concession in the heart of the Okavango Delta, beside Moremi Game Reserve, with superb big-game viewing.


94% (71 reviews)
Kanana

Kanana

In a beautiful part of the Delta, Kanana focuses on fantastic water activities and birding – including exclusive access to an impressive heronry.


95% (67 reviews)
Chitabe Camp

Chitabe Camp

In the southern Okavango Delta, the excellent Chitabe Camp concentrates on dry-land safaris in an area that we've found particularly good for wild dog sightings in recent years.


96% (64 reviews)
Footsteps across the Delta

Footsteps across the Delta

Small and very rustic, Footsteps across the Delta focuses on walking safaris; it also runs a special children’s programme so is particularly suitable for families.


99% (43 reviews)
Tubu Tree Camp

Tubu Tree Camp

A traditional tented camp with a distinctive tree-house feel, Tubu Tree offers some of the best game viewing in the Jao Reserve.


98% (38 reviews)
Splash Camp

Splash Camp

Set in the Kwara Reserve, offering superb wildlife viewing year-round, Splash offers both land and water activities led by guides with a particular knack for tracking big game.


95% (38 reviews)
Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp

Nxabega Tented Camp

Nxabega offers a selection of both land- and water-based activities, plus very good guiding, food and service, but game viewing can be somewhat erratic.


94% (35 reviews)
Vumbura Plains

Vumbura Plains

Indulgently stylish and luxurious, Vumbura Plains offers superb game viewing and birding on an exceptionally varied private reserve.


96% (34 reviews)
Gomoti Plains Camp

Gomoti Plains Camp

Overlooking a tributary of the Gomoti River, Gomoti Plains Camp is a classically designed camp with very comfortable tents in a good game- viewing area.


92% (30 reviews)
Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp is a small safari camp with an informal island feel; it is ideal for water-based activities in the Delta and offers excellent birdwatching.


98% (26 reviews)
Kwetsani Camp

Kwetsani Camp

Deep in the Delta, overlooking a floodplain, Kwetsani Camp is a small, high-end camp with good access to areas for land and water-based activities.


95% (22 reviews)
Mapula Lodge

Mapula Lodge

For an affordable yet varied safari encompassing a range of eco-systems, the traditional Mapula Lodge takes a lot of beating.


94% (19 reviews)
Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp is a well-run, intimate camp in a pretty part of the Okavango, offering a range of activities and the option to spend a morning walking with elephants.


92% (17 reviews)
Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp is a traditional safari camp, best known for the thrilling lion and buffalo interaction that is often found here in broad daylight.


94% (16 reviews)
Stanley's Camp

Stanley's Camp

In a private concession south of Moremi Game Reserve, Stanley's Camp offers 4WD game drives, seasonal water activities and a superb elephant interaction.


92% (15 reviews)
Little Tubu

Little Tubu

Little Tubu is a new, traditional camp with just three tented chalets and a distinctive tree-house feel. The areas around it can be explored by water and land-based activities year round.


100% (12 reviews)
Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp lies amidst stunning Okavango Delta scenery. Come for idyllic mokoro trips and great birdwatching, and accept that big-game sightings here are a bonus.


93% (12 reviews)
Xaranna Okavango Delta Lodge

Xaranna

Xaranna is a plush tented camp amongst the idyllic waterways and islands of the Delta. Each air-conditioned tent has a plunge pool. Water activities and pampering are the focus here.


90% (8 reviews)
Pelo Camp

Pelo Camp

In a pristine wilderness environment deep in the Okavango Delta, the seasonal Pelo Camp is tented yet comfortable, with activities focusing on excursions by mokoro.


97% (7 reviews)
Seba Camp

Seba Camp

Seba Camp is a luxury camp in a lovely location that offers the full range of water and land safari activities, depending on the time of year. This camp is particularly suitable for families.


90% (6 reviews)
Duba Explorers Camp

Duba Explorers Camp

Intimate and elegant, Duba Explorers Camp promises a firm safari focus in a remote corner of the Okavango, led by a team who value the highest guiding and hosting standards.


92% (5 reviews)
Jao Camp

Jao Camp

In a beautiful area with fantastic water activities, Jao combines an idyllic location with high levels of luxury and service, and a top-end spa.


80% (4 reviews)
Abu Camp

Abu Camp

Abu Camp is an exclusive safari camp on the western side of the Botswana's Okavango Delta - offering superb elephant-back safaris and opportunities to walk with them too.


70% (2 reviews)
Okavango Delta Walking Safari

Okavango Walking Safari

The Okavango Delta Walking Safari camps in a secluded Okavango Delta Reserve where there are few roads; the ideal location for a walking trail led by an expert guide.


100% (1 review)
Kiri Camp
No reviews yet
Setari Camp

Setari Camp

Setari Camp stands on an island dotted with palm trees, close to the base of the Okavango’s ‘Panhandle"


No reviews yet
Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge is a luxurious camp with international-style facilities including air conditioning and intercom in each room; offering water based activities in the Okavango Delta.


No reviews yet
Xudum Okavango Delta Lodge

Xudum Delta Lodge

Xudum is a beautifully crafted lodge well situated to explore the Delta waterways. Each air-conditioned suite has a private plunge pool and a lofty viewing deck with a sala that doubles as a 'star bed'.


No reviews yet
Qorokwe Camp

Qorokwe Camp

Luxurious and contemporary, the relatively new Qorokwe Camp is a gem in the Okavango Delta, offering land- and occasionally water-based activities in a prime wildlife area.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa