This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Little Vumbura
Little Vumbura
Little Vumbura
Little Vumbura
Little Vumbura
Little Vumbura

Reviews of Little Vumbura

Wildlife sightings and reviews

121 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Little Vumbura and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 11 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Little Vumbura.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

73% success

Cheetah

55% success

Wild dog

64% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Zebra

91% success

Buffalo

82% success

Wildebeest

50% success

Sable antelope

45% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sitatunga

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

White Rhino

0% success

Showing 31-40 of 121
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs O
Somerset

"Little Vumbura Visit 6"

3 nights Arrived 27 Apr 2016
"Little Vumbura remains one of our firm favourites and one of the 'must visit' lodges in the Okavango. Having requested Kaye as our guide we were delighted to spend another 3 days with him. He is one of the grand old men of Delta guiding and we greatly enjoy his company and knowledge.

Being constrained by space on the island to just 5 tents and surrounded by water, the camp ensures excellent contact with the other guests. Once again we made some good new friends. Oddly and for the first time in 6 visits we failed to see a single lion but were amply rewarded by the full range of Okavango sightings including treed leopard, buffalo writ large and a host of wonderful birds.

A lovely, small camp." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs Shattock
UK

"Great water location even in dry season"

3 nights Arrived 17 Nov 2015
"We were really pleased we booked a trip to Little Vumbura as even in the dry season there was water! The location is fantastic and gives the option to do water activities all year round.

All the staff are friendly and helpful and are present in noticeable numbers (compared to other camps) so all runs very efficiently.

The tented rooms were slightly smaller than other chalet style rooms, but very comfortable.......a little warm in high temperatures though." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr V
Birmingham

"Review"

3 nights Arrived 29 Oct 2015
"This was a slick professional camp which would be expected from Wilderness given their huge operation.

As usual there is potential tension between people who are on Safari for may be the first time and want to see "everything", and those who want a more leisurely and specific drive from the camp may be focusing on a couple of animals. An example overheard is the US couple who did not want to look at wild dog but insisted the guide went to see the lions. Perhaps it is a good idea to advise people they can book private drives for themselves." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs W
Dorset

"Heavenly Island"

3 nights Arrived 11 Oct 2015
"Flying in on a small-plane is a something of an experience. Unlike others we had a longish trip from Kasane but we were on our own for the first part of the flight and the pilot asked us if we wanted to take the direct route or follow the Chobe river and fly low to see the game - guess what we chose!

After landing at the air strip we were met by the guides from the camp and taken by Land-Rover along the dirt roads for about 30 minutes with lots of game viewing en-route. We arrived late morning so we were taking direct to the camp for lunch but other guests who had arrived on the afternoon flight from Maun had gone directly on an afternoon game drive ("from London to Leopards in less than 24 hours"). The last part of the trip is by motor boat as Little Vumbura is on an island. Or arrival at the camp there is a great welcome with cool wet towels and welcome drinks from smiling staff and a super lunch.

Our room could hardly be described as a tent. For sure it had canvas style walls and roof but inside with varnished wooden floor, a huge king-size bed, desk and comfy chairs, en-suite shower room and toilet it looked like a huge stylish hotel room but with great views over the delta. We had a shaded balcony with a sofa and loose chairs and a great view of Kudu grazing just below.

Game viewing is great at Little Vumbura. Each guide is typically allocated two couples but some take larger groups if they arrive together. On our last day we were out on our own with the guide as the other couple had left for their next camp. The concession includes other camps ant Vumbura North and South and so game viewing is shared with others but the guides have strict instructions not to have more than 3 vehicles at each sighting. Regular communication on radio aids tracking of game and we were able to see a lion kill and great extended viewing of a leopard and her cub as well as lots of elephant, giraffes, impala plus wildebeest and buffalo. Altogether the guide identified 60 different birds.

We were lucky to be there for the Monday Boma meal with entertainment by the camp staff. The show was great and they clearly love doing the show even if some are a little shy. The fire and food cooked over open fires was great - tasty and a huge variety, including local dishes to try. Other dinners were also taken communal style with a buffet - ladies first please. There was a good choice of food, manly international style with good flavours and lots of vegetables and garnishes to accompany meats and fish and a vegetarian option.

Breakfast is taken before the morning game drive at 6.30 with a good choice. After the game drive brunch is served with a good range including freshly-cooked eggs. High tea is taken before the afternoon game drive at 4.30 pm but we were glad to take rest and perhaps have a sleep in the heat of the day (especially hot in October while we were there).

The staff at Little Vumbura are super-friendly and we were sad to leave. Most guests only stay for 3 days but you feel that the staff could be your friends for ever, even if they greet the next guests with the same enthusiasm soon after you leave." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
The H Family
Germany

"Beautiful Camp on an Island"

3 nights Arrived 27 Sep 2015
"Little Vumbura is a beautiful camp on an island at the border of the Okavango Delta only accessible by a short boat ride. So you have both: water and mainland activities - game drives, boat cruises, mokoro, fishing. Even during daytime the camp was visited by elephants and we also saw several times Kudus and baboons close-by to our tents.

When we arrived nobody seemed to expect us but after a while somebody of the management appeared and welcomed us. Except of this management and staff was very friendly and helpful, the (only 6!) tented rooms are comfortable and spacious, the food very good. The pool area is fine and the perfect place for cooling down during siesta.

The Vumbura concession is fantastic: a pretty area with different landscapes and great game viewing with varied species. Our guide was Kay, probably one of the most experienced guides around the delta! The boat cruise was nice but we only saw a few herons - as Kay told us late September is not the best time for boat cruises. But the game drives were amazing: We saw beautiful male lions, leopards every day (mother with 2 cubs!), hyena cubs at their den, a pack of wild dogs and also rare sable antelopes, many different bird species and, and, and .....!!!" See all these reviews: 15n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs E
Herts

"Little Vumbura review"

4 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2015
"Lovely camp - our favourite of the 3. Plenty of variation in the activities due to its location in the Delta. Robes and slippers supplied.

Al the staff wore name labels - so very useful. I wish all camps would follow suit.

The Land Rovers were covered and the seats seemed extra padded - very comfy when bouncing about on the "roads" having an "African massage"!

Guides very good." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr P
Switzerland

"Unforgettable lepard on a tre"

3 nights Arrived 22 Jul 2015
"Outstanding location, extraordinary landscapes (mix of dry and wetland) which allow a wonderful mix of activities (car, boat, mokoro).

The lodge is very beautiful, the staff was nice and effective across the board. The service level was outstanding. We experienced marvelous drives (highlights were a lion family and a leopard from very close) during which we learned a lot. The food was absolutely delicious and we enjoyed great dinners with some very interesting co-guests.

Also, we much appreciated our siestas with swimming in the nice pool." See all these reviews: 5n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs R
Richmond

"Overrated"

3 nights Arrived 25 Jun 2015
"Not much to say - good or bad. But the staff need to know when to back off. We aren't there to entertain them and teach them English.... it was impossible to be on your own as soon as you left your tent. Our guide, Kay, has I am sure seen it all and is very experienced (at 58 years old) but we haven't and we found it very odd that he was the first to tuck in to the snacks at sundown drinks!

Great location but there didn't seem to be much wildlife - the mokoro trip was worthwhile but we frankly got bored on the game drives." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Sheffs
USA

"Little Vumbura"

2 nights Arrived 22 May 2015
"It is a very pleasant lodge, with comfortable rooms.

The staff and guides were very good." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs DW
N London

"Little Vumbura review"

2 nights Arrived 16 May 2015
"Little Vumbura provided an appropriate ending to a memorable trip overall.

Our guide, Russell, had a genuine fondness for the animals which he allowed us to see at such close quarters. Highlights here have to include a pair of adorable, 2 month old leopard cubs climbing a tree in which their mother had stored an antelope kill and watching five 6 month old lion cubs working out what to make of their two 2 month old half-siblings being introduced to them for the first time.

We thoroughly enjoyed our first mokoro adventure here, made even more memorable by the fact that Tom, our poler, located an unexpected bonus for us on the island where we stopped for sundowner drinks; a 6 foot black mamba returning inoffensively into its hole in a tree for the winter. This was the story of the day around the campfire that night!

The staff collectively took a personal interest in all their guests throughout their stay, contributing significantly to the special atmosphere of this lodge." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 31-40 of 121
96%
121 reviews of Little Vumbura by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
100
18
3
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okavango Delta Safari Reserves

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp's private reserve boasts land and water activities year round, with excellent game-viewing opportunities and access to permanent channels of the north-east Okavango Delta.


93% (184 reviews)
Little Kwara

Little Kwara

Little Kwara is an intimate camp offering enthusiastic guiding on both land- and water-based safaris in an area known for good densities of big game.


93% (177 reviews)
Shinde Camp

Shinde Camp

With experienced staff and a wealth of activities, Shinde offers a traditional safari in an exceptionally varied and wildlife-rich environment.


93% (87 reviews)
Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba, in Botswana's southern Okavango Delta, is a small family friendly safari camp; it offers great dry-land safaris and in our experience consistently delivers good game sightings.


96% (78 reviews)
Sandibe Safari Lodge

Sandibe Safari Lodge

The luxurious Sandibe Okavango Safari Lodge lies in a private concession in the heart of the Okavango Delta, beside Moremi Game Reserve, with superb big-game viewing.


94% (71 reviews)
Kanana

Kanana

In a beautiful part of the Delta, Kanana focuses on fantastic water activities and birding – including exclusive access to an impressive heronry.


95% (67 reviews)
Chitabe Camp

Chitabe Camp

In the southern Okavango Delta, the excellent Chitabe Camp concentrates on dry-land safaris in an area that we've found particularly good for wild dog sightings in recent years.


96% (64 reviews)
Footsteps across the Delta

Footsteps across the Delta

Small and very rustic, Footsteps across the Delta focuses on walking safaris; it also runs a special children’s programme so is particularly suitable for families.


99% (43 reviews)
Tubu Tree Camp

Tubu Tree Camp

A traditional tented camp with a distinctive tree-house feel, Tubu Tree offers some of the best game viewing in the Jao Reserve.


98% (38 reviews)
Splash Camp

Splash Camp

Set in the Kwara Reserve, offering superb wildlife viewing year-round, Splash offers both land and water activities led by guides with a particular knack for tracking big game.


95% (38 reviews)
Nxabega Okavango Tented Camp

Nxabega Tented Camp

Nxabega offers a selection of both land- and water-based activities, plus very good guiding, food and service, but game viewing can be somewhat erratic.


94% (35 reviews)
Vumbura Plains

Vumbura Plains

Indulgently stylish and luxurious, Vumbura Plains offers superb game viewing and birding on an exceptionally varied private reserve.


96% (34 reviews)
Gomoti Plains Camp

Gomoti Plains Camp

Overlooking a tributary of the Gomoti River, Gomoti Plains Camp is a classically designed camp with very comfortable tents in a good game- viewing area.


92% (30 reviews)
Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp

Jacana Camp is a small safari camp with an informal island feel; it is ideal for water-based activities in the Delta and offers excellent birdwatching.


98% (26 reviews)
Kwetsani Camp

Kwetsani Camp

Deep in the Delta, overlooking a floodplain, Kwetsani Camp is a small, high-end camp with good access to areas for land and water-based activities.


95% (22 reviews)
Mapula Lodge

Mapula Lodge

For an affordable yet varied safari encompassing a range of eco-systems, the traditional Mapula Lodge takes a lot of beating.


94% (19 reviews)
Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp is a well-run, intimate camp in a pretty part of the Okavango, offering a range of activities and the option to spend a morning walking with elephants.


92% (17 reviews)
Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp

Duba Plains Camp is a traditional safari camp, best known for the thrilling lion and buffalo interaction that is often found here in broad daylight.


94% (16 reviews)
Stanley's Camp

Stanley's Camp

In a private concession south of Moremi Game Reserve, Stanley's Camp offers 4WD game drives, seasonal water activities and a superb elephant interaction.


92% (15 reviews)
Little Tubu

Little Tubu

Little Tubu is a new, traditional camp with just three tented chalets and a distinctive tree-house feel. The areas around it can be explored by water and land-based activities year round.


100% (12 reviews)
Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp lies amidst stunning Okavango Delta scenery. Come for idyllic mokoro trips and great birdwatching, and accept that big-game sightings here are a bonus.


93% (12 reviews)
Xaranna Okavango Delta Lodge

Xaranna

Xaranna is a plush tented camp amongst the idyllic waterways and islands of the Delta. Each air-conditioned tent has a plunge pool. Water activities and pampering are the focus here.


90% (8 reviews)
Pelo Camp

Pelo Camp

In a pristine wilderness environment deep in the Okavango Delta, the seasonal Pelo Camp is tented yet comfortable, with activities focusing on excursions by mokoro.


97% (7 reviews)
Seba Camp

Seba Camp

Seba Camp is a luxury camp in a lovely location that offers the full range of water and land safari activities, depending on the time of year. This camp is particularly suitable for families.


90% (6 reviews)
Duba Explorers Camp

Duba Explorers Camp

Intimate and elegant, Duba Explorers Camp promises a firm safari focus in a remote corner of the Okavango, led by a team who value the highest guiding and hosting standards.


92% (5 reviews)
Jao Camp

Jao Camp

In a beautiful area with fantastic water activities, Jao combines an idyllic location with high levels of luxury and service, and a top-end spa.


80% (4 reviews)
Abu Camp

Abu Camp

Abu Camp is an exclusive safari camp on the western side of the Botswana's Okavango Delta - offering superb elephant-back safaris and opportunities to walk with them too.


70% (2 reviews)
Okavango Delta Walking Safari

Okavango Walking Safari

The Okavango Delta Walking Safari camps in a secluded Okavango Delta Reserve where there are few roads; the ideal location for a walking trail led by an expert guide.


100% (1 review)
Kiri Camp
No reviews yet
Setari Camp

Setari Camp

Setari Camp stands on an island dotted with palm trees, close to the base of the Okavango’s ‘Panhandle"


No reviews yet
Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge

Eagle Island Lodge is a luxurious camp with international-style facilities including air conditioning and intercom in each room; offering water based activities in the Okavango Delta.


No reviews yet
Xudum Okavango Delta Lodge

Xudum Delta Lodge

Xudum is a beautifully crafted lodge well situated to explore the Delta waterways. Each air-conditioned suite has a private plunge pool and a lofty viewing deck with a sala that doubles as a 'star bed'.


No reviews yet
Qorokwe Camp

Qorokwe Camp

Luxurious and contemporary, the relatively new Qorokwe Camp is a gem in the Okavango Delta, offering land- and occasionally water-based activities in a prime wildlife area.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa