This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Ms A from Nashville

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

4

Lodges stayed in

11

Excursions taken

0

Vince and Annette in Africa-# 2.

Botswana and 3 other countries between 20 Dec 2011 and 14 Jan 2012

Trip rating: Average
"I think overall we liked Tanzania and Zanzibar better than Botswana and the Seychelles. However, it is like comparing apples to oranges. We have been fortunate in that we have been to Africa before and it is hard not to compare trips. Definitely flying from camp to camp is the way to go.

I think we must have just lucked our with our 1 and only guide in Tanzania, because we just loved him and we were with him for 10 days. If only we could have had ALL of the staff @ Lebala with us for the entire trip. Unfortunately that makes such a big difference, the people you share your time with.

As far as the safari/animal encounters it was great. In Botswana you see far less numbers of animals, but you are able to get much closer and with much fewer fellow tourists around. The part of the trip that we both liked the least was the Seychelles. To many transfers and to many quick overnight stays. The flights times did not make anything easy. We would get in to late the 1st night and then have to leave at the crack of dawn the following morning, missing meals, etc. Or we would get in too early to check in and would have to hang out in the common area for hours until our room was ready. Conveniently breakfast was always over and it wasn't time for lunch. I don't eat much @ 6 am while heading out the door for yet another shuttle/ferry or plane trip.

I know that Air Seychelles REALLY messed up our itinerary, and I think it would have been much better before all the changes. It certainly is beautiful there."

Arranged By Maruska Adye-Rowe


City Lodge OR Tambo

City Lodge OR Tambo

"City Lodge OR Tambo review"

1 night Arrived 20 Dec 2011
"This hotel had the perfect and most convenient location. Truly a 5 minute walk to your bed after a 15hour flight. We had over nighted here 3 different times on our 1 month journey and each visit it was like a welcome home stop.

We very much enjoyed relaxing by the pool. The fitness area was a treat after sitting in a safari jeep for 2 weeks. Exercise!!!!! The inclusive breakfast was delicious and we also loved happy hour drinks and dinner without having to go anywhere except down the hall.

My only recommendation would be free unlimited internet. I would expect that at this type of hotel."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Ilala Lodge

Ilala Lodge

"Ilala Lodge review"

5 nights Arrived 21 Dec 2011
"We liked everything about this hotel. We spent 5 nights here which did end up being a day to long, but we had plenty of time to adjust our jet lag/ body clocks.

The breakfast was superior. The location within walking distance to the falls was perfect. The rest of the town of Victoria Falls does not have ANYTHING worth doing and I wonder if it would have been better to stay in Livingstone. Having said that we did do several side activities and spent a day at the in house spa. The staff was the most enjoyable and friendliest in our 1 month in Africa!! No recommendations to make this lodge better!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Lebala Camp

Lebala Camp

"Lebala Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 26 Dec 2011
"This camp was our favorite. I would have loved to stay another night. Our tracker and guide ( Play and Speedy ) were our favorite on the entire trip. We wish they could have followed us to the rest of the camps. We had so much fun on the drives. Educational, fun and comedian quality entertainment. The tents were extremely luxurious and comfortable.

My ONLY recommendation would be for a more powerful fan."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Xakanaxa

Xakanaxa

"Xakanaxa review"

3 nights Arrived 28 Dec 2011
"This camp had the best food buy a long shot. The location on the river was beautiful and I loved the boat transfer. The sunsets were amazing here. Our tent was very comfortable and the "turbo" room fan was awesome.

The staff at this camp was our least favorite. EVERYONE seemed very tired and bored. We prefer upbeat and outgoing personalities and the staff here was the exact opposite. We did not care for our safari guide at all. My recommendation would obviously be for staff changes."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp

"Kwara Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 31 Dec 2011
"This camp just blends in the middle. Nothing terrible and nothing great. The tents were the least comfortable here. Older, smaller and some water issues with the showers.

I am having a hard time finding anything else to comment on."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Tau Pan Camp

Tau Pan Camp

"Tau Pan Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 3 Jan 2012
"We loved the completely different terrain here. This camp is new and very nice. The common areas and rooms are spacious and have amazing views. The food and staff are all great.

We also enjoyed our fellow guests here the most. VERY friendly people visit this camp. I think this is the hottest place on earth that I have ever been. The only recommendation is for a room fan. HOT. ( 38C/100F )"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
City Lodge OR Tambo

City Lodge OR Tambo

"City Lodge OR Tambo review"

1 night Arrived 5 Jan 2012
"See previous comments."
Good
Image alt

Le Jardin des Palmes, Seychelles (this camp has since closed)

"Le Jardin des Palmes review"

2 nights Arrived 6 Jan 2012
"I would not recommend this place. The location, rooms, service and food were all just average at best. Due to our scheduled arrival time of 8 pm, we missed our Half Board evening meal and were served a cold Nicoise salad ( which I HATE ) delivered to our room. Thankfully we only spent 1 day here.

Also, due to a very early scheduled departure time we missed our Half Board breakfast. The evening before we were brought 4 pieces of cold bread, jam, instant coffee to make ourselves, and 4 pieces of fruit. PLEASE, why bother. The full day we did stay the breakfast and dinner were much to be desired, but at least it was warm and I didn't have to make my own coffee."
Average
Location
Average
Service
Poor
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Terrible
Le Domaine d'Orangeraie

Le Domaine d'Orangeraie

"Le Domaine d'Orangeraie review"

4 nights Arrived 8 Jan 2012
"This hotel is new and luxurious. The pool area is awesome. Not much of a beach on site, however all other beaches are just an easy 10-20 minute bicycle ride away.

The garden suite is 2 stories and feels more like a home than a hotel room. Definitely a "fancy" place and has all the fluff that one would expect. The staff to guest ratio must be 5 to 1. I loved that we could easily walk or bike ride all over the island. We enjoyed a couple different "take away" lunch spots with the locals.

Not much to improve on this place."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Anse Soleil Beachcomber, Seychelles (this camp has since closed)

"Anse Soleil Beachcomber review"

1 night Arrived 12 Jan 2012
"Unfortunately we only spent 1 night here so it is hard to really comment. The room was very spacious and moderately comfortable.

A very nice beach was on site."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Average
City Lodge OR Tambo

City Lodge OR Tambo

"City Lodge OR Tambo review"

1 night Arrived 13 Jan 2012
"See previous comments."
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team