This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Xakanaxa
Xakanaxa
Xakanaxa
Xakanaxa
Xakanaxa
Xakanaxa

Reviews of Xakanaxa

Wildlife sightings and reviews

31 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Xakanaxa and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 21-30 of 31
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs K
Maidstone

"Xakanaxa review"

4 nights Arrived 22 Feb 2011
"This was a camp that grew in our appreciation of it over the four days we stayed. I was a little worried at first in that, being within the Moremi reserve and its restiction on the ability to drive "off road", we might find our drives rather limited. In reality there turned out to be a large number of tracks (some not often used) but still enabling us to legitimately traverse to get our game viewing opportunities.

The boat activity had plenty of scope to get excellent pictures.

Also, we transferred to Xakanaxa from Little Kwara by boat which made a pleasant change from the light aircraft transfers elsewhere in the delta.
" See all these reviews: 14n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr M & Mr E
USA

"Xakanaxa Camp"

2 nights Arrived 4 Jan 2011
"Very plush. Very nice. Good food and good guides" See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
TunbridgeW

"Xakanaxa review"

3 nights Arrived 7 Sep 2010
"I loved the non-intrusive atmosphere - completely low key, but absolutely spot on. Wonderful array of self service drinks.

We had been rather spoiled with the previous wild life experience, and there was not quite the array of life, but Ngande found two groups of lion for us, and a leopard in a tree apart from smaller fry.

Wonderful artefacts decorate the lodge,and i loved the semi-tame bush buck, and the sculptures." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr M
Belgravia

"Xakanaxa review"

3 nights Arrived 7 Sep 2010
"Luxury camp with international clientele." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs B
London

"Xakanaxa review"

3 nights Arrived 25 May 2010
"Whilst our guide, Montsho was very good/experienced, after Lebala the restrictions of being in the national reserve diminished our enjoyment of the wildlife.

We were very impressed with the food which was the best on the trip. The showers were the best too. This was a larger camp and didn't quite have the "inclusive" feel of Lebala and Kwara but the quality of the facilities was the highest of our trip." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs W
Beds

"A very nice camp recently refurbished"

3 nights Arrived 18 Mar 2010
"With few guests we had a guide to ourselves which made birdwatching more relaxed.

The restrictions of the national park did not affect our activities.

The boat safari was a bit disappointing partly due to the high water levels.

The food was excellent with a good variety of interesting meals

Lighting was "interesting" - candles and hurricane lamps with minimal electricity.

Postcards sent from the camp yet to arrive." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
The D party
England

"Xakanaxa review"

2 nights Arrived 9 Mar 2010
"Everything at this camp was excellent. The tents were beautiful and clean and the all the facilities were beautiful. The food was excellent, whole team was brilliant and our guide, Baams was brilliant.

Although we had been told that the dinning area was under construction, we actually preferred the alternative which was much more charming." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
Bristol

"Xakanaxa review"

3 nights Arrived 26 Aug 2009
"The park was beautiful with its huge Mopane trees and water.

The camp was well run, with friendly helpful staff. Our tent was next to a hippo 'bedroom' which made it very noisy (in an exciting way at night). We certainly required our escort to our tent. One night a Genet ran across the branch in front of the tent, and every night we were serenaded by frogs and hippos.

Food was very good. We especially enjoyed the hot toast for breakfast. We also loved the variety of birds who joined us for breakfast.There was an attractive seating area with an open fire for the evenings.

There was a lot of water in the reserve (more than usual for this time of year) but despite that we managed to move around the surrounding area. Sometimes it seemed a boat would have been more appropriate than a jeep.

Our driver/tracker was excellent, and so we saw virtually all the animals possible and a great variety of birds. (Lion, Elephant, Hippo, Crocodile, Leopard, Kudu, Zebra, Giraffe, Buffalo, Lechwe, Wattled Crane, Saddle-Billed Stork, Southern ground hornbill, Pels Fishing Owl) This was despite the fact that in this camp our vehicle was not allowed off road. We were lucky in that the camp was not crowded so we mainly had the vehicle to ourselves.

In particular the leopard was wonderful. A large male, in broad day light moving in an unhurried way. In full view for about 20 mins . He seemed to pose for photos and spent about 7 minutes cleaning himself on the road track.

The boat transfer to Kwara was lovely and made a change from those small cramped planes. Our thanks to Water and Letty." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 4n in Mozambique; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs R
UK

"Xakanaxa jewel of Moremi"

3 nights Arrived 18 Mar 2009
"This camp had a certain sadness about it, due to the fact that the previous managers had just left due to the ill health of Flo.
Our guide had been in his present job for over 20 years and lacked some of the enthusiasm of the guides at the previous camps, however the game viewing was excellent, the highlights being Lionesses with their young, a pride of 12 lions,E lephants, Buffalo, Hippo and Zebra all with their young.

The food here was exceptional as were the rooms and laundry facilities. We enjoyed the plunge pool and the wonderful river aspect. A lovely, lovely setting with great facilities. A great camp run by lovely Lettie and her fantastic cooks.

The guides were more reserved than at previous camps and didn`t initiate conversation with guests." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms G
Lincolnshire

"Great time at Xakanaxa"

3 nights Arrived 25 Feb 2009
"Xakanaxa was my favourite lodge on this trip.

It is set within Moremi National Park which means some restrictions such as no night drives and officially no off-road but this is more than compensated by the abundance of game and the general level of service.

The accommodation was very carefully thought-out and provided all that you needed without being too over the top. A good variety of activities were provided and nothing was too much trouble.

For those looking for a game-rich experience and a very comfortable hospitable lodge this may well be what you are looking for!" See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 21-30 of 31
90%
31 reviews of Xakanaxa by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
18
11
1
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Moremi Game Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Botswana Private Mobile Safari

Private Mobile

The Botswana Private Mobile Safari has no fixed location; it's exclusive to your group and comes with a top professional guide. Expect comfortable camping, great food, and a superb wildlife experience wherever you decide to go.


100% (38 reviews)
Xigera Safari Lodge

Xigera Safari Lodge

Located deep in Botswana's Okavango Delta, Xigera Camp normally focuses on mokoro excursions and motorboat trips, with 4WD game drives when water levels permit.


98% (35 reviews)
Khwai Tented Camp

Khwai Tented Camp

Khwai Tented Cap offers a traditional African safari experience, in very comfortable tented accommodation, in a fantastic game area north of the Moremi Game Reserve.


95% (32 reviews)
Machaba Camp

Machaba Camp

Overlooking the Khwai River to Moremi Game Reserve beyond, the classic Machaba Camp combines comfort with excellent game viewing.


91% (30 reviews)
Sable Alley

Sable Alley

Smart, independent and well-run, Sable Alley overlooks a beautiful, hippo-filled lagoon within the diverse Khwai Private Reserve.


95% (22 reviews)
Okuti

Okuti

Okuti Camp has an innovative design and offers game drives and boat trips in a beautiful, game-rich part of Moremi Game Reserve.


94% (17 reviews)
Mombo Camp

Mombo Camp

Mombo is one of Botswana's most exclusive safari camps, set in a beautiful, remote location within the Moremi Game Reserve and with exceptional game densities.


100% (9 reviews)
Chief's Camp

Chief's Camp

Chief's Camp is situated on Chief's Island, within the Okavango Delta's Moremi Game Reserve. Experience one of Botswana's top game-viewing areas by 4WD and mokoro.


93% (8 reviews)
Little Mombo

Little Mombo

One of Botswana's top safari camps, Little Mombo stands on the north side of Chief's Island, in the heart of the Okavango Delta's Moremi Game Reserve.


97% (6 reviews)
Little Machaba

Little Machaba

Overlooking the Khwai River and Moremi Game Reserve beyond, Little Machaba is a classically designed camp with very comfortable tents in a great game-viewing area.


80% (5 reviews)
Hyena Pan

Hyena Pan

Fairly rustic, and relatively inexpensive, Hyena Pan overlooks a natural waterhole that attracts an almost constant parade of animals.


88% (5 reviews)
Camp Moremi

Camp Moremi

Camp Moremi lies within the Moremi Game Reserve, in one of the best locations for game viewing in Botswana.


100% (5 reviews)
Skybeds

Skybeds

Situated in a private reserve close to Moremi Game Reserve, Skybeds offers a simple yet wonderful opportunity to sleep under the stars and watch wildlife from your bed.


80% (4 reviews)
Sango Safari Camp

Sango Safari Camp

Sango offers comfortable tented accommodation, without some of the frills often found in Botswana's camps, with an area that's scenic and gets excellent, consistent game sightings.


100% (1 review)
Khwai Bush Camp
No reviews yet
Khwai River Lodge

Khwai River Lodge

Khwai River Lodge is a luxurious and well-equipped safari camp, on the northern edge of Moremi Game Reserve. This area isn't exclusive, but it is beautiful and has excellent game.


No reviews yet
Tuludi

Tuludi

Tuludi is a brand new luxury camp, within the Khwai Private Reserve, built on a site under giant leadwood trees and overlooking the Okavango Delta floodplains.


No reviews yet
The Jackal & Hide

The Jackal & Hide

The Jackal & Hide camp is located in the Khwai Private Reserve – which borders the Moremi Game Reserve and Chobe


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa