This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by J & R from Canada

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

4

Excursions taken

0

My Nov 2017 trip

Botswana between 15 Nov 2017 and 29 Nov 2017

Trip rating: Excellent
"This was our second trip to Botswana and we used different companies for our lodgings to compare. Overall each company has it's strengths and we were very happy with each one. We had very different experiences than our last trip (Both were great) and although we're not Safari experts we now feel well rounded and somewhat experienced with different camps/locations.

November seems to be great value we missed heavy rains (One torrential downpour on each trip) and saw most animals at nearly every camp. We met some great people both staff and guests that we will always remember fondly.

Our "once in a lifetime" trip turned into "Twice in a lifetime" and who knows................

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

We chose in advance to deal with Megan as she was very helpful when we researched our first trip in 2014. We ultimately used a different company but remembered Megans advice and suggestions. Pricing was very close this time around although one thing that hurts us is the surcharge on credit cards. We're not used to that in North America. Expert Africa was higher priced by almost exactly the 2% but we really did want to deal with Megan and were very happy with both her patience as we made decisions and the overall package she helped us put together. We are already recommending Megan to friends."

Feedback response

We are thrilled that these travellers so enjoyed their return visit to Botswana, and that the weather cooperated! November is always a little bit of a lottery in terms of what one might expect from the weather and thus the game viewing - hence the lower prices than Jun/Jul-Oct - but we're delighted that their gamble paid off and the game viewing was so good.

On a practical note, we're delighted to be able to advise that from January 1st, 2018 we will be dropping the 2% charge for any credit card payments made. We hope this will help make us even easier to book for our travellers from North America, where such supplements are not usual.

Arranged By Megan Green


Sable Alley

Sable Alley

"Sable Alley review"

3 nights Arrived 15 Nov 2017
"Our Visit was mid November. No complaints everything worked out well. We didn't know much about this location as it is relatively new. Staff seemed a little confused at times but always willing and eager to help. Game viewing was good overall although there were long periods without too much action.

Our enthusiasm may have been a little muted as we arrived from an extremely busy work week and 46 hr 6 flight journey.

We would recommend Sable Alley to other travelers."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Chief's Camp

Chief's Camp

"Chief's Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 18 Nov 2017
"Knowing what we did before arriving at Chief's camp we felt that we really didn't want it to be our favorite of the 4 camps on our trip but it probably was although it was a very close decision with Kwando Lagoon Camp. The camp itself is luxury in the middle of nowhere almost too luxurious to class as a "Safari Camp".

ALL staff at Chief's were excellent. Much more confident with their roles and client interaction than any other camp we have stayed at. Food was varied and excellent with regular check ups from the Chef & wait staff without being too crowding.

Our guide Carter was by far the best of the trip. We had a few wishes on our list and Carter delivered to a tee. His bush and animal knowledge is second to none.

We saw Hyena, Dogs, Zebra, Giraffes, Elephant, Baboons, Monkeys, Impala, Lechwe, & Warthogs, That was just in camp. On our drives we added all cats and both Black & White Rhino to the list. We wouldn't hesitate to include Chief's Camp on a return agenda."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp

"Baines' Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 22 Nov 2017
"Baines Camp was the most rustic of our trip. We knew that beforehand and were not disappointed by anything. As always staff were great (although a little confused at times). As rustic as Baines is they managed to provide the best meals of the trip and the cleanest best maintained pool we have seen at any camp. Their menu was very similar to Chief's with hot breakfast options as well as three options for most meals. Compared to other camps Baines suffered a little with the view from the rooms. We looked out at 6ft high reeds and with this our view was very limited. This also meant that afternoons were very limited.

Other guests seemed to really enjoy the starlight bed & bath options although we didn't try either. Our guide was Max who in comparison to other guides seemed very slow and methodical but with a great eye. Max found two leopards at great distance that I wouldn't have seen if they were fluorescent orange. Sightings were good but few."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Average
Lagoon Camp

Lagoon Camp

"Lagoon Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 26 Nov 2017
"This was our first experience of a Kwando camp and we weren't disappointed. We had been spoilt at our previous two camps with full breakfasts but soon settled into the porridge, toast and muffins at Lagoon. There seemed to be greater emphasis on the actual Safari here than other camps including starting 30 mins earlier every morning.

There is a great social feel to this camp with both staff and guests seeming more comfortable around the fire first thing in the morning and after dinner. Great location right on the river with hippos and crocs galore. We saw much more game variety here than other camps on this trip including a few animals we hadn't seen before (Sable, Civet, Bat Eared Foxes).

While there were a few instances of driving around with not much too see the sightings were great and the tracker (James) made a real difference to finding the predators. The interaction between guides seemed stronger at this camp when sightings were shared, the only competition was from a couple of guests (As in "My guide found it first).

Lagoon is a very strong contender as one of our favorite camps and we would highly recommend."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team