This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by AK from USA

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

7

Excursions taken

1

Namibia Aug/Sept 2021 trip

Namibia between 19 Aug 2021 and 7 Sep 2021

Trip rating: Excellent
"We enjoyed Namibia, especially during Covid times when there are so few people.

One lodge, Ai Aiba was disappointing and felt “low end”- our travel consultant should have suggested a different place.

The other issue was with Etendeka and Tok Tokkie: my wife and I found the description quite misleading: there is nothing Luxury about Tok Tokkie, and it should have been presented as a camping trip with no tent. I believe that Etendeka is similar. Expert Africa should have made it very clear that conditions are very basic and that it can get freezing cold, windy and sandy at night and the bed is a very basic foldable one, and this was not conveyed to us clearly. While Mandulea was also not luxurious, it did have some basic comforts like light, real bed, shower and toilettes which worked well for us.

On the positive side, Onguma and Hoodia exceeded our expectations and were superb."

Feedback response

We’re delighted these travellers enjoyed their trip in Namibia – although we are also sorry that not all of its elements met their expectations.

We pride ourselves on our first-hand, in-depth knowledge as well as the level of detail on this website. We are very aware some of the ‘trails’ accommodations originally included in this trip – specifically at Etendeka Walking Trail and Tok Tokkie Trails – are amongst the most basic that we offer anywhere in Africa. Clearly, on this occasion, we failed to get this across to these travellers.

Their comments have also reminded us that cold snaps in July-Sept can have a significant impact on our traveller’s experiences. Going forward, we resolve to flag this up even more prominently, particularly to those travellers choosing ‘more basic’ accommodations like the Etendeka Walking Trail and Tok Tokkie Trails.

Arranged By Tom Morris


Am Weinberg Boutique Hotel

Am Weinberg Boutique Hotel

"Am Weinberg Boutique Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 20 Aug 2021
"Very comfortable rooms. Easy access.

Several good restaurants within walking distance."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

"Onguma Tented Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 21 Aug 2021
"One of the best lodges that we stayed in. Very comfortable rooms, excellent food.

Game drive to Etosha was wonderful and so was sundowner."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Mundulea Reserve

Mundulea Reserve

"Mundulea Reserve review"

3 nights Arrived 23 Aug 2021
"Bruno, the owner is a fascinating person. A unique opportunity to walk and feel nature as it really is.

Tents are comfortable but not meant for luxury seeking people. Good food.

A very memorable experience if one likes to walk."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Ai Aiba Lodge

Ai Aiba Lodge

"Ai Aiba Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 26 Aug 2021
"The lodge was disappointing, especially the food (very basic and not very healthy).

The rooms are too close to each other so one can hear conversations.

On the positive, the location is beautiful and the staff was very friendly and helpful.

The lodge is showing its age, though everything in the room did work."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Terrible
Facilities
Good
The Delight

The Delight

"The Delight review"

2 nights Arrived 30 Aug 2021
"We were positively surprised: large and very comfortable room, excellent breakfast (one of the best in trip), helpful staff.

We found the town of Swakopmund quite depressing and lifeless (could be as a result of covid curfew), so one night could have been enough."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Tok Tokkie Trails

Tok Tokkie Trails

"Tok Tokkie Trails review"

2 nights Arrived 1 Sep 2021
"We enjoyed the trail and Sebastian, the guide was outstanding.

However, this is not a luxury hike: it is a camping trip with no tent, so expect cold temperatures and blasting sand at night. The beds were not very comfortable.

On the other hand, the night sky was wonderful."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Poor
Food
Good
Facilities
Average
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

"Hoodia Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 3 Sep 2021
"The best lodge on our trip!

Excellent rooms, food, location. Wonderful staff.

Thomas, the manager, gives the place a personal touch."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Hoodia Sossusvlei excursion

Hoodia Sossusvlei excursion

"Hoodia Sossusvlei excursion review"

4 Sep 2021 • All-day excursion

Excellent guide, lunch stop and location was superb too.
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team