This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Tok Tokkie Trails
Tok Tokkie Trails
Tok Tokkie Trails
Tok Tokkie Trails

Reviews of Tok Tokkie Trails

Wildlife sightings and reviews

34 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Tok Tokkie Trails and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Sep-2018, 3 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Tok Tokkie Trails.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Aardvark

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Giraffe

0% success

Meerkat

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Showing 21-30 of 34
Duration
Arrival date
Miss S
Cambridgeshire

"Tok Tokkie Trails review"

2 nights Arrived 19 Nov 2012
"Our only negative comment was that we were told to arrive at 2pm latest but we arrived at noon ( so as not to be late) only to be told that we wouldn't be setting off until 16.30 as it was so hot. I got the impression this wasn't unusual at this time of year - and it makes perfect sense but there was nothing to do at the Tok Tokie base, one airless room and a long wait - it would have been better to have been told to turn up at 4pm ( I fed this back to them already).

Other than that brilliant and wonderful." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs M
Suffolk

"Tok Tokkie highlight of our holiday"

2 nights Arrived 9 Oct 2012
"The best introduction to the Namibia desert that you could ever want. Our guide Sebastien was extremely knowledgeable on the plants, birds, animals and all desert adapted creatures that we came across - as well as a wicked sense of humour. We were lucky in that there were just four if us on our three day track, ourselves and a similar aged German couple with whom we quickly gelled. The nights were cold but wrapped up in our warm duvet /sleeping bag off the ground on camp beds we were very warm. The second night was one of the coldest October nights the staff could remember; out came the hot water bottles and we were grateful for the ponchos provided at dinner.

The walking is gentle even during the heat of the day though walking on sand can get a little tiring. Part of the second day is up in the hills so the ground is a bit more solid. The food provided by our flirty cook Jocasta was excellent and to hear her telling us what we were to eat in her local click language was an education. Waking just before dawn with a hot cup of tea and fresh hot water was very welcome as watched the sun rise on the distant hills.

Sleeping under the stars with no light pollution is something very rare in our crowded world. Sebastien was a mine of information about the sky above our heads.

The tracks in the sand showed that there is an abundance of wildlife in the harshest of conditions and we were privileged to witness four types of beetles (Tok Tokkie) a number of birds including the very rare Dune Lark, though disappointed not to see a Golden Mole. A visit to the Nadeet centre showed us what can be achieved in a sustainable way; we have a lot to learn in the more industrial part of the world.

Tok Tokkie is a must for anyone wanting a real understanding of the desert. I have marked excellent for all the items though you must remember that accommodation is under the stars with no walls or ceiling for privacy.

One word of warning though! If you drive south on the C27 you can't miss the big sign pointing west and saying that Tok Tokkie is 14 km further on. Well the gate under the sign was full of private no entry signs with no indication that it was the start of the track up to the Tok Tokie farmhouse. So we carried on down the C27! When we got to the junction with the D 826 we realised our mistake and retraced our steps. Yes you go through the gate under the sign which is at the junction with the D 827. Make sure though that you fill your tank at Solitaire as there is no fuel at the junction of the C27 and the D827 any more." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr M & Mrs K
UK

"Tok Tokkie Trails review"

2 nights Arrived 23 Jun 2012
"One of the highlights of our trip. Extremely professionally organised and well guided. Spectacular scenery.

Sleeping under the stars for 2 nights in the sand dunes was very special." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
V group
Italy

"THE experience in Namibia"

2 nights Arrived 8 Aug 2011
"Tok tokkie trails is the best way to enjoy Namib Desert. You get to see it with expert guides and with an excellent service. Of course you must understand you will sleep under the stars and you won't stay in luxurious camps, but while essential, the camps are surprisingly comfortable.
Food is home prepared and really excellent, a great attention is put in details.
The sky in the desert nights is filled with star, and it's a sight you can't forget easily.
After this experience, Sossusvlei was not-so-special for us (it's amazing, but it feels over crowded). I wouldn't miss this experience for any reason!" See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs D
Worcester

"Desert camping"

2 nights Arrived 25 Jul 2010
"We were hoping this was going to be a highlight of our trip and we were not wrong. Domingo was a great guide and the other guests (there were 8 of us in total) proved to be excellent company. It was obvious that everything had been very well planned. Each day's walking was not too strenous but long enough to give you a sense of achievement and the small flora and fauna were fascinating, from digging for spiders to making resurrection bush tea. We had bush showers with a view and excellent evening meals from the back-up staff at the campsites. And what 'rooms'! On the first night there was a full moon so we had a clear view of the desert landscape from our camp beds all night - absolutely stunning. A pity we had to have tents the second night because of a hyena alert. Highly recommended." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Winchester

"Tok Tokkie Trails review"

2 nights Arrived 16 May 2010
"Great time and introduction to the smaller desert dunes.. Excellent guide in Mike. Good walks, well organised." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs A
Notts

"Good fun in the desert"

2 nights Arrived 21 Oct 2009
"This trail is not a stroll in the park and you need to be fairly fit as most of the walking is up and down sand dunes. Think carefully of the time of the year as it can be very hot. Having said that don't be concerned about sleeping outside under the stars. There is nothing to worry about other than in our case a sandstorm and rain and even in this the wonderful Anna and Frans were able to cook us a lovely meal and serve it to us in a tent.

We would advsie that you walk in long trousers and not shorts. Domingo was a wonderful guide and it was really enjoyable to be able to take the time to enjoy the desert scenery and and smaller creatures.

There were only four on our trip and maybe this was why we were woken up each morning with a hot drink in bed and fresh water to wash in. Showers and toilet facilities were excellent, numerous and private." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms J & Mr R
Bath

"Fabulous trek through the desert"

2 nights Arrived 3 Jul 2009
"This was a highlight of our trip and definitely to be recommended. The Tok Tokkie Trail is very special.

There were four of us on our trip along with our guide Dijongo. It was lovely to be walking through all the scenery we'd driven through and we learned so much about 'life' in the desert. We were very well looked after - the food was great and our 'rooms' though simple were lovely.

There were so many thoughtful touches - we were given ponchos and hot water bottles to keep us warm at dinner and in our camp beds, we were brought cups of tea in bed in the morning before sunrise and at lunch there was even a tent with deckchairs for us to take shelter from the midday sun. The walking isn't difficult but you have to be reasonably fit." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs W
Sedbergh

"Unmissable Tok Tokkie Trail"

2 nights Arrived 24 Jun 2009
"This was an amazing three days led by Domingo who was an excellent guide. The staff were all so helpful and fun to be with. We appreciated the hot water bottles, the morning tea served to us in our sand dune and the hot water for washing.

One of the highlights was when Domingo produced coffee and muffins out of his rucksack mid morning. We appreciated Domingo's knowledge of the area and also enjoyed discussing life in Namibia with him. There were seven of us on the trip but the other french family of four had their own french guide with them. This meant we were able to have Domingo to ourselves for much of the walking.

We also enjoyed our visit to the NADEET centre on the way back to the farmhouse. The food was very good considering that it was produced in the middle of nowhere." See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs SB
N London

"Tok Tokkie Trails review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Oct 2008
"We loved our 2 days and nights in the dunes of the Namib Naukluft.

Alex made a good guide, pleasant, knowledgeable, and very keen to share his love of the country and show us fauna and flora.

Eating and Sleeping under the stars is magical - a never to be forgotten experience." See all these reviews: 12n in South Africa; 5n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Showing 21-30 of 34
99%
34 reviews of Tok Tokkie Trails by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
33
1
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in NamibRand Nature Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Wolwedans Dunes Lodge

Wolwedans Dunes Lodge

Wolwedans Dunes Lodge is a beautiful camp in a stunning setting on the NamibRand Reserve. Stay here for a luxurious escape into the wilderness.


95% (79 reviews)
Wolwedans Dune Camp

Wolwedans Dune Camp

Small and intimate with excellent service and great guiding, Wolwedans Dune Camp is a luxurious escape in a beautiful location.


98% (56 reviews)
Sossusvlei Desert Lodge

Sossusvlei Desert Lodge

Sossusvlei Desert Lodge is located on the NamibRand Reserve and offers a range of activities as well as high levels of comfort and service.


99% (36 reviews)
Wolwedans Boulders Camp

Wolwedans Boulders

Hidden away in a remote corner of the NamibRand enjoy good food and attentive service at the exclusive Wolwedans Boulders Camp.


97% (7 reviews)
Wolwedans Private Camp

Wolwedans Priv. Camp

With just three bedrooms, private chef and private guide, Wolwedans Private Camp offers for peace and seclusion in a stunning setting.


100% (1 review)
Kwessi Dunes

Kwessi Dunes

Kwessi Dune Lodge is a new property in the NamibRand Nature reserve promising to offer a luxurious stay in the wonderfully remote NamibRand Reserve.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa