This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mrs & Mr H from Dundas

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

9

Excursions taken

1

My Sep 2015 trip

Namibia between 6 Sep 2015 and 21 Sep 2015

Trip rating: Excellent
"All in all this was a highly memorable and enjoyable trip.

The only thing we would perhaps have changed was to get a 4 wheel drive or AWD drive vehicle to give us greater peace of mind driving on gravel or sandy roads. Our thanks to Maruska for her excellent suggestions for lodges and very rapid responses to all our queries."

Arranged By Maruska Adye-Rowe


Villa Violet

Villa Violet

"Villa Violet review"

1 night Arrived 6 Sep 2015
"Good location in west Windhoek.

The room was very comfortable and breakfast was good.

It was very close to a good restaurant for dinner - Joe's Beers"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

"Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch review"

1 night Arrived 7 Sep 2015
"WE had a good buffet dinner and enjoyed the evening game drive and morning walk with the bushmen"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Tok Tokkie Trails

Tok Tokkie Trails

"Brilliant two days on Tok Tokie Trails"

2 nights Arrived 8 Sep 2015
"This was probably the highlight of our trip.

Our guide, Ricardo, was fantastic and the experience of sleeping under the stars will never be forgotten. We were lucky to have 2 very clear nights - although the nights were quite cold we were toasty warm in our bed rolls. The hot water bottles in bed at night and the wake up calls with tea in the morning were a lovely touch!

The changing light over the desert landscape in morning and evening was a photographer's dream!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Food
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Sossus Dune Lodge

Sossus Dune Lodge

"Sossus Dune Lodge - great location"

2 nights Arrived 10 Sep 2015
"The location in the park is a big plus, enabling guests to get to the dunes by sunrise and visit Dead Vlei before many other people arrive.

You can also climb a dune to watch the sunset without worrying about getting to the park gate before closing time. Unfortunately it was quite cloudy and windy when we were there, but we still enjoyed the early morning trip to Big Daddy and Dead Vlei and the picnic breakfast."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

"Cornerstone Guest House - very helpful owners"

2 nights Arrived 12 Sep 2015
"The owners of the Cornerstone Guest House were very helpful and friendly and the breakfast was excellent.

These travellers took a day trip to the coastal areas and Sandwich Harbour, south of Swakopmund, during their stay. Here's what they said about it:
We had a fantastic day trip to Sandwich Harbour with Turnstone Tours. Our guide, Mike, was excellent - very knowledgeable and highly entertaining.

We drove to Sandwich Harbour along the beach from Walvis Bay and returned over the high dunes - a lot of fun. We certainly recommend this trip."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Coast and Sandwich Harbour

Coast and Sandwich Harbour

"Fantastic trip to Sandwich Harbour"

13 Sep 2015 • All-day excursion

We had a fantastic day trip to Sandwich Harbour with Turnstone Tours. Our guide, Mike, was excellent - very knowledgeable and highly entertaining.

We drove to Sandwich Harbour along the beach from Walvis Bay and returned over the high dunes - a lot of fun. We certainly recommend this trip.
Excellent
Camp Kipwe

Camp Kipwe

"Camp Kipwe review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2015
"Camp Kipwe was one of our favourite camps. We liked the location, hidden in a rocky outcrop.

The rooms were comfortable - not luxurious - but we loved the outdoor bathroom among the huge rocks. The viewpoint and bar on top of the rocks were perfect for watching sunsets.

In addition to doing a trip to see the desert elephants we also went to the afternoon tour to Twylfontein and the Organ Pipes, which are both worth seeing (although one can easily drive oneself there).

These travellers took a morning guided excursion to see desert-adapted elephants during their stay at Camp Kipwe. Here's what they said about it:
We really enjoyed the morning trip to see the desert elephants - we spent a lot of time watching a herd of them, including several young ones. One of the males came and welcomed us by resting his tusks on the hood of the jeep and waving his trunk!

The elephants had all been given names by the guides and were very accustomed to the vehicles, so we could get close to them without bothering them."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

"Excellent service at Ongava Tented Camp"

2 nights Arrived 16 Sep 2015
"The Ongava Tented Camp had excellent food and service and the guided game drives were extremely good, both in their own reserve and in Etosha.

We were the only passengers in the jeep for two of the three game drives we did and saw lots of animals, including rhinos and lions in the Ongava reserve. The only negative point was that, at the time of year we visited (September) the camp surroundings, which consisted mainly of mopane trees, were just dry and brown, so not attractive, but the lodge has no control over that!"
Excellent
Location
Average
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

"Lovely stay and Onguma Tented Camp"

2 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2015
"This was probably our favourite lodge.

The rooms were really lovely with a view over an attractive water hole. We did an evening sundowner drive in the lodge's own reserve, which I can't recommend as we saw very little.

We drove ourselves in Etosha during the daytime and saw a lot of game at various water holes."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Great hiking at Erongo Wilderness Lodge"

1 night Arrived 20 Sep 2015
"We loved the location of Erongo Wilderness Lodge, and the tented rooms built along the side of a rocky hill.

There were some lovely walks in the area.

We only had one night at this lodge on our way to Windhoek, and would have been happy to have stayed for a second night!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team