This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Tok Tokkie Trails
Tok Tokkie Trails
Tok Tokkie Trails
Tok Tokkie Trails

Reviews of Tok Tokkie Trails

Wildlife sightings and reviews

38 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Tok Tokkie Trails and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Sep-2018, 5 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Tok Tokkie Trails.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

100% success

Zebra

50% success

Giraffe

33% success

Aardvark

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Meerkat

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Showing 11-20 of 38
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs E
Nyon

"This is a once-in-lifetime experience"

2 nights Arrived 3 Sep 2017
"Tok Tokkie Trails is a once-in-a-lifetime experience, you will remember this trip for the rest of your life. Our guide, Sebastian, was great, he took care of everybody, making sure the speed of the walk was suitable for all the participants, showed us the fauna and flora of the desert.

We all loved sleeping under the stars on our stretcher bed, also loved the bucket shower, I one day had my shower in front of an oryx!

One suggestion would be to have some hot breakfast in the morning, we went there end of August, second night was chilly, hot breakfast could have helped to warm up." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs H & Mr M
Madrid

"Best glamping"

2 nights Arrived 30 Aug 2017
"We loved the walking, sleeping under the stars, the guiding, star gazing and the "suite".

Our group was excellent company (only 5 people).

Only minus was the food, it was fine, but we expected may be more." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr AB
SW London

"Must do excursion"

2 nights Arrived 25 May 2017
"Tok Tokkie is a wonderful way to start one's Namibian experience. It is a quided walk, starting around 330 pm, after lunch on Day 1, walking a full day on Day 2, and arriving back in the Tok Tokkie HQ around 9 am on Day 3. The walking itself is very easy, with small distances and no particular elevation losses or gains. During our walk the maximum day time temperature was in the late 20s celsius so not troubling.

What makes the experience so enjoyable and special is the guide (Sebastian was our guide) and the wonderful camps, where one sleeps under a blaze of stars (following Sebastian's very informative star-gazing talk), the first time when the Milky Way really was milky, in very comfortable camp beds, complete with very welcome hot water bottles. Food is plentiful and excellent, served by very welcoming staff. The long drop loos (complete with signalling devices to indicate vacancy or otherwise) and hot bucket showers, both open to the African plains but secluded from one's fellow guests, were a tremendous "Out of Africa" experience.

It does get cold at night and there was one breakfast where there was a distinct run on the hot porridge, but one rapidly warms up and are relieved that the long lunch break on Day 2 is under canvas. We were woken one night by a nearby oryx grazing and everyone was very excited on the second night by the mournful call of a passing hyena. Tok Tokkie was a high point of a holiday complete with highpoints!" See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mrs J
Exeter

"Luxury under African skies at Tok Tokkie"

2 nights Arrived 16 May 2017
"A unique experience made even more memorable by Sebastiaan our wonderful & knowledgeable guide.

Everything from beetles to Betelgeuse ! NaDeet also well worth the visit." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 1n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
Wales

"Amazing beyond words"

2 nights Arrived 24 Apr 2017
"We shared this amazing experience with a family who thought they were going to a luxury lodge!

We and they loved sleeping under the stars despite a few drops of rain in the desert. Guiding really good. Creatures of the desert fascinating.

Filo pastry at dinner in the desert. Bucket shower excellent. Sharing your "bedroom" with oryx and tok tokkie beetles.

We missed this experience 15 years ago and are so glad we went back to do it." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 12n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr N
King's Lynn

"Tok Tokkie Trails review"

2 nights Arrived 15 Nov 2016
"Fantastic.

We had a great guide, Ricardo who shared his knowledge of the Namib Desert with us and sleeping under the stars in the desert was an unforgetable experience." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs L
Oxon

"The real desert"

2 nights Arrived 25 Apr 2016
"This was the real highlight of our trip.

Sebastian, our guide and his team are excellent at being host/guide/cook/waiter etc.. The walking was not arduous - we could have done a couple of days more. The beauty of the desert is breathtaking up close and on foot and a privilege to experience.

We can't recommend it highly enough." See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia; 5n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs & Mr H
Dundas

"Brilliant two days on Tok Tokie Trails"

2 nights Arrived 8 Sep 2015
"This was probably the highlight of our trip.

Our guide, Ricardo, was fantastic and the experience of sleeping under the stars will never be forgotten. We were lucky to have 2 very clear nights - although the nights were quite cold we were toasty warm in our bed rolls. The hot water bottles in bed at night and the wake up calls with tea in the morning were a lovely touch!

The changing light over the desert landscape in morning and evening was a photographer's dream!" See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Miss & Mr D
UK

"Excellent walking"

2 nights Arrived 6 Aug 2015
"Loved the camp sites - showers and toilets were brilliant. Sleeping on camp beds under the stars was unforgettable - real highlight of our trip. Walking was good (although hot and we were in winter!) and very enjoyable, guide was excellent and very knowledgeable.

Camp staff were also really friendly and accommodating. Loved having lunch on the middle day in the middle of nowhere (and the rest afterwards!) Desert scenery was very spectacular!

Would definitely recommend this activity." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr M
Rickmansworth

"Highly recommend Tok Tokkie Trails!"

2 nights Arrived 24 Jul 2015
"A fantastic experience walking through the NamibRand Reserve in the company of our excellent guide Sebastian and camping under the stars. We learned so much about the environment and wildlife and the scenery is spectacular.

The 2 camps we stayed in were in beautiful locations and the team did extremely well serving up tasty food, setting up our camp beds and even providing hot water bottles. Going to bed under the stars and waking up to see the sunrise (with cups of tea in bed provided) was fantastic.

If you go in July/August prepare for it to be very cold at night - the Tok Tokkie leaflet can be a bit misleading as to what you need to bring. Take lots of warm layers, down jackets are ideal, hats and gloves.

Lastly we have a family member who is gluten intolerant and despite the challenging catering conditions she was given gluten free bread, cakes and meals whenever food was provided.

If you like getting close to nature and walking don't miss this trip!" See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 11-20 of 38
99%
38 reviews of Tok Tokkie Trails by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
36
2
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in NamibRand Nature Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Wolwedans Desert Lodge

Wolwedans Desert Lodge

Wolwedans Desert Lodge is a beautiful camp in a stunning setting on the NamibRand Reserve. Stay here for a luxurious escape into the wilderness.


95% (81 reviews)
Wolwedans Dune Camp

Wolwedans Dune Camp

Small and intimate with excellent service and great guiding, Wolwedans Dune Camp is a luxurious escape in a beautiful location.


98% (66 reviews)
Sossusvlei Desert Lodge

Sossusvlei Desert Lodge

Sossusvlei Desert Lodge is located on the NamibRand Reserve and offers a range of activities as well as high levels of comfort and service.


99% (39 reviews)
Wolwedans Boulders Camp

Wolwedans Boulders

Hidden away in a remote corner of the NamibRand enjoy good food and attentive service at the exclusive Wolwedans Boulders Camp.


97% (7 reviews)
Kwessi Dunes

Kwessi Dunes

Kwessi Dune Lodge is a new property in the NamibRand Nature reserve promising to offer a luxurious stay in the wonderfully remote NamibRand Reserve.


100% (4 reviews)
Wolwedans Plains Camp

Wolwedans Plains Camp

With just three bedrooms, private chef and private guide, Wolwedans Plains Camp offers for peace and seclusion in a stunning setting.


100% (1 review)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa