This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by A and A from Cossington

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

11

Excursions taken

0

My Aug 2018 trip

Namibia between 30 Aug 2018 and 16 Sep 2018

Trip rating: Excellent
"Namibia was wonderful - so much more colourful than we expected.

The typical Namibian lodge we stayed in was in a good location (a bit of a drive from the main road), had well appointed rooms with a view, a warm welcome, a sundowner spot or drive, a 'signature' activity, and a nice dinner and breakfast. Service in general was good everywhere. 2 night stops in most locations worked well - we generally needed a full day to do whatever the 'signature' activity was.

Our highlights were Fish River canyon - it's a long, long drive south, but really worth it, Tok Tokkie Trails - sleeping under the stars, and Etosha - Okaukuejo camp facilities weren't great, but the water hole made it so much better than staying outside the park.

4WD car essential, together with an ipod for the long drives and in September in the south the nights were very cold - need jacket and a hat!

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Can't fault anything about the trip.

We had a couple of problems - delayed bag, forgotten Kindle, on both of which we were helped by the local team - thank you!"

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


River Crossing

River Crossing

"Good first stop"

1 night Arrived 30 Aug 2018
"Convenient first stop after a long trip."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

"Stopover en route to fish River Canyon"

1 night Arrived 31 Aug 2018
"Bagatelle is typical of many Namibian lodges - good location (a bit of a drive from the main road), well appointed room with a view, warm welcome, a sundowner drive, a couple of activities, in their case cheetah feeding and a nature drive, and a nice dinner and breakfast.

The stand out element of the typical lodge 'package' was the food - some of the best we had in Namibia."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Fish River Lodge

Fish River Lodge

"It's a long drive but worth it!!"

2 nights Arrived 1 Sep 2018
"A long drive south, but the canyon is amazing. Stunning views of the canyon from the lodge and all rooms.

The lodge do a drive into the canyon which was excellent, and there are two well marked walking trails along the rim east and west to get the best views of the canyon.

Visiting in early September we needed plenty of clothes to keep warm in the evening, both in our room and in the lodge itself!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Namtib Desert Lodge

Namtib Desert Lodge

"Intimate friendly lodge"

1 night Arrived 3 Sep 2018
"Namtib Desert lodge is in a good location on a clockwise tour from fish River heading north.

There's a very warm welcome, a sundowner spot, and a friendly dinner and breakfast.

The stand out element of the typical lodge 'package' was the dinner around a single big table with our hosts."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Tok Tokkie Trails

Tok Tokkie Trails

"Sleeping under the stars"

2 nights Arrived 4 Sep 2018
"A highlight of our trip to Namibia, we loved every minute.

The walk wasn't too strenuous, the scenery was stunning, the guide was caring, funny and interesting, the organisation faultless and the food was amazing (from a tiny field kitchen!). And to top it all we spent 2 nights staring at and sleeping under the stars

We went in early September, and the weather was unseasonably cold, so the evenings were very chilly - need a jacket, hat and gloves."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Desert Homestead Outpost

Desert Homestead Outpost

"Great base to go to Sossusvlei"

2 nights Arrived 6 Sep 2018
"Desert Homestead outpost is typical of many Namibian lodges - good location (a bit of a drive from the main road), well appointed room with a view, warm welcome, a sundowner spot, and a nice dinner and breakfast.

The lodge do a trip to the dunes which we only took to let someone else do the driving, but the guide was knowledgeable and had full access to all the various locations. Recommended.

We had a couple of problems while we were there - a slow puncture which they reinflated before we had noticed it ourselves and then guided us to the nearest repair centre, and we left a Kindle behind which they sent on to us, having contacted the local agents to get our itinerary. Great service!"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
The Delight

The Delight

"Great Swakopmund stop"

2 nights Arrived 8 Sep 2018
"Unusual to stay in a 100 room hotel in Namibia, but we liked it a lot.

Well designed public areas, good room, great location, friendly efficient staff."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Camp Kipwe

Camp Kipwe

"Up close to the Elephants"

2 nights Arrived 10 Sep 2018
"Camp Kipwe is typical of many Namibian lodges - good location (a bit of a drive from the main road), well appointed room with a view, warm welcome, a sundowner spot, a couple of activities, the main one at Kipwe being a nature drive to see Elephants, and a nice dinner and breakfast.

The stand out elements of the typical lodge 'package' were the lodge design, the sundowner spot and the nature drive, where we got very close to the elephants (much closer and quieter than Etosha)"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Fantastic location makes worth it"

2 nights Arrived 12 Sep 2018
"Everything we had read about the camp itself was accurate - indifferent service and food, bureaucracy, basic rooms, but we didn't care because the waterhole 50 metres from our room made it all worthwhile.

We went on a morning game drive with the camp, which we thought was well worth it - you go out 30 minutes before other cars, you are in an open jeep with a high seating position, see the sunrise and of course the driver knows where the game is!

We then spent hours at the water hole, which was full of game nearly all the time. A huge bonus is that it's floodlit, so game viewing continues long after the park gates have closed. We witnessed a lion hunt one evening (and the devouring of the giraffe carcass by lions, jackals and vultures the next morning)."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Poor
Facilities
Good
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Fantastic scenery and a beautiful lodge"

1 night Arrived 14 Sep 2018
"Erongo Wilderness lodge is typical of many Namibian lodges - good location (a bit of a drive from the main road), well appointed room with a view, warm welcome, a sundowner spot, a couple of activities and a nice dinner and breakfast.

There are lots of well marked walking trails, all of which have fantastic views."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Hilltop Guesthouse

Hilltop Guesthouse

"Stopover before returning home"

1 night Arrived 15 Sep 2018
"Pleasant hotel, good location, friendly staff, good breakfast.

All you need as a place to stay when you have a morning flight to catch."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team