This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Sossusvlei Desert Lodge
Sossusvlei Desert Lodge
Sossusvlei Desert Lodge
Sossusvlei Desert Lodge
Sossusvlei Desert Lodge
Sossusvlei Desert Lodge
Sossusvlei Desert Lodge

Sossusvlei Desert Lodge


24°46’46.9"S 15°53’19.1"E

Reviews of Sossusvlei Desert Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

37 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Sossusvlei Desert Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 5 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Sossusvlei Desert Lodge.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

100% success

Zebra

75% success

Giraffe

33% success

Spotted Hyena

33% success

Wildebeest

33% success

Brown Hyena

25% success

Aardvark

0% success

Meerkat

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 31-37 of 37
Duration
Arrival date
The C family
Sussex

"Sossusvlei Desert Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 10 Aug 2011
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr G M
Madrid

"Sossusvlei Desert Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 2 Nov 2010
"EXcellent lodge. Our guide, Nestor, was very helpful and knowledgable. Rooms were fantastic, and well kept." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms R & Mr B
Eggenwil

"Sossusvlei Desert Lodge review"

4 nights Arrived 30 Sep 2010
"We were very surprised at the number of animals (particularly small mammals) which inhabit the area and got great pictures of bat eared foxes and an aardwolf. Watch out for the scorpions...." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mrs & Dr S
Essex

"Sossusvlei Desert Lodge"

3 nights Arrived 14 Jun 2009
"An amazing place and a fantastic location. Wonderful welcome (especially after the 6 hour drive from Windhoek, meeting our first gravel roads) with Maretha, our hostess, an excellent ambassador during our three nights, even sewing on a button when we'd lost our sewing kit! The room was very well designed and built, and huge. The excursion to Sossusvlei/Deadvlei produced hundreds of spectacular photos - as one guide book said, you'd be hard-pushed not to get professional quality images there! The bush breakfast afterwards was a lovely touch. Other excursions included the first tracking of released and collared cheetah in NamibRand (heard the clicks but couldn't find them!) which they're considering introducing as an option; also a memorable sunset drive on the petrified dunes. Our only minor reservation was that contact with our guides was limited to the excursions, so was not as personal as some places. And don't go for animals or birds, although there are some. Otherwise, given the panoramic view, the attentive service and natural wonders nearby it's hard to fault this lodge." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr H & Ms W
London

"Fantastic start to our Namibia trip"

2 nights Arrived 9 Apr 2009
"Sossusvlei Desert Lodge was the first of the four lodges we stayed at and definitely got us off to a good start. The trip from the airstrip to the lodge is quick and we were welcomed by Paulo the manager. There are 10 villas in total, 5 on each side of the main lodge building. We had villa number 8 which is private and is of good-size with large bathroom and also an outdoor shower (no bath though given the need to conserve water). The villa was stylish, calm and relaxed and an excellent place to relax in. A few little negatives were the very hard "ribbed" carpet (painful to walk on barefoot) and also the slightly dated looking furniture in the main part of the chalet which is not quite as cutting-edge as maybe expected.

The food was great with the chefs presenting their menus personally and we thoroughly enjoyed all of our meals. Our main waiter Edwill was also efficient and organised a private dinner for us on the final night. Changing location for dinner/lunch and eating at different places in the lodge (e.g. by the pool, upstairs in the library) etc. also made the experience fun. We had a good view of the watering hole from all of our dining locations which meant fun times observing the sprinbok, ostriches etc. that would come and drink from it.

The highlight however of our stay were the guides and the activities. We had Fillon and Nestor as our guides and enjoyed the evening game-drive/sundowners, the quadbiking and the excursion to the Sossusvlei Dunes. Although not cheap, the excursion is definitely worth it and after climbing up the Big Daddy Dune near Deadvlei we thoroughly deserved our breakfast that Nestor prepared for us. The guides at Sossusvlei Desert Lodge were really first-class and this made our experience particularly special. We also had massaged from Hilde in our room and we can definitely recommend these as Hilde has been well-trained and is able to deliver excellent relaxing massages.

I would definitely recommend Sossusvlei Desert Lodge for anyone considering staying in the area." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
D & S on Honeymoon
UK

"Sossusvlei Desert Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 21 Feb 2009
"What a stunning location! The service was excellent, and the quality of the food was very high.

The room was enormous and very well equipped, and the bathroom was great - the view from the shower over the plains in particular was stunning. However the decor of the room itself felt a little dated and could probably do with reviving!

The nature drives, sun-downer drink and activities were very good and well organised and our guide was very knowledgable and tried hard to find us all the animals we were looking for - including a leopard!" See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mrs & Mr C
Chelmsford

"Sossusvlei Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Oct 2008
"A perfect end to the trip - totally superb in every way. A wonderful lodge.

The observatory was a unique feature.

CC Africa (new name 'and beyond' launched while we were there) delivered excellence as usual." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 31-37 of 37
99%
37 reviews of Sossusvlei Desert Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
35
2
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in NamibRand Nature Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Wolwedans Desert Lodge

Wolwedans Desert Lodge

Wolwedans Desert Lodge is a beautiful camp in a stunning setting on the NamibRand Reserve. Stay here for a luxurious escape into the wilderness.


95% (79 reviews)
Wolwedans Dune Camp

Wolwedans Dune Camp

Small and intimate with excellent service and great guiding, Wolwedans Dune Camp is a luxurious escape in a beautiful location.


98% (59 reviews)
Tok Tokkie Trails

Tok Tokkie Trails

Escape the car and explore the spectacular Namib Desert on foot with an expert guide from Tok Tokkie Trails.


99% (35 reviews)
Wolwedans Boulders Camp

Wolwedans Boulders

Hidden away in a remote corner of the NamibRand enjoy good food and attentive service at the exclusive Wolwedans Boulders Camp.


97% (7 reviews)
Kwessi Dunes

Kwessi Dunes

Kwessi Dune Lodge is a new property in the NamibRand Nature reserve promising to offer a luxurious stay in the wonderfully remote NamibRand Reserve.


100% (1 review)
Wolwedans Plains Camp

Wolwedans Plains Camp

With just three bedrooms, private chef and private guide, Wolwedans Plains Camp offers for peace and seclusion in a stunning setting.


100% (1 review)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa