This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mrs & Mr C from Chelmsford

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

5

Excursions taken

0

My Oct 2008 trip

Namibia between 17 Oct 2008 and 31 Oct 2008

Trip rating: Excellent
"Fulfilled all our hopes - what stunning scenery."

Arranged By Maruska Adye-Rowe


Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

"Ongava Lodge review"

4 nights Arrived 18 Oct 2008
"Excellent facilities in room, excellent guide. 4 nights was a bit too long, but I think you said you had no choice because of scheduling.

Game viewing seemed rather artificial after Zambia and Tanzania, with Etosha full of coaches and private cars all heading for the manmade watering holes. However, we did not go to Namibia for the game, so no problem."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Serra Cafema

Serra Cafema

"Serra Cafema review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Oct 2008
"Absolutely superb in every respect. What a unique experience. The high spot of the trip."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Damaraland Camp

Damaraland Camp

"Damaraland Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 24 Oct 2008
"A well run camp, but not our cup of tea, with the basic (although new) rooms, very very hot, since facing the afternoon sun, and room 8, ours, was the hottest of all, being hemmed in by mountains and shale, so no air circulated.

Also did not like the communal table for all meals. However, the manager Paul, was the best manager we encountered, and ran a very tight ship."
Average
Location
Average
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Sossus Dune Lodge

Sossus Dune Lodge

"Sossus Dune Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 26 Oct 2008
"This was a flaw in our programme, both because of its proximity to Sossusvlei Mountain Lodge (less than an hour by road) and the lodge per se.

NWR, government sponsored, had poured a lot of money into building this lodge, but the staffing was appalling - the majority of the staff seemed to have been there only a couple of weeks, having been recruited from unrelated jobs such as parking attendant, and were lacking in training.

The activities of the two lodges were the same, and having done the dune excursion at Sossus Dune, Sossuvlei Mtn Lodge had to put on a drive they don't normally do, to entertain us. It would have been better to have done the dune excursion with Sossusvlei, as they have an air conditioned closed vehicle for this drive, whereas we endured Sossus Dune open jeep for over an hour, at speed, on the 'main' road.

The rooms were incredibly hot - we and all our products liquified - and the outlook not scenic. The 'desert' chalets looked out on a pile of shale, put there to hide the parking area."
Poor
Location
Poor
Service
Terrible
Activities
Poor
Rooms
Average
Food
Poor
Facilities
Average
Sossusvlei Desert Lodge

Sossusvlei Desert Lodge

"Sossusvlei Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Oct 2008
"A perfect end to the trip - totally superb in every way. A wonderful lodge.

The observatory was a unique feature.

CC Africa (new name 'and beyond' launched while we were there) delivered excellence as usual."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team