This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Sossusvlei Desert Lodge
Sossusvlei Desert Lodge
Sossusvlei Desert Lodge
Sossusvlei Desert Lodge
Sossusvlei Desert Lodge
Sossusvlei Desert Lodge
Sossusvlei Desert Lodge

Sossusvlei Desert Lodge


24°46’46.9"S 15°53’19.1"E

Reviews of Sossusvlei Desert Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

37 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Sossusvlei Desert Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 5 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Sossusvlei Desert Lodge.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

100% success

Zebra

75% success

Giraffe

33% success

Spotted Hyena

33% success

Wildebeest

33% success

Brown Hyena

25% success

Aardvark

0% success

Meerkat

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 21-30 of 37
Duration
Arrival date
Mr A
Berkshire

"Beautiful location, excellent service."

2 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2015
"Set in a beautiful location, great food and services, convenient for visiting the dunes.

Thoroughly recommend this place." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr J & Mrs S
Streatha

"Sossusvlei Desert Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 30 Jul 2015
"A wonderful place - really helpful staff , amazing location and fabulous rooms. Food is simple but very nice. Guided drives were outstanding. We hadn't focussed on them having their own telescope nor on there being an in house astronomer before we got there but this certainly added another dimension.

If staying at the full moon though cover the roof skylight that lets you look at the stars from your bed as otherwise you end up drenched in light at 2.00am as the moon transits.

Dune buggies are good fun as an alternative to a drive." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs F
Bristol

"The Icing on the Cake"

3 nights Arrived 21 Jun 2015
"Wow - what an amazing place - fabulous rooms with extraordinary views that changed with the light during the day, well informed guides, pleasant friendly staff, star gazing with experts, top class food and even some of the local singing - what a way to end what had already been a holiday of a lifetime. (We've had a few of these in Namibia!!)

Arriving by plane a real luxury to be spared the long drive - although we do enjoy the driving - but it seemed to give us an extra day of activities. Game drives, balloon flight, trip to Sossusvlei - I've run out of superlatives - just one of the best places we have ever stayed.

The star gazing too was excellent - both with the telescope being tutored by experts and from our bed when waking in the night." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr J & Mrs E
Surrey

"A wonderful treat of a place"

2 nights Arrived 5 Nov 2014
"This was probably our favourite of all the lodges we stayed in. The staff really had thought of everything and went above and beyond with a particularly lovely surprise on our final night! The accommodation is very luxurious and equipped with everything you could possibly need. There was even a dedicated astronomer on hand throughout the evenings - although unfortunately our stay coincided with the full moon so the star-gazing was not at its best. The view from the lodge is fantastic - we spent hours just looking out to the horizon

The guide assigned to us during our stay, Peter, took us on some very enjoyable excursions, including to the dunes at Sossusvlei and was amiable and very knowledgeable. We had our best sun-downer experiences here - in terms of location, drinks and snacks and company.

The food was excellent - the best we had during our stay in Namibia. We would love to have spent more time at this lodge and would definitely return again." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs N
Edinburgh

"Stunning location and lovely staff!"

3 nights Arrived 24 Oct 2014
"Beautiful rooms with stunning views, lovely staff, excellent service and very good food (and flexible for vegetarian). The managers Emerita and Paola were fantastic

The excursion to Sossusvlei was well worth the drive and the dawn ballon trip was amazing. As an extra we hiked up a nearby hill with the resident astronomer to a group of quiver trees.

We stayed 3 nights - could have done with another just to carry on soaking up the views and atmosphere. We had high expectations both of the lodge and the desert - if anything our expectations were exceeded.

We flew in from Windhoek - efficient, quick and very scenic..." See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr & Mr B
Cardiff

"paradise in the desert"

2 nights Arrived 21 Mar 2014
"As close to perfection as is possible to be---welcoming, every effort to make you feel special, warm ambience, attention to detail, excellent food with good choices, little messages from staff eg warning -- baboons might attack your laundry!!

Architecture & design elegant ---units spacious, private and sumptuous---stunning views of desert from large picture windows.
Only place which provided booklets on fauna & flora of area in room on arrival. Lots of small touches under the heading of little things mean a lot

Final big unforgettable surprise--last night returned to find in celebration of our wedding anniversary --heart shaped from sand in hall outlined with tee lights, bottle of champagne and every surface covered in candles
A magical place" See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms H
Texas

"Sossusvlei Desert Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 26 Feb 2014
"i spent three nights at SossusVlei Desert Lodge.

Pros:
1. Chalets designed so that each one is very private. Paths from main building to each chalet paved and clearly lit at night.
2. Magnificent setting.
3. Excellent food, huge quantities.
4. Lots of personal service. My guide George, and butler Anna, were very knowledgeable and friendly, and so was all the staff. Excellent cooks, too.
5. Lots of attention paid to personal preferences. Each mealtime, my table was set in a slightly different place, and one night it was set upstairs so as to escape a particularly obnoxious child.
6. Every luxury provided in the chalet; the bathroom with its floor-to-ceiling glass windows was a real treat.
7. The activities were diverse, including a game drive, dune drive, hot -air balloon and trip Sossusvlei itself. They were well-organised and included - guess what ? Lots of food!
8. The star viewing platform was wonderful and the resident astronomer very informative.

Cons
1. No ceiling fans in chalet, only air-conditioning, which was noisy as well. A direct counter to the environmentally friendly image that & Beyond cultivates.
2. The stairs from the main floor of the chalet up to the sleeping area are too shallow, and difficult to negotiate.
3. I found the decor very gloomy and depressing - all ivory and bone and cream and grey. The desert has a lot of colour, too; it would be nice to see colour used a bit more.
4. At times, the personal service seemed like too much, and there was a big emphasis on the activities. It was hard to get time to just be alone and do nothing.
5. Too much food. I started to feel sick after a while. I know one doesn't always have to eat it, and I didn't. It's just being faced with it all the time.

Personal comments:

I found the Lodge almost too luxurious for my taste. It seems unbalanced, in that environment of starkness and scarcity, to be wallowing in such excess. That said, I cannot fault their professionalism. It is all extremely well done." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs W
Berkshire

"Sossusvlei Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 13 May 2013
"A truly luxurious lodge in a setting which seemed quite out of this world. Two nights was not enough.

Siegfried, our guide was first class." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Miss S
Cambridgeshire

"Sossusvlei Desert Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 21 Nov 2012
"Best place on our entire trip!

Feedback on morning balloon flight arrangements:
Sadly they failed to fly on 3 successive mornings and they were not able to make the decision not to fly until we had arrived at the launch site on each morning. So that was 3 successive mornings that we rose at 4.45 am to leave the SML at 05.15 to get to the launch site.

We understand the pilot cannot fly if the conditions are not right but surely they could decide earlier and ring the hotel to save us all the journey ( there were around 20 people there on day 3 and some had travelled for 2 hrs just to get to the site)

All very disappointed" See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr's Spear
DC

"Sossusvlei Desert Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 3 Oct 2012
"We both felt that this was the finest hotel we've stayed in, anywhere (and we have travelled a lot). The room (a misnomer for what is a small villa) was beautiful with wonderful views of the plains, mountains, and water hole. Everything else complemented its excellence: the service was impeccable, the food very good.

The only weak note was a noisy and not efficient air conditioner, which mattered because the days were very hot. The manager offered to move us but, after unpacking everything, we declined. We wish we had been there a week rather than three nights." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 21-30 of 37
99%
37 reviews of Sossusvlei Desert Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
35
2
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in NamibRand Nature Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Wolwedans Desert Lodge

Wolwedans Desert Lodge

Wolwedans Desert Lodge is a beautiful camp in a stunning setting on the NamibRand Reserve. Stay here for a luxurious escape into the wilderness.


95% (79 reviews)
Wolwedans Dune Camp

Wolwedans Dune Camp

Small and intimate with excellent service and great guiding, Wolwedans Dune Camp is a luxurious escape in a beautiful location.


98% (59 reviews)
Tok Tokkie Trails

Tok Tokkie Trails

Escape the car and explore the spectacular Namib Desert on foot with an expert guide from Tok Tokkie Trails.


99% (35 reviews)
Wolwedans Boulders Camp

Wolwedans Boulders

Hidden away in a remote corner of the NamibRand enjoy good food and attentive service at the exclusive Wolwedans Boulders Camp.


97% (7 reviews)
Kwessi Dunes

Kwessi Dunes

Kwessi Dune Lodge is a new property in the NamibRand Nature reserve promising to offer a luxurious stay in the wonderfully remote NamibRand Reserve.


100% (1 review)
Wolwedans Plains Camp

Wolwedans Plains Camp

With just three bedrooms, private chef and private guide, Wolwedans Plains Camp offers for peace and seclusion in a stunning setting.


100% (1 review)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa