This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr J & Mrs S from Streatha

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

11

Excursions taken

4

Aug 2019

Rwanda between 18 Aug 2019 and 25 Aug 2019

Trip rating: Excellent
"The overall trip was brilliant and we'll remember it for ever. All the organisation worked impeccably."

Hotel des Mille Collines

Hotel des Mille Collines

"Hotel des Mille Collines"

1 night Arrived 18 Aug 2019
"Only there one night but pleasant and comfortable. Efficient check in."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Sabyinyo Silverback Lodge

Sabyinyo Silverback Lodge

"sabyinyo silverback lodge"

5 nights Arrived 19 Aug 2019
"Fantastic service and a really relaxing place to stay. The community walk was a wonderful bonus - well worth doing and for anyone interested in birds so too was the bird walk"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
City & Genocide Memorial Tour

City & Genocide Memorial Tour

"City tourCity & Genocide Memorial Tour review"

19 Aug 2019 • All-day excursion

The Genocide memorial is well done and very sobering. It drives home what an amazing recovery has taken place in Rwanda
Good
Golden Monkey Trekking

Golden Monkey Trekking

"Golden Monkeys"

20 Aug 2019 • Morning excursion

A very gentle trek and the monkeys are great fun and come very close. We did it as an acclimatisation day which worked very well
Excellent
Gorilla Trekking Safari

Gorilla Trekking Safari

"Gorilla Trekking"

21 Aug 2019 • Morning excursion

This a once in a lifetime experience - we did it three times and each time i have never known an hour pass so quickly. Extremely well organised and the guides/trackers really inspire confidence while making sure you get the best out of your hour.
Excellent
Canoeing in Rwanda

Canoeing in Rwanda

"Canoeing in Rwanda review"

24 Aug 2019 • Afternoon excursion

This is a bit of a hidden gem - most people we met hadn't heard about it.

A great way to finish our time in Rwanda - mostly very gentle canoeing with a lot of birds - ibis, geese, kingfishers. Two more exciting bits - a short straight rapid and then a bit of a slalom through a bamboo thicket. Plenty of support on hand if you capsize (we didn't but one of the other canoes did) so it always felt very safe.
Excellent

My Jul 2015 trip

Namibia between 28 Jul 2015 and 16 Aug 2015

Trip rating: Excellent
"Namibia is a stunningly beautiful country and from our experience Namibians are universally warm and friendly. We had a fantastic trip and would recommend it to anyone who enjoys active holidays.

With one glitch, (the car being sent to the wrong guesthouse) all the arrangements worked extremely well and the information we were given in advance was very comprehensive and helpful. Nothing important was missing. This will always be one of our most memorable holidays."

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Olive Grove Review"

1 night Arrived 29 Jul 2015
"Helpful staff and convenient (15mins walk from the centre of Windhoek). Pleasant food and eating in the restaurant is a good option if like us you've had a long journey to get there.

It had a bit of a transitory feel as everyone seems to just stay for one night, passing through."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Sossusvlei Desert Lodge

Sossusvlei Desert Lodge

"Sossusvlei Desert Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 30 Jul 2015
"A wonderful place - really helpful staff , amazing location and fabulous rooms. Food is simple but very nice. Guided drives were outstanding. We hadn't focussed on them having their own telescope nor on there being an in house astronomer before we got there but this certainly added another dimension.

If staying at the full moon though cover the roof skylight that lets you look at the stars from your bed as otherwise you end up drenched in light at 2.00am as the moon transits.

Dune buggies are good fun as an alternative to a drive."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Swakopmund Guesthouse

Swakopmund Guesthouse

"Swakopmund Guesthouse review"

2 nights Arrived 2 Aug 2015
"Clean and functional - helpful staff happy to serve us muffins and coffee ahead of the official breakfast time as we needed to get to Walvis Bay early for kayaking.

Restaurants seem to book up early in Swakop - think about booking a day ahead of your arrival if possible. The Tug was very good but fully booked on our first night and we could only get a very early table elsewhere.

Pelican Point Kayaking
This was one of the highlights of the trip. Jeanne is very relaxed and competent leader - it is not strenuous and much better than the alternative launch trips. It was quite cold but Jeanne had all the right gear available for this.

Worth noting the seal pups are at their most playful between June and September (according to Jeanne) - the best time of the year for this activity.

We also saw large groups of flamingoes and half a dozen jackals on the way to Pelican Point."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Camp Kipwe

Camp Kipwe

"Camp Kipwe review"

1 night Arrived 4 Aug 2015
"We only stayed one night but would happily have stayed longer.

The Camp is very imaginatively designed into a boulder strewn hillside with a very a nice sundowner vantage point at the top."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Mountain Camp

"Etendeka Mountain Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 5 Aug 2015
"A very different place - definitely not luxury but it was fun.

The communal nature worked well - everybody eats at a communal table and does the same activities together (walk in the morning and drive in the afternoon). It is a stunning beautiful and remote setting."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

"Hobatere Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 7 Aug 2015
"Hobatere is still a little rough at the edges, not everything is running smoothly yet but this is fully compensated for by immensely helpful and enthusiastic staff. To give an example - we asked about laundry which they do as a free service but had no laundry bags or laundry lists to complete. A green plastic bag was produced immediately and the assistant manager designed a laundry list on her computer there and then.

They weren't expecting us when we arrived as our booking hadn't been copied onto their room allocation schedule but a room was still made ready within 15 minutes.

The food was exceptional - definitely the best chef that we came across in Namibia. The guiding is really good as well.

We also spent two fascinating hours in the hide at their waterhole although we understanding they are working on moving it closer to the lodge."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

"Ongava Tented Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 9 Aug 2015
"A pleasant functional camp - everything worked well and efficiently.

There is a good of variety of game including lion and rhino in their own reserve, especially the bird life. The food was a bit dull compared to some of the other camps."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

"Mushara Outpost review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Aug 2015
"One of the most luxurious "tents" we've ever stayed in! Superb facilities and excellent imaginative food.

The guided trips into Etosha were really good as well - we covered in a relatively small part of the park but still managed to find multiple lions, elephant, rhino as well as cheetah."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Okonjima Plains Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Aug 2015
"As a place to stay it has a rather impersonal feel - more like a hotel than a camp which we thought reflected the large scale of its operations (particular looking at the number of vehicles lined up for the afternoon drive).

The rooms are large and have nice picture windows but the concrete floors and walls give them a functional appearance. Staff are friendly and helpful.

Cheetah and leopard tracking though were tremendous experiences - worth staying two nights to ensure you have time to do both.

We also enjoyed visiting the Africat day centre and of all the guides we had in Namibia, Martin worked hardest to show us as much as possible in the time we had."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team