This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Sossusvlei Desert Lodge
Sossusvlei Desert Lodge
Sossusvlei Desert Lodge
Sossusvlei Desert Lodge
Sossusvlei Desert Lodge
Sossusvlei Desert Lodge
Sossusvlei Desert Lodge

Sossusvlei Desert Lodge


24°46’46.9"S 15°53’19.1"E

Reviews of Sossusvlei Desert Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

37 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Sossusvlei Desert Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 5 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Sossusvlei Desert Lodge.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

100% success

Zebra

75% success

Giraffe

33% success

Spotted Hyena

33% success

Wildebeest

33% success

Brown Hyena

25% success

Aardvark

0% success

Meerkat

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 11-20 of 37
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs T
Cambs.

"Superb luxury venue and service to match"

4 nights Arrived 10 May 2017
"We loved every minute of our time here. The staff were always super-attentive and helpful. The food was always excellent and we could eat at any time we wished within reason. The rooms were well laid out and luxurious, in some areas however it was starting to look just tiny little bit tired around the reception lounge sofas and rugs. We left feedback to this effect. Nevertheless it was a fabulous venue and experience. A surprising amount of game seen on our drives, even though it was a desert location. Wonderful place to see!" See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana; 4n in Namibia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ian & Vivienne
UK

"You must go here."

3 nights Arrived 14 Apr 2017
"What a wonderful lodge this is with careful attention to detail,luxurious facilities and a very high ratio of staff to guests which makes for an unforgettable stay. Don't worry about the drive into the dune area, you won't really miss anything by arriving just after sunrise as the dunes cannot fail to impress at any time of the day or in any weather (we visited and walked up Big Daddy in a sandstorm).

The butler/dedicated waiter or waitress and the appointed driver for your stay is a very nice touch which we appreciated. The food is really excellent ,again,considering how remote this region is, but we thoroughly enjoyed high quality food and wine here.

Do go on the sundowner quad bike ride as it is fun, the scenery at sunset is unforgettable and the experience was very different and unforgettable as numbers are kept small." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs P
Seattle

"Splendid luxury in the desert!"

2 nights Arrived 28 Mar 2017
"We had a truly memorable stay during our honeymoon at the Sossusvlei Desert Lodge. Having never stayed in such an extravagant lodge, we did not know what to expect, but from the moment we arrived, we felt like absolute royalty while there. We were greeted by several staff members, with friendly smiles, a cool drink, and cold towels. From there, we handed over our vehicle keys to the incredible Paolo and staff for car/luggage assistance while we were whisked away to go over our stay with our very friendly host, Prinella.

Our guide, George, was tremendous. His knowledge of the area combined with his sense of humor made each activity very unique and fun. The activities were all great: from the trip to the Sossusvlei sand dunes to the game drive in the reserve. We also visited the observatory with the astronomer, Petra. We got very lucky with a new moon night so the sky visibility was absolutely amazing. She showed us so much and explained it all very well. This was definitely another highlight of our time there.

The rooms were impeccable, particularly because of the work of the housekeeper Hanzina, who also left little, creative notes for us along with treats each time we left and returned from an activity. The bed was very comfortable and the skylight was a nice touch, but we did not use it that much as it was difficult to close/open and it was a little bit dirty on the outside, obscuring the view. It's the desert, though, so we're not knocking them for this!

Although we missed one dinner due to a bout of heat exhaustion (drink lots and lots of water during activities!), the food was quite delicious throughout our stay. Our "butler", Frans, was a pleasure and always seemed to know what we were doing that day and made sure to ask about it.

The only sense of a negative encounter came at the very end of our stay and afterward, as we had a difficult time interacting with a staff member called Annah. She did not seem very happy when she was assisting us with checking out, then we happened to leave a couple items behind and she was very abrupt on the phone, not being particularly helpful or sympathetic to our situation. The lodge was able to assist us in getting our items returned all the way back to Seattle. Paolo and the others were great in helping us resolve an issue that was ultimately our mistake, but I did feel that this particular guest service experience was out of line from the rest of the stay and thus, warrants mentioning.

If you stay here, I guarantee you will not be disappointed! Everything while we were there was first class: the views, the room, the guides and activities, the food, and the service. It was a truly incredible stay." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Lancs

"ex"

2 nights Arrived 21 Feb 2017
"excellent in every respect. rooms were the best we have stayed in anywhere
service was exceptional ...they made us feel special and went above and beyond was we expected
drives were first rate and had dinner under the stars in the desert one night...what more can you say
pool lovely
food ex" See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mss
Brussels

"Great experience"

2 nights Arrived 12 Nov 2016
"Top lodge with stunning views and beautiful rooms. But the experience is also made by the people and the current team is excellent.

George as a guide is just a brilliant guy, but also Franz, the dining manager is a top guy, such as the entire motivated team.

Best service experience of all the lodges, we visited that week" See all these reviews: 6n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs
Bath

"Sossusvlei Desert Lodge was fantastic"

3 nights Arrived 4 Oct 2016
"Our 3 nights here were absolutely fantastic - definitely the best accommodation of the whole trip.

Welcoming friendly staff and our safari guide was excellent.

The location is superb and we really enjoyed all the activities, especially the balloon trip!

The only negative was that there was no longer an astronomer in residence so we couldn't learn more about the amazing night sky!" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs L
Dulwich

"A magical place"

2 nights Arrived 4 Aug 2016
"The nicest hotel I've ever been to. I loved everything about it.
The staff were delightful and the service felt personal. We were greeted back from every trip with cold flannels and home made lemonade.
The quad biking was a highlight, as were the dunes and Paul the astronomer.
Frans was exceptional. Peter, our guide was also lovely.
I really didn't want to leave.

Hot air ballooning
Rob was wonderful and gave us a fantastic morning.

The views were spectacular but I was a little disappointed not to be nearer to the dunes.

The breakfast afterwards was out of this world." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr K & Dr B
Ontario

"Jewel in the Desert!"

3 nights Arrived 27 May 2016
"We have travelled with &Beyond many times and have always been thoroughly pleased with their planning, guiding, service, food, and accommodations. So, I knew that if we were ever to travel to Namibia, Sossusvlei Desert Lodge was a must. The scenery is breathtaking, the villas large and luxurious, the activities well planned and very enjoyable, the food mostly excellent, and the staff very personable and attentive. Some reviews mention the lodge's distance from the park gates as a disadvantage but in fact, we thought it was quite an advantage. Yes, we had to rise half an hour earlier on the days we went to Sossusvlei and did the balloon ride, but that was a small price to pay for the privacy, isolation, and fantastic vistas enjoyed from the lodge.

I mentioned that the food was mostly excellent: On one evening, one of the meal choices - there were always two options - wasn't very good. Every other meal we had was fresh, delicious, and of superb quality. But, that one meal was rather poor.

Sossusvlei Desert Lodge usually has a resident astronomer and we found his knowledge and enthusiasm infectious. There are very few places in the world where you can enjoy such excellent conditions for star gazing and having David as our teacher and guide made the experience even more amazing. An unexpected treat!

The manager, Paolo, mentioned that Sossusvlei Desert Lodge is up for refurbishing within the next year or so. That came as quite a surprise because the accommodations and public spaces are in very good condition. Not absolutely brand new but certainly not tired in any way whatsoever. That just goes to show you the high standards maintained by &Beyond.

We highly recommend that if you go to Namibia, you must go to Sossusvlei Desert Lodge!!" See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Porky
Perth

"Enjoy the Namibian Desert!"

3 nights Arrived 27 May 2016
"Sossusvlei Desert Lodge is a quality &Beyond facility which pretty much ticks all of the standards of this quality group. The Lodge itself is really well located at the head of a rising valley with a splendid outlook over a desert plain, bordered by mountains with a view towards the first line of the famous sand dunes. It is really quite special to sit on your patio or in the lounge area and just absorb the "emptiness" of the desert surrounds and yet be surprised by the arrival and movement of various animals which surprisingly thrive in the tough environment.

The individual lodges are really well presented and have all modern conveniences with an excellent bedroom, really comfortable sitting areas and modern, quality bathroom. There is efficient air conditioning and expansive picture windows which enhance the feeling of belonging with the surrounds. I was told that the Lodge is due for a programmed renovation and on close inspection there were a few small issues such as the door not closing properly and some light switches not working which were a little surprising to find in an &Beyond property - this is why they renovate!

The lounge and guest facilities are really comfortable with more of the great views combined with quality food and drink services and friendly and efficient staff. Paulo and his team work hard to make your stay effortless and enjoyable.

The Lodge is well place for the "Soussusvlei" adventures of the dunes, "dead vlei", some wildlife sightings on drives, balloon ride, quad bikes, walking and just enjoying the desert feel. There are enough things to do here to justify a stay of two or three nights. I do not think that one night would do justice. During my visit there was an additional attraction of a guided astronomy experience which by all reports was well worth attending." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr P & co
UK

"Sossusvlei Desert Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 18 Nov 2015
"Faultless. Sossusvlei Desert Lodge obviously ticks all the boxes in terms of setting, accommodation, facilities, food etc, but it was the attention to detail that made it so special.

You really felt that this was your holiday and everything was built around making it an exceptional experience.

A truly great way to finish the holiday and the only thing we didn't like was having to leave." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 11-20 of 37
99%
37 reviews of Sossusvlei Desert Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
35
2
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in NamibRand Nature Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Wolwedans Desert Lodge

Wolwedans Desert Lodge

Wolwedans Desert Lodge is a beautiful camp in a stunning setting on the NamibRand Reserve. Stay here for a luxurious escape into the wilderness.


95% (79 reviews)
Wolwedans Dune Camp

Wolwedans Dune Camp

Small and intimate with excellent service and great guiding, Wolwedans Dune Camp is a luxurious escape in a beautiful location.


98% (59 reviews)
Tok Tokkie Trails

Tok Tokkie Trails

Escape the car and explore the spectacular Namib Desert on foot with an expert guide from Tok Tokkie Trails.


99% (35 reviews)
Wolwedans Boulders Camp

Wolwedans Boulders

Hidden away in a remote corner of the NamibRand enjoy good food and attentive service at the exclusive Wolwedans Boulders Camp.


97% (7 reviews)
Kwessi Dunes

Kwessi Dunes

Kwessi Dune Lodge is a new property in the NamibRand Nature reserve promising to offer a luxurious stay in the wonderfully remote NamibRand Reserve.


100% (1 review)
Wolwedans Plains Camp

Wolwedans Plains Camp

With just three bedrooms, private chef and private guide, Wolwedans Plains Camp offers for peace and seclusion in a stunning setting.


100% (1 review)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa