This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Drs F & S from Oregon

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

9

Excursions taken

1

A very interesting trip/some glitches

Namibia between 7 Sep 2017 and 29 Sep 2017

Trip rating: Excellent
"Considering this trip we saw a lot but I would do some things differently. I would have flown to Desert Rhino and maybe added one of the Skeleton Coast Camps like Hoanib or Serra Cafema which would also require a fly in. Or maybe I would have omitted Desert Rhino and just done another night at Ongava where we saw lots of Rhinos.

We would have missed the heritage petroglyphs but have already seen San rock art in Zimbabwe so maybe I think this would have been the superior choice. Then we could have driven to Etosha from either Swakopmund or Windhoek (Better option) and saved money on renting a less robust car.

Also Doro Nawas was totally not worth the money or effort.

Favorites were Soussesvlei Desert Lodge, Sandwich Bay Tour, and Ongava Lodge."

Arranged By Maruska Adye-Rowe


Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Nice place but who let the dogs out!"

1 night Arrived 7 Sep 2017
"Dogs barking right outside our room kept us up all night after a 39 hour flight/this is not OK!

Property well aware and apparently have received other complaints.

Cant recommend a place if you cannot get a good nights sleep."
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Service
Excellent
Sossusvlei Desert Lodge

Sossusvlei Desert Lodge

"Sossusvlei Desert Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 8 Sep 2017
"Wonderful!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Villa Margherita

Villa Margherita

"Villa Margherita review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2017
"Very nice and quiet...no barking dogs here!

A very helpful staff.

Day trip to Sandwich Harbour and coast south of Swakopmund Expert Africa organised this day trip for these travellers who commented...
Excellent - A great day trip!

Wow this trip was great and I was uncertain I wanted to add it.
This was the biggest surprise of the trip. So glad we went."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Coast and Sandwich Harbour

Coast and Sandwich Harbour

"A great day trip!"

12 Sep 2017 • All-day excursion

Wow this trip was great and I was uncertain I wanted to add it.

This was the biggest surprise of the trip. So glad we went.
Excellent
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Not up to Wilderness Standards!"

1 night Arrived 13 Sep 2017
"Wow this was the most disappointing venue of our whole trip. We have stayed at many Wilderness Safari properties and this one was definitely not up to snuff. We were given the worst room with a parking lot view and no orientation...ie beds could be moved for star viewing.

The game drive was reliant on 5 or 6 desert elephants with not much else. The group dinner out in the coma featured skimpy food...literally my lamb chop had 2 bites of meat on it and the food was running out due to a large Spanish tour group. The breakfast buffet was skimpy and the offer of a hot breakfast was not made.

I really wish we had not paid the price for this place and just driven on to stay at Palmwag lodge where we could have seen elephants on a morning walk before awaiting our 3 pm transfer to Desert Rhino...would have been a much better value.

I really am very surprised this place was so bad."
Poor
Location
Average
Food
Poor
Facilities
Average
Service
Poor
Activities
Average
Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp

"Great experience"

2 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2017
"Only wish perhaps that we had flown in and rearranged our driving arrangements"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

"A Glitch that ended well"

1 night Arrived 16 Sep 2017
"Loved this lodge but when we arrived they had no record of our reservation so we were kept waiting and missed an afternoon game drive.

They offered us the Ongava Tented Camp which I refused because it was hot and we wanted to AC/ Finally an accommodation was reached where we stayed one night in Ongava Lodge and were upgraded to Little Ongava the second night which was heaven.

This is a great lodge and the drives and views were spectacular. Apparently our reservation was cancelled in their system...again was this a Wilderness Safari issue. I wish we had stayed here for 3 days and only one day at the Mushara Lodge because we saw so much game here."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Little Ongava

Little Ongava

"Heaven"

1 night Arrived 17 Sep 2017
"We were upgraded to this room after the loss of our reservation incident."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

"A nice venue on the eastern edge"

2 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2017
"This property was very nice but I think we could have just stayed one day."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Okonjima Bush Camp

Okonjima Bush Camp

"A great way to end the trip"

2 nights Arrived 20 Sep 2017
"Enjoyed the conservation effort and seeing all the cats."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team