This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mrs B from Lancs

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

8

Excursions taken

0

Adventures in Namibia

Namibia between 17 Feb 2017 and 4 Mar 2017

Trip rating: Excellent
"We have travelled all over this world but this holiday is up there with the best few. It was a real adventure from start to finish.

We saw so many amazing sights and stayed at some amazing places.The service we received for management and staff alike was wonderful. If it hadn't have been for two things - not being able to see the Fish River Canyon, and the stay at the Ongava Lodge, we would say it was a perfect holiday but unfortunately this spoilt it somewhat.

Thanks to expert Africa for all arrangement which were perfect."

Arranged By Elizabeth Chapman


Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

"good overnight stay"

1 night Arrived 17 Feb 2017
"this is fine for an overnight stay. dinner was good, service was good, room was good pool was good"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Fish River Lodge

Fish River Lodge

" disappointed couldn't do canyon "

2 nights Arrived 18 Feb 2017
"good stay in lovely rooms with lovely views.
pool was nice
food and service good
very disappointed we couldn't book the canyon drive for the following day as there were no space left. we were not the only ones who issed out either!!!!
they shouldn't offer this if they don't have enough vehicles or staff for everyone to do this.... why else would you be going there if not to see the canyon !!!!!!! only other thing you could do was a self guided walk on the rim....... not what we went there for...very disappointing!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Terrible
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Dabis Guest Farm

Dabis Guest Farm

"excellent"

1 night Arrived 20 Feb 2017
"ex stay
made us very welcome
farm tour was excellent
dinner was from all food produced on farm and ex
didn't use pool as it looked a little murky"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Food
Excellent
Sossusvlei Desert Lodge

Sossusvlei Desert Lodge

"ex"

2 nights Arrived 21 Feb 2017
"excellent in every respect. rooms were the best we have stayed in anywhere
service was exceptional ...they made us feel special and went above and beyond was we expected
drives were first rate and had dinner under the stars in the desert one night...what more can you say
pool lovely
food ex"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Strand Hotel

Strand Hotel

"ex"

2 nights Arrived 23 Feb 2017
"ex stay in lovely new modern hotel right by the beach but still close to the centre
lovely rooms
breakfast was ex with so much choice"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Damaraland Camp

Damaraland Camp

"ex"

3 nights Arrived 25 Feb 2017
"another ex stay and staff here are exceptional but I guess its the management that really makes the difference here.

Management were there all the time welcoming you back from drives and eating with you at meals. We particularly love the fact that everyone eats together at one table almost like a large family. The atmosphere was so friendly. Guides and drives were ex

Pool was excellent. Food was excellent. Wonderful from start to finish"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

"not good"

2 nights Arrived 28 Feb 2017
"The only lodge that was way below standard.
on the positives-
guide was good and game viewing ex.
room was good
on the negatives-
food awful
management non existant and I suspect this was the whole problem

On the day of our arrival we were told Neil was our guide and to meet at 4.30 but he was no where to be seen and everyone else left with their guides so we asked someone and they said our guide was Abner tonight and someone else tomorrow but they didnt know who. So we had to run to catch up with our guide only just getting there before he left. He obviously didn't know we were with him either. we had a tremendous downpour while on the drive and he had only enough waterproofs for 6 and there 8 of us so we all got totally drenched. when we arrived back we asked who would take us out tomorrow and they said it would be the same guide again so we had to go and find him to ask about the times for meeting up. Altogether a real mess!!!!!!! and this is meant to be a holiday

The meals were best described as awful. The only food we enjoyed as pea soup one night. The steak I had on the first night was inedible and the fish on the second night was cooked in soggy batter probably straight from a frozen packet or worse.
When we checked out the only person on the place was our waiter and that pretty much says it all !

This is the worst place we have stayed in years and really disappointed."
Poor
Location
Good
Service
Terrible
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Terrible
Okonjima Bush Camp

Okonjima Bush Camp

"excellent"

2 nights Arrived 2 Mar 2017
"What can I say it was ex in every respect and a total surprise
staff were ex
food was ex
rooms were amazing
guides and activities ex
wildlife ex"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team