This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by D & S on Honeymoon from UK

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

10

Excursions taken

1

Trip as a whole

Namibia between 13 Feb 2009 and 9 Mar 2009

Trip rating: Excellent
"Simply wonderful.

It was a great trip, wonderfully organised and we were very well looked after by everyone everywhere we stayed.

Can't imagine how we could have had a better honeymoon!"

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Kayaking with seals

Kayaking with seals

"Pelican Point Kayaking"

25 Jan 2009 • Morning excursion

We really enjoyed this, it was a great half day activity, and we saw seals, dolphins and a sun fish up very close! Highly recommend this to anyone in the area.
Excellent
Image alt

Own arrangements

"Hawksmoor House & Camps Bay Ridge"

6 nights Arrived 14 Feb 2009
"Hawksmoor House was a wonderful country house hotel North of Stellenbosch. They organised tours and restaurants for us, as well as a fantastic full day wine, cheese and chocolate tasting tour.

Camps Bay Ridge was an amazingly stylish B&B in Camps Bay. Joerg, the owner, was really helpful, booked us restaurants and taxis and cooked fantastic breakfasts. The view from the terrace/pool included the twelve apostles and Table Mountain which was simply stunning!"
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Olive Grove review"

1 night Arrived 20 Feb 2009
"What a wonderful hotel, a great way to start our trip to Namibia.

The staff were lovely and helpful, the design and decor very stylish and in our room the biggest bath we've ever seen. The food was excellent too - real attention to detail was evident everywhere."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Sossusvlei Desert Lodge

Sossusvlei Desert Lodge

"Sossusvlei Desert Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 21 Feb 2009
"What a stunning location! The service was excellent, and the quality of the food was very high.

The room was enormous and very well equipped, and the bathroom was great - the view from the shower over the plains in particular was stunning. However the decor of the room itself felt a little dated and could probably do with reviving!

The nature drives, sun-downer drink and activities were very good and well organised and our guide was very knowledgable and tried hard to find us all the animals we were looking for - including a leopard!"
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
The Stiltz

The Stiltz

"The Stiltz review"

2 nights Arrived 24 Feb 2009
"A lovely place in a lovely location.

The individual design of the rooms was really lovely, we had one of the view cabins (room 7) and the view from our balcony over the river mouth to the sea was great.

Surprisingly there were no mosquitos either which was a relief! breakfast was also very good."
Good
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani Mountain Camp

"Mowani Mountain Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 26 Feb 2009
"What a simply stunning place! Our view tent here was our favourite room of our whole trip, the view over the surrounding landscape was incredible.

The food was excellent, and service in general was of a very high standard. Sun-downer drinks from the viewpoint, complete with a bar and nibbles was really special. We were on our honeymoon and they went to amazing extra lengths to make it feel special for us - a table for two by the camp fire under the stars for dinner one night, followed by breakfast for two on top of the viewpoint the next morning.

Vincent the manager even helped us change our flat tyre! Unfortunately due to the rains there was very little wildlife, but it was an amazing place just to sit and enjoy the sun and scenery."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Mountain Camp

"Etendeka Mountain Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Feb 2009
"The drive in to the camp was one of the most exhilarating moments of our whole trip. We got caught in a flash storm, and were thankful for our guide Bonny's driving skills as he managed to drive us through and up rivers! At one point we passed a group of eight girrafes stood watching us struggle past.

We were the only people staying at the camp and so we got a very special experience - Dennis and Bonny were excellent hosts and we enjoyed great food and hospitality. The camp was more basic than others we stayed at but the location was stunning and Bonny was extremely knowledgable so it was great to get the opportunity to go walking with him and learn about the wildlife and local plants."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

"Ongava Tented Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 2 Mar 2009
"The Ongava Reserve was a great place for seeing wildlife, which was brilliant given the time of year, and the nature drives were really excellent.

Our guide Festus was brilliant and found us a family of White Rhino the first day and lions the second day. Our tent was extremely spacious and well appointed.

The atmosphere was less formal than at some places, with everyone sitting around one big table to eat dinner with the guides, whihc meant we got to enjoy lots of spooky campfire stories about the resident lions!"
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

"Onguma Plains Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Mar 2009
"It's difficult to express how wonderful this place was. The location is stunning with a view in the distance of Fishers Pan and a wide plain set out below and in front of the rooms and main building. This made for some fantastic sunsets to watch in the evenings, and there was a constant stream of animals to and from the waterhole in front of us. One morning we were woken by the sound of zebras hooves galloping past our window!

Our room enormous and stunningly designed in a north african style with a huge terrace which had an outdoor shower and bath. Two walls of the room were canvas and rolled up to open up the room to the terrace and the plains. The service here was exceptional, and the food was consistantly stunning, from breakfast through to a four course dinner - the chef is brilliant and also very friendly!!

On our second day we returned from our nature drive to find a dinner table for two set up on our terrace with candles lit and champagne on ice...the chef came over to our room to describe the menu to us and we were served a candlelit dinner on our terrace under the stars. The staff even came over to sing to us at the end of our meal! Simply a wonderful honeymoon memory...

The only negative feedback would be that at the entrance gate as we arrived the guard tried to persuade us to give a lift to two people into the reserve. We didn't really have room due to all our luggage and it made us feel a little uncomfortable. Not quite the luxury welcome we had expected!!"
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Okonjima Bush Camp

Okonjima Bush Camp

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

1 night Arrived 6 Mar 2009
"The activites we did here were brilliant.

Our guide managed to track down a leopard for us and we saw lots of cheetahs, and also a porcupine at the night hide.

Food and service was good and the room was extremely well appointed, although because we were in the honeymoon suite rather than the thatched rooms it was possibly lacking in some charm and character."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 7 Mar 2009
"We had a beautiful tented room here with a gorgeous view over the mountains.

Our only regret is that we only got to say one night, so weren't able to enjoy some of the activites on offer, but we did enjoy a sun-downer walk up to a look out point and a lovely sunset."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team