This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs S from Hampshire

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

11

Excursions taken

1

My Sep 2018 trip

Botswana and 2 other countries between 9 Sep 2018 and 26 Sep 2018

Trip rating: Excellent
"Tracy Lederer did an amazing job advising and facilitating our wonderful safari trip to Namibia, Botswana and Zimbabwe. We rave about Expert Africa to everyone - this is our second time travelling with you and you have been superb on every aspect of our trip both times.

From the subtle differences between lodges regarding cost, solitude (which we love) and what we could expect to see, to the painful rearranging of flights when airlines change schedules, every element has been handled by Tracy with true expertise, professionalism, insight and smart advice. Thank you so much!

We travelled with 4 American friends and sorting out bill payments was very easy for all of us. Two of them had not been on safari before, one of them celebrating their 60th birthday while we were away, and it could not have been a better experience. The magical surprise birthday braai at Motswiri was a highlight, along with all the animal and bird sightings under the expert guiding of Andrew Harkness on our mobile safari (thanks for the spot-on recommendation, Tracy!)

Altogether a trip of lifetime - thank you everyone involved.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Happy with everything thanks."

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Olive Grove review"

1 night Arrived 10 Sep 2018
"Great little hotel, lovely staff.

Our second stay there and we'd definitely go back!"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Sossusvlei Desert Lodge

Sossusvlei Desert Lodge

"Sossusvlei Desert Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2018
"A fabulous lodge, wonderful staff, amazing views and delicious food.

The hot air balloon ride that was included in our package was a trip of a lifetime. The guiding was great.

Only sadness is that the upcoming major upgrade will probably price it out of our range, but delighted that we got a chance to stay there now. The massage we took was also top-class.

Thank you all! (Also saw our first ever aardwolf - awesome!)"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Ballooning in the Namib Desert

Ballooning in the Namib Desert

"Ballooning in the Namib Desert review"

13 Sep 2018 • Morning excursion

Utterly fantastic!
Excellent
Royal Tree Lodge

Royal Tree Lodge

"Royal Tree Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2018
"A lovely lodge and the walks are wonderful as we got to see so many animals up close and personal.

Julius was the perfect host, we really loved our 2 nights here."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Botswana Private Mobile Safari

Botswana Private Mobile Safari

"Botswana Private Mobile Safari review"

3 nights Arrived 16 Sep 2018
"Andrew and his team are world class.

We had an amazing 3 nights with them - can't believe the number of animals we saw and also the incredibly high standard of food all cooked on an open fire and in a Dutch oven. Very impressive indeed!

Huge thanks to Andrew, Patrick, Alec, LB and P."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Motswiri Camp

Motswiri Camp

"Motswiri Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2018
"We loved the remoteness of Motswiri and also that the staff was made up of so many local people.

Two Boy, our guide, was full of fascinating local knowledge about animals, birds, plants and insects. John also gave a lot of great insight into the natural world. BK is a superb host who, along with lovely team, all put in a lot of effort to make our stay truly magical - thank you!

It was also fun to have walking and boat safaris for a change."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Ilala Lodge

Ilala Lodge

"Ilala Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 23 Sep 2018
"We've stayed once before and loved it just as much this time.

In our view, this is the best hotel in Victoria Falls. Staff couldn't have been more helpful, and the food is very good. Thanks to all.

Ask them to contact Chris Worden to come and give his David Livingstone talk - it was fantastic."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

My Apr 2014 trip

Botswana and 1 other country between 13 Apr 2014 and 28 Apr 2014

Trip rating: Excellent
"Superb advice from Nick in the UK office, no request or question too small. Wonderful trip put together for us, paying great attention to our wishes for animal sightings, our requirements as 6 people traveling together and our request for small groups and individual attention. Loved all the choices and had a really superb time.

Would travel with Expert Africa again and also recommend.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Not really.

A couple of issues came up for the friends we were traveling with (Mack Air) - but as Ian and I weren't on that plane we've left it to them to report what happened. As advised very clearly by you before we left, they reported what had happened straight away to the camp manager and the problem was dealt with right away and to everyone's satisfaction. Altogether a very clear process in booking and very clear guidelines for what to do if things aren't right along the way.

Many thanks indeed for a tremendous trip."

Ilala Lodge

Ilala Lodge

"superb centrally located lodge"

3 nights Arrived 14 Apr 2014
"Very friendly, centrally located, lovely room."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Image alt

Kazuma Trails - Savuti

"Well resourced, knowledgable"

3 nights Arrived 17 Apr 2014
"Good food and very comfortable tents. Great guide - Alwyn.

Saw a tremendous amount and felt great care was taken of us."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Chobe Princesses

Chobe Princesses

"great location, good boat"

3 nights Arrived 20 Apr 2014
"comfortable, well resourced boat, excellent food.

Room's toilet cystern took 2 hours to fill and mosquito doors had half inch gap that we had to sellotape up."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba

"Completely fabulous. Very high standard"

3 nights Arrived 23 Apr 2014
"Lovely staff and superb lodge. Great game viewing and local knowledge"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Little Kwara

Little Kwara

"Lovely lodge with fab sightings"

3 nights Arrived 26 Apr 2014
"A really lovely lodge in a great location, but no mosquito nets in rooms and door to verandah didn't shut completely.

Superb staff and good attention to detail, lovely food and some wonderful sightings. Great effort put into finding the animals we hoped to see."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team