This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp

Reviews of Okonjima Plains Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

361 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Okonjima Plains Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 40 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Okonjima Plains Camp.
Leopard

100% success

Cheetah

81% success

Wild dog

18% success

Oryx

100% success

Giraffe

97% success

Zebra

94% success

Wildebeest

75% success

Eland

60% success

Brown Hyena

57% success

White Rhino

19% success

Aardvark

12% success

Spotted Hyena

11% success

Pangolin

4% success

Showing 51-60 of 361
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs JW
SW London

"Okonjima Plains Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 16 Mar 2018
"It's certainly worth staying here but don't assume you will see a leopard!

We were very pleasantly surprised by our room. It was only a standard room but hard to see how it could be improved. At the foot of the bed there is a large landscape window through which you can see across the bush and watch various animals wandering around.

It is in the middle of nowhere but conveniently between Etosha and Windhoek.

Breakfast was very good and dinner better than most.

We found the activities bit mixed. We went on the tour of the Africat Foundation which included a trip through the cheetah enclosure. We saw several, close up.This tour was excellent and very informative.

We also went on the leopard tour. We were a bit put off when our guide told us when we got in the truck that there was only a 50-50 chance of catching a glimpse of a leopard.He explained how solitary and reclusive they are. We had the impression beforehand, rightly or wrongly, that a sighting was pretty well guaranteed because many of the leopard are collared. As it was we didn't see one although not for the want of trying by our guide. That was obviously disappointing.

Both guides were obviously passionate about their animals." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia; 5n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs B
Colorado

"Outstanding Property!"

1 night Arrived 16 Feb 2018
"This was our second time staying at Okonjima and I think we enjoyed it even more this time. It is run like a well oiled machine, with the very best service imaginable.

The leopard tracking was once again excellent, and our guide did his very best to find not only one, but two leopards for us! They upgraded our room to a view room, which was a lovely treat and the room was beautiful. Okonjima has an abundance of wildlife and we saw not only leopards, but cheetahs, kudu, mountain zebra, warthogs, jackals, oryx, elephant shrew, steenbok, and baboons.

The food in the restaurant is outstanding and the dinner service is beautifully done. I believe this is a place we will stop at again and again." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr D
Farnham

"The perfect place to end or start a holiday!"

2 nights Arrived 15 Jan 2018
"This is a top end reserve, with opportunities to encounter wildlife in a way that is second to none. We encountered a large male leopard on the road as we approached the lodge and had an early morning game drive that enabled us both to spend time watching a female leopard feeding in a tree and then playing with her young, and to follow on foot a cheetah and her young - an absolutely amazing experience. The rooms and main lodge building are enormous, modern and luxurious, with unparalleled views across the reserve. Do not miss Okonjima Plains Camp!" See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr A
Alaro

"Okonjima Plains Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Jan 2018
"Certainly recommend the night drive- we saw over 10 brown hyaena, 6 porcupine, aardwolf and a lot more.

The leopard tracking itself feels a little contrived if you are used to the real thing though." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Frank & Cath
Retford

"Okonjima Plains Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 19 Nov 2017
"Brilliant drives with Felix - and only one puncture despite the thorny terrain!

Superb base for seeing leopards and cheetahs." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs & Mr J
Birmingham

"Favourite"

2 nights Arrived 10 Nov 2017
"We stayed here 9 years ago when the now standard rooms were new, they are still excellent and the word 'standard' does them a disservice. The new communal lounge area has many comfortable seating areas, as well as fires for colder days.

We booked a total of 5 activities and had 2 different guides for them, both were enthusiastic and showed us what we were hoping for, even if it wasn't always easy. As we were previous visitors we were also given a couple of treats which were much appreciated.

Everyone was extremely helpful and keen to talk about the animals and the work and life of everyone there, giving us more of an insight of life there." See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms C & Mr N
October

"Okonjima Plains Camp review"

1 night Arrived 9 Nov 2017
"Good - although after Safarihoek it felt a lot less exclusive - the lodge was bigger, less personalised and there were 8 of us on each of the drives.

However seeing cheetahs (on foot) and a leopard were both very special." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs P
Hook

"Africa- Cat plus Luxury lodge amazing"

2 nights Arrived 26 Oct 2017
"This was by far the most luxurious of the lodges we stayed during our 3 week trip and certainly lived up to expectations.

The accommodation, staff and food were outstanding.

The Afri-Cat experience was incredible and our guide for the 2 days was interesting, informative and personable which made it very special." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Lincs

"Okonjima Plains Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 24 Oct 2017
"We loved our stay at OKonjima. The standard rooms are vast and well equipped. The main reception and dining area is known as "the barn" and it is quite barn-like and echoey and there seemed to be problems assigning guests food and drink orders to their rooms on our first night, but it didn't happen again. It was the biggest placed we stayed at, but the staff were efficient serving meals and the food was good.

We had brilliant guide in Daniel. We went on the cheetah tracking with him just as a thunderstorm started to develop, but we still managed to see them and were able to walk up close to them. The next morning we went on the leopard tracking trip where we were not guaranteed success. However, Daniel was really tenacious and we were rewarded with a good sighting, waiting for the leopard to make her move on a young kudu. She missed her opportunity! We also went on a tour of the Africat Centre which was really interesting, to see the work they do and this was followed by an drive to see the collared cheetahs ready for release sleeping in the sunshine." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Peter & Helenka
UK

"Okonjima Plains Camp review"

1 night Arrived 21 Oct 2017
"Great situation although only there one night we had two safari trips one walking and one driving.

Guide was so helpful and found the cheetahs and leopards and took us so close

It's a big camp but the staff made it very personal" See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 51-60 of 361
95%
361 reviews of Okonjima Plains Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
290
59
8
4
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okonjima Nature Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okonjima Bush Camp

Okonjima Bush Camp

Roomy chalets, personal service and great food make Okonjima Bush Camp a comfortable base from which to explore the Okonjima Reserve.


97% (220 reviews)
Okonjima Villa

Okonjima Villa

Okonjima Villa is the most exclusive place to stay on Okonjima, offering guests world-class photographic opportunities.


100% (13 reviews)
Okonjima Bush Suite

Okonjima Bush Suite

Bush Suite is a luxurious, private two-bedroom retreat at Okonjima; track cheetah and leopard with your private guide, affording some great photo opportunities.


100% (6 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa