This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr K. from Egham

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

7

Excursions taken

1

Our autumn half-term break

Namibia between 24 Oct 2019 and 4 Nov 2019

Trip rating: Excellent
"We had a brilliant time - wonderful weather, stunning locations, beautiful drives, good wildlife sightings.

Absolutely nothing to complain about - Namibia is a great place to visit.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Not really - this is our second outing with Expert Africa (Sunvil) and we have really appreciated the service and guidance.

The advice has all been sound and the trips have gone very well."

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Ideal overnight"

1 night Arrived 25 Oct 2019
"Olive Grove is an ideal Windhoek overnight.

The rooms were charming and the meals absolutely delicious (possibly the best we encountered in Namibia).

A very welcoming first stop and one we would not hesitate to return to."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"Good base for a desert adventure"

2 nights Arrived 26 Oct 2019
"Kulala Desert Lodge is in a wonderful location - even getting there is quite an adventure.

The rooms were wonderful and the opportunity for some to sleep out on the roof. The overall service was fine, but a bit sloppy. We were not given fully accurate information on arrival and not fully briefed on possible activities. That said, it was correctly assumed we would visit the dunes in the morning and we thoroughly enjoyed our outing on the fat-tire bikes - not to be missed!

Food was fine, but definitely the poorest of our ten days in Namibia.

This lodge could improve its game I think - it is trying to be high end but falls a bit short."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Lagoon Lodge

Lagoon Lodge

"Ideal Walvis base"

2 nights Arrived 28 Oct 2019
"Lagoon Lodge is superbly located on the edge of the lagoon, with flamingos virtually in the garden.

Rooms were comfortable and well decorated. Parking was fairly easy although a bit of a vehicle shuffle was required on one of our evenings. Breakfast was decent, if not exciting - service was a bit offhand and we ended up missing out on the hot option on our first morning because we were forgotten about and then ran out of time. The host recommended a restaurant which was shut (odd advice).

We would probably stay there again if we revisit Walvis Bay, but might have a quick look around for other options first."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Kayaking with seals

Kayaking with seals

"A memorable morning!"

29 Oct 2019 • Morning excursion

This is an unforgettable experience.

To kayak amongst curious seals which you can virtually touch is an incredible wildlife experience. The trip to Pelican Point is also very good, with lots of wildlife to see along the way. Really really good outing and much enjoyed by all the family. The guides were great.

The only - small - thing they could have done is explain a bit more clearly what the plan for the kayaking actually was - we were launched without any clear indication of where we were going, how far, what the guides themselves would be doing.

No worries - we soon figured it out! Don't miss this trip.
Excellent
Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge

"Outstanding lodge in magical location"

1 night Arrived 30 Oct 2019
"This is a brilliant lodge in a thrilling location at the base of the mountains.

The lodge is superbly run and had by far the best service of any we stayed at. The food was outstanding.

We have nothing to complain about, other than that out our stay was not long enough."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Andersson's at Ongava

Andersson's at Ongava

"A stylish home in the bush"

1 night Arrived 31 Oct 2019
"Beautiful rooms that look out onto a small waterhole. Very decent service and quality food.

Wildlife viewing is a bit challenging because the Ongava reserve is mainly thick scrub. That said, the wildlife that we did see offered close views, and we drank , .

We very much liked the stay here and - again - felt it was too short."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Mokuti Etosha Lodge

Mokuti Etosha Lodge

"Oasis in the dusty Etosha desert"

1 night Arrived 1 Nov 2019
"This has the feel of a luxury country club set in a green oasis, surrounded by dry bush. The grounds were very good for birds and other wildlife.

The rooms were decent, although a bit sparsely decorated. We had problems with one of the cooler units in our adjoining rooms.

Prices for meals and drinks were too high in my opinion. Other lodges charged less for better quality. Mokuti is very conveniently located, but seems to be "milking" mass tourism and exploiting the fact that it can almost charge whatever it likes - so it does.

This was our least favourite overnight, while still enjoying it!"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Brilliant safari experience"

1 night Arrived 2 Nov 2019
"This lodge is very very good - superbly located in the middle of its own reserve. The main dining area is vast and architecturally impressive.

The food was terrific, the overall service excellent, and the activities very exciting. We enjoyed our afternoon radio tracking a leopard. The accommodation is just unbelievable - we had panoramic windows out onto the plains, with jackals and springbok pottering past our veranda, and warthogs attempting to steal our breakfast."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team