This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp

Reviews of Okonjima Plains Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

361 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Okonjima Plains Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 40 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Okonjima Plains Camp.
Leopard

100% success

Cheetah

81% success

Wild dog

18% success

Oryx

100% success

Giraffe

97% success

Zebra

94% success

Wildebeest

75% success

Eland

60% success

Brown Hyena

57% success

White Rhino

19% success

Aardvark

12% success

Spotted Hyena

11% success

Pangolin

4% success

Showing 61-70 of 361
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs J
Bristol

"Wonderful to see cheetahs from so close up"

1 night Arrived 10 Oct 2017
"This was one of the highlights of our tour.

Our room was excellent, very spacious with all the facilities we might require and a huge window from which to view passing plains game. The cheetah tracking which we did on our first afternoon was both informative and exciting as we walked very close to two resting cheetahs who did not appear to be unduly bothered by our presence.

The following morning we also enjoyed our visit with guide, Matthew, to the rehabilitation centre where we saw cheetah at various stages of rehabilitation and then visited the Africat foundation and learned more about the foundation and its work which was very interesting." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr D
Cambridge

"Okonjima Plains Camp"

2 nights Arrived 8 Oct 2017
"Okonjima is on a big cat reserve, and was our key time to see the predators. We were not disappointed, seeing leopards and cheetah, out in the environment where they hunt their food. A truly amazing time. We also had an upgraded room upon arrival, and the area around the lodge was safe to walk in, so we walked for miles. The main lodge is very contemporary, with a watering hole right outside." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs F & Mr N
Surrey

"Good rooms"

1 night Arrived 6 Oct 2017
"Mixed feeelings here - standard rooms are anything but - really large and quite private chalet with good view.

Could easily have had 2 nights as would have liked to looked at African. It feels quite large with the/assumption that they will tell guest what trips to go on. Having said that, the leopard tracking was superb.

Big negative was this was the ONLY place that would not cater for gluten free - I am coeliac- although it was marked on our booking, we checked on arrival and when we came to dinner. Waitress insisted the filo pastry cup starter was gf - obviously not so could nt eat and no alternative.

Main had a sauce that I chose not to eat, she offered fruit salad for dessert - fine - then turned up with panda cotta and said it was only eggs and cream so would be ok. No confidence at all so did not eat.

It was a shame that it spoilt our last night and they need to train staff" See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Poor
Mr & Mrs B
Herts

"Fantastic sunset to end the holiday off with"

1 night Arrived 4 Oct 2017
"Only time for one game drive but had some close up views of a leopard and a pair of cheetahs followed by sundowners on the crest of the ridge to the west of the lodge. The sunset was magnificient.

The dinner in the evening was particularly good and there was local entertainment and also excellent company with some visitors who we had met up with in Bullsport.

Just one point when we arrived we had been allocated to a leopard drive, rather than the cheetah one. We were not aware of this distinction assuming that all drives were the same. We tried to change this because we wanted to see the cheetahs but this proved to be not possible. As it turned out we saw both on our drive, plus the sunset, but thought we should mention this." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Miss G
Thetford

"A great way to end our trip"

1 night Arrived 28 Sep 2017
"Absolutely loved our stay here. This is certainly a very special place and I only wish we had spent more than 1 night as there is so much to explore.

Went out on Leopard tracking activity which was lots of fun and finally found the leopard we were search for laying out in the open. Got some brilliant photos before she slunk back into the bush. Wonderful game guides with a vast amount of knowledge and experience. So much to look at within the reception area and great curio shop.

Will definitely revisit here for longer next time." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Muz
Colchester

"Meet the cats at Okonjima"

2 nights Arrived 26 Sep 2017
"great to learn about the leopards and cheetas

the camp is very up market and a lovely place to stay" See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr K & Mrs N
UK

"Okonjima Plains Camp review"

1 night Arrived 23 Sep 2017
"This was our second stay at Plains Camp, we were upgraded to a view room (as one was available) which was a nice surprise and apparently standard practice.

Staff were welcoming and efficient.

The long barn which serves as lounge/bar and eating area is a great feature and the small floodlit waterhole draws a constant stream of small game animals and birds.

Our only criticism was the food offered for the evening meal - we felt it was very limited, however the breakfast was very good with a wide choice on offer.
Being a comfortable 3 hour drive from Windhoek it is a good first night stop on the way to Etosha or Damaraland." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mrs K
London

"Luxury retreat - with Cheetahs!"

1 night Arrived 15 Sep 2017
"This was a brilliant end to our trip, and a welcome bit of luxury after the hassle and bother of Okaukuejo.

The plains view room we had was brilliant - huge, luxurious with a great view of the plains and the wandering warthogs and springbok - and the food in the lodge was great quality.

But the draw here is the cats. We were really pleased to get a very up-close view of two cheetahs during our afternoon excursion.

My only regret is that we didn't stay for more nights and weren't able to go on the leopard-tracking drive. Next time!" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr & Dr A
Cleveland

"A real treat"

1 night Arrived 15 Sep 2017
"We stopped here for a single night to break the journey from Etosha to Windhoek - and wished that we had stayed for two!

We were fortunate to be upgrade to a 'View Room' - which was delightful with a panoramic window view out onto the reserve, and huge bathroom with walk-in shower.

The activities here focus on tracking the collared cheetahs and leopards. We had just one drive, and got to walk up to within feet of two cheetahs relaxing after a feed - a really magical moment. We had to leave to early the next morning to didn't have the chance to look for leopards - but did see lots of other animals on the drive back out of the reserve. It would certainly not have been difficult to fill two days!" See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Cambridge 4
UK

"Great start to our trip"

2 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2017
"On arrival the staff were efficient & welcoming. The accommodation was lovely & we had tremendous views.

Food was excellent. A few issues with the gluten free for one of our party, but just that they forgot from time to time. They were geared up.

We very much enjoyed the activities available to us, especially the walking safari to find cheetahs." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 61-70 of 361
95%
361 reviews of Okonjima Plains Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
290
59
8
4
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okonjima Nature Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okonjima Bush Camp

Okonjima Bush Camp

Roomy chalets, personal service and great food make Okonjima Bush Camp a comfortable base from which to explore the Okonjima Reserve.


97% (220 reviews)
Okonjima Villa

Okonjima Villa

Okonjima Villa is the most exclusive place to stay on Okonjima, offering guests world-class photographic opportunities.


100% (13 reviews)
Okonjima Bush Suite

Okonjima Bush Suite

Bush Suite is a luxurious, private two-bedroom retreat at Okonjima; track cheetah and leopard with your private guide, affording some great photo opportunities.


100% (6 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa