This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Family K from Florida

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

9

Excursions taken

0

My May 2019 trip

Namibia between 26 May 2019 and 14 Jun 2019

Trip rating: Excellent
"We loved our trip and really loved the places we stayed. The only thing I might change is that every other day we had long drives. This was mostly unavoidable because we wanted to cover a lot of ground but the long drive from the middle camp n Etosha to the camp outside could have been avoided but then again we did like that private camp. Maruska did a great job overall and we appreciated her guidance."

Arranged By Maruska Adye-Rowe


Villa Violet

Villa Violet

"Villa Violet review"

1 night Arrived 26 May 2019
"We loved the Villa Violet. It was comfy and food was great and a great spot to relax after the long flight."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 27 May 2019
"We also loved Kulala Desert Lodge. We liked the ambiance and the setting was gorgeous. It was nice to be closer to Sousselvlei as well--but meant we did the tour with the Lodge instead of on our own--would have been a real pain to drive back to the entrance. But we liked going with a guide for this as we wanted to information. The one nit I have but it was fine is that we ended up climbing one of the smaller dunes instead of Big Daddy and had we realized we had a choice, we would have climbed Big Daddy--I think it was because our group was not very fit. But we had a lovely time."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Sandfields Guesthouse

Sandfields Guesthouse

"Great"

2 nights Arrived 29 May 2019
"the proprietor was very helpful and thoughtful and booked us dinner b4 we arrived as we arrived a bit late--a nice surprise. We did the did the Sandboarding -which was a lot of fun and enjoyed Swakop."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Lovely"

2 nights Arrived 31 May 2019
"We also loved this lodge and the layout. We were lucky as we saw desert elephant the evening we arrived. We drove ourselves to the different spots and so just used it as a base. We enjoyed Twyfelfontain but the organ pipes could be skipped. We really loved the petrified forest on the way to Etosha."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 2 Jun 2019
"These camps were obviously a step down from the lodges. The food was very average and pricey for what it was but we were there for the game so it was fine. We loved the water hole and saw so many rhino which was very exciting. Driving around the next day or so was good but it was even more dry than I remembered and many parts felt so desolate. Interesting to see for sure."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Poor
Facilities
Average
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

"Onguma Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Jun 2019
"The drive was long to get there so lovely to arrive there. The food was excellent here. Best we had so far."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

"Halali Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 6 Jun 2019
"Again, definitely a step down from the lodges. The rooms were not quite as nice as the first Etosha lodging. We loved the water hole though."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Poor
Facilities
Good
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Okonjima Plains Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Jun 2019
"It was beautiful. The Cheetah were more domesticated and cages and didn't really anticipate that. It was interesting to learn more about what they are trying to do to help the cats. We had an amazing sighting of a leopard and watched it try to hunt for a long time--although we were totally cheating with the tracking we still enjoyed it. The food was the best here."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
River Crossing

River Crossing

"River Crossing review"

1 night Arrived 10 Jun 2019
"This was the only place we didn't love. The shower didn't work properly and they tried to fix it but didn't succeed. Then my dinner was terrible--it was ridiculously salty (and I like salty food). I told the lady and she took it away and took off the bill. What we didn't love is that the way the menu read, it had no prices and looked like a pre-fix meal. They asked what we wanted for desert and we assumed by the way they presented, asked... it was part of the meal and so we each chose--not really needing or wanting and then came to find out that it was not part of meal. There were a few other minor things so absolutely not a big deal but was not our favorite and would not be dying to go back."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Average
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Poor

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team