This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs BW from The Sands

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

9

Excursions taken

2

Trip to Namibia and Vic Falls

Namibia and 1 other country between 25 Jul 2019 and 12 Aug 2019

Trip rating: Excellent
"Overall our trip was amazing. I had a good idea of the route that we wanted to follow and Sabina did a great job of juggling the lodge bookings, getting the car organised etc.

A couple of comments that hopefully help future guests:

- The distances are far and we felt that 2 nights max at any particular spot was not really enough. We wish we had stayed 3 nights at Hoodia and Onguma, both of which were fantastic.

- Bullsport was awful - see my review. We should have gone straight to Hoodia.

- Didn't like Etosha Safari Camp. I had really wanted to stay at Okakeujo but was told it was full. Was all accomodation really full there? Could more have been done to get a spot there?"

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Galton House

Galton House

"Great start to trip at Galton House"

1 night Arrived 25 Jul 2019
"Galton House was the perfect start to our 2 week trip. Great accommodation and service. They suggested a good restaurant for dinner and organised a shuttle to and from the restaurant.

Only issue was hot water not working in a couple of rooms but alternative showers provided and the issue was quickly resolved."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

"To be avoided"

1 night Arrived 26 Jul 2019
"The only reason we stayed here was because of the advertised kloof that Bullspoort is supposedly at the base of for "easy access" and walking. It turns out that the kloof is about 5km away and the rock pools only accessable if you do the all day walk which requires ferrying to and from by vehicle.

The staff were not particularly friendly and one got the sense that everything needed to be done according to the way the owner wanted it done otherwise the staff would be in trouble. Examples were "sorry I cannot give you the wifi code, you need to get that from the manager, we are not allowed to know what it is" to the staff getting extremely agitated when we were not all seated at 7.30 for dinner. Then the poor staff members have to serve you dinner and then sit at the table with you making small talk which was very awkward.

When we did have any dealings with the owner he was pretty surly."
Terrible
Location
Terrible
Service
Poor
Activities
Poor
Rooms
Average
Food
Poor
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

"Fabulous"

2 nights Arrived 27 Jul 2019
"Our stay at Hoodia was fabulous and we only wish we had stayed longer.

Tomas, the owner, greeted us on arrival with plenty of enthusiasm which did not wane throughout our stay. This is reflected by the happy staff who provided impeccable service throughout.

The lodge setting is amazing, set along a dry river bed looking out over a mountain which glows red in the early morning and evening. The rooms are spread out along the river giving a wonderful sense of space and privacy. They are appointed in a "safari style" including an optional outdoor shower.

We did the "sunset drinks" option on the first night where they set you up on a nearby koppie with drinks and snacks and leave you to enjoy an amazing african sunset. One of the highlights of our entire holiday.

The trip to Sossusvlei was absolutely amazing. It was surprising just how busy it was but the Hoodia team contrived to make it feel like we were the only people there. The thoughtfulness and planning that went into the day really did make it special. You got the sense that other lodges that perhaps have closer proximity feel they don't need to make the effort. I would recommend Hoodia as being THE team to take you on a trip to Sossus. Fascinating information about the geology/ fauna/ flora + going to deadvlei via the empty hidden vlei topped off with a wonderful lunch at Elim dune.

Overall we had an amazing time and look forward to going back."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Hoodia Sossusvlei excursion

Hoodia Sossusvlei excursion

"Amazing"

28 Jul 2019 • All-day excursion

The trip to Sossusvlei was absolutely amazing.

It was surprising just how busy it was but the Hoodia team contrived to make it feel like we were the only people there. The thoughtfulness and planning that went into the day really did make it special. You got the sense that other lodges that perhaps have closer proximity feel they don't need to make the effort. I would recommend Hoodia as being THE team to take you on a trip to Sossus. Fascinating information about the geology/ fauna/ flora + going to deadvlei via the empty hidden vlei topped off with a wonderful lunch at Elim dune.
Excellent
The Delight

The Delight

"Funky and functional"

2 nights Arrived 29 Jul 2019
"Fun place to stay as a base in Swakopmund.

Funky modern hotel with good rooms, service and food."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Coast and Sandwich Harbour

Coast and Sandwich Harbour

"Brilliant"

30 Jul 2019 • All-day excursion

Fabulous trip with Rudy who was a superb guide.

Unfortunately due to a large swell running the route to Sandwich harbour was cut off but Rudy made it a fantastic day anyway. Flamingo's, massive waves, dunes, lots of interesting facts and history, great lunch in the dunes all made it a trip worth doing.
Excellent
Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani Mountain Camp

"Magnificent setting"

2 nights Arrived 31 Jul 2019
"Wow - what an amazing setting for a safari camp in the huge boulders.

Rooms have amazing views, are well appointed and are very private. Daily sundowners on top of the koppie was a real highlight.

Brilliant game drive in the morning where we saw desert elephant and lions!

Service was fantastic.

Only criticism was that they sometimes tried to make the food too sophisticated. They are in the middle of nowhere so people get it that they don't always have access to "posh" ingredients. Food was wonderful when they kept it simple but sometimes missed the mark when they tried to be too creative eg smoked salmon was frozen."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Etosha Safari Camp

Etosha Safari Camp

"Quirky"

2 nights Arrived 2 Aug 2019
"The "shebeen" dining/ bar area was fun and lively with live music each evening. The buffet food was plentiful with a decent range of options. Depending on what you chose some if it was good and some poor.

The room was a bit like a prison cell with virtually no veranda and the bush came right up the front door so no ability to see out. Extremely functional which had us heading immediately back to the shebeen for a glass of wine."
Average
Location
Average
Service
Average
Rooms
Poor
Food
Average
Onguma Tree Top Camp

Onguma Tree Top Camp

"Wonderful stay at Onguma Tree top camp"

2 nights Arrived 4 Aug 2019
"We had a fabulous stay at Onguma Tree top camp. Luckily we had all 4 rooms to ourselves and it was the perfect place to unwind after 2 weeks on the road. We could lounge on the deck all day watching animals come to the waterhole without needing to go out at all.

The team were brilliant and we ate like kings.

Could have done with a few more days here!

Downside was we booked an evening game drive which was awful. Ranger started out by making the mistake of asking what animals we would like to see to make the perfect drive. we said Cheetah as we hadn't see any. He then spent the whole time trying to find cheetah getting more and more anxious and in the end we saw no game at all except the odd impala which we absolutely understand can happen but he should have made it more about the bush experience rather than ticking some animals. Should have stayed in the lodge."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Great stay"

2 nights Arrived 6 Aug 2019
"Having been on the road for 2 weeks already and having seen plenty of wildlife we were happy to just chill at Okonjima.

The main building and the rooms are very modern and new. Loved lying in bed in the morning looking out the most amazing picture window at the animals out in the veld. Rooms were huge with great facilities and completely private.

We spent the day lounging at the pool and chose not to go on the leopard tracking game drive but friends who did had a great time. We were disappointed that they no longer have free roaming cheetah."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Victoria Falls Hotel

Victoria Falls Hotel

"Great stay at the Vic Falls Hotel"

3 nights Arrived 9 Aug 2019
"After 2 weeks driving around Namibia it was wonderful to relax at the Vic Falls Hotel and wash the dust out of our ears.

Wonderful stay at the grand old dame which really does take one back in time.

Cannot fault it except for the cost which is pretty eye watering having come from from Namibia which was was extremely good value."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team