This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp

Reviews of Okonjima Plains Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

361 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Okonjima Plains Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 40 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Okonjima Plains Camp.
Leopard

100% success

Cheetah

81% success

Wild dog

18% success

Oryx

100% success

Giraffe

97% success

Zebra

94% success

Wildebeest

75% success

Eland

60% success

Brown Hyena

57% success

White Rhino

19% success

Aardvark

12% success

Spotted Hyena

11% success

Pangolin

4% success

Showing 71-80 of 361
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs H & Mr M
Madrid

"Good stopover to/from Etosha"

2 nights Arrived 10 Sep 2017
"We were kindly upgraded to a view room and greatly appreciated a private dinner at the boma. Service was excellent and so was the food.

The activities, in spite of the number of guests, were well organized, but we missed a real wild feeling as all cats we saw were collared,

Self guided walks were a bonus !!" See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Dr M.
Loughborough

"Leopard viewing"

1 night Arrived 9 Sep 2017
"This camp is relatively new but the accommodation is similar in many resects to that at Bush camp.

The food was excellent as was the choice of wine.

Our morning game drive yielded sightings of two separate leopard, one of which was relaxing in a worn away termite mound." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia; 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
namibia
UK

"Okonjima Plains Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Sep 2017
"Our standard room was very spacious and well designed, with a large picture window to observe the wildlife.

The restaurant made every effort to provide interesting food for a vegetarian, who does eat fish.

The staff were very friendly and informative." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Gurinder & Jill
UK

"The Gem in the heartlands of Namibia"

2 nights Arrived 3 Sep 2017
"Okonjima Plains Camp was superb. We really enjoyed our stay at this Camp. Our garden/bush camp room (no 1) was absolutely fabulous, it was very spacious with a great bathroom and even better views. The main complex eating/relaxing area is also exceptional - fabulous aspect straight out to the marvellous watering hole. Food was very good, and the service we received was superb. The game drives are very good, every effort is made to get close to the wildlife (even if it means bursting a tyre on the safari vehicle!!). The rangers has vg knowledge and didnt hesitate in sharing this with guests. We would most definitely stay here again." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr&Mrs D + kids
Herts

"Okonjima Plains Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Aug 2017
"The welcome and check-in was really functional and miserable. After that, all the other staff were absolutely fantastic - and a special mention should bo to Rikki and our guide Immanuel.

Stayed in the family view room - two fully interconnecting large hotel-style rooms forming a single unit isolated from others and overlooking the bush. Very nice, and a welcome opportunity for children and adults to be fully separated.

Breakfast was a buffet - perfectly fine. Lunch was a bizarre set-menu - but could easily be avoided with a late breakfast, midday fruit and early afternoon cake! Dinner was fine and included a kids option if ordered in advance.

Visited Africat - which was interesting - including various animal parts and veterinary equipment which the kids could touch.

The highlight though was undoubtedly the game drives. The cats are tagged, so that may affect some people's appetite for the camp. However, with an exceptional guide who was brilliant with children and got the balance just right between finding leopard and cheetah, and observing everything else in the reserve, the kids found it exceptional. We saw lots of game and birdlife. We watched a leopard and two cubs very active and very close-by for over an hour. We saw porcupine and three brown hyenas together and many other great sights.

Very nice pool and surrounding area." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
J Family
Washington

"Okonjima Plains Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 12 Aug 2017
"This ended up being a surprise highlight of our trip. Our kids (two older teens and 9 year old) absolutely loved it and voted it their favorite lodge. And it was great for the parents as well. The plains camp is a great choice for families -- the place is new, with a stylish retro modern camp vibe. Our adjoining rooms were perfect and we had a great view of the reserve and wildlife from our bedroom even though it was a standard rather than "view" room. Despite the relative size of the camp, the food was excellent: interesting and well prepared.

The activities were the best of our trip. We took three excursions -- leopard tracking (we saw a mom and cub from 5 meters), cheetah tracking (we saw two), and a night drive (a caracal and other animals we'd never seen) -- and the guide was knowledgeable, highly skilled, and funny. We especially appreciated that he arranged for us to bring our 9 year old on the cheetah tracking (ordinarily there is a 12 year minimum) by keeping her in the vehicle and ensuring that she had a great view of the cheetahs. And to top it all off, the staff was warmest and most welcoming of our trip. They were very skilled but also relaxed, engaging, funny, and able to build a personal rapport with the guests.

Coming here after Etosha was perfect as it enable us to see cats that one can't expect to see in Etosha and do so in a learning environment that helps conservation efforts. Highly recommended." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
The E family
Bath

"Okonjima Plains Camp"

2 nights Arrived 26 Jul 2017
"Our third visit and better than ever. Very friendly and welcoming. Excellent meals. Cheetah and leopard excursions a must. Special thanks to Gideon for finding two cheetahs and two leopards on our excursion." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Family V
Belgium

"Overwhelming Namibian Safari experience"

2 nights Arrived 13 Jul 2017
"We arrived at Okonjima Plains Camp straight from the plane and were overwhelmed by the view from our rooms as well as from the main lodge. We spent the first afternoon just gazing at the animals passing in front of the room and had our first sundowners right there.

The next day we went on the cheetah- and the leopard tracking drive with Peter and were again overwhelmed by the wildlife we saw, including a leopard at the end of the drive.

Food was great and evening atmosphere around the fireplace on the terrace was memorable.

On the second morning I had a run towards the Bush Camp and was accompanied by four giraffes!!!" See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
Wellington

"Highly recommended."

1 night Arrived 10 Jul 2017
"A highlight. Lovely accommodation and food.

Cheetah tracking and sundowner drinks super.

Sorry didn’t have the energy to do the morning game drive. Thought the trip to the Africat centre was expensive but regarded it as a contribution to the work they are doing.

Very nice gift shop - sorry I didn’t buy a few more things there - but rather a slow purchasing procedure." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs L
Brighton

"Okonjima Plains Camp review"

1 night Arrived 7 Jul 2017
"We upgraded our room for the last night of our stay and it was worth it - there was a good view of warthogs and other animals from the deck and it had very comfy beds.
We were glad to see cheetahs on the excursion.
A well designed dining room but the service could have been better at breakfast time. We kept having to go and ask the staff for cooked food and hot drinks. They were friendly though." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 71-80 of 361
95%
361 reviews of Okonjima Plains Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
290
59
8
4
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okonjima Nature Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okonjima Bush Camp

Okonjima Bush Camp

Roomy chalets, personal service and great food make Okonjima Bush Camp a comfortable base from which to explore the Okonjima Reserve.


97% (219 reviews)
Okonjima Villa

Okonjima Villa

Okonjima Villa is the most exclusive place to stay on Okonjima, offering guests world-class photographic opportunities.


100% (13 reviews)
Okonjima Bush Suite

Okonjima Bush Suite

Bush Suite is a luxurious, private two-bedroom retreat at Okonjima; track cheetah and leopard with your private guide, affording some great photo opportunities.


100% (6 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa