This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp

Reviews of Okonjima Plains Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

361 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Okonjima Plains Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 40 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Okonjima Plains Camp.
Leopard

100% success

Cheetah

81% success

Wild dog

18% success

Oryx

100% success

Giraffe

97% success

Zebra

94% success

Wildebeest

75% success

Eland

60% success

Brown Hyena

57% success

White Rhino

19% success

Aardvark

12% success

Spotted Hyena

11% success

Pangolin

4% success

Showing 81-90 of 361
Duration
Arrival date
Mr M
Chatteris

"Okonjima Plain Camp "

1 night Arrived 4 Jul 2017
"Big, busy and efficiently run.

We enjoyed the evening safari to view radio-tracked leopards, but think the cheetah viewing over-priced given that the animals are in a contained area and used to cars and people - not the real thing!" See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr AB
SW London

"Close to a guarantee for leopard"

1 night Arrived 7 Jun 2017
"Okonjima has a number of electronically tagged leopard and cheetah.

The upside is that you are highly likely to see both animals during your stay - although officially they rate your chances as 50:50. The downside (especially after our experience in Mundulea) is that the experience is obviously, whilst not guaranteed, contrived using tracking devices. So I guess Okonjima does what it "says on the tin".

We saw two leopard, a mother and, separately, her cub. We saw the cub catch a guinea fowl in mid flight, quite extraordinary and the next morning (6 am departure) we found two young cheetah, which allowed us to walk within 10 metres.

The lodge itself is very comfortable as are the individual rooms. Food was good.

Go there if you want to maximise your chances of seeing leopard and cheetah." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr JM & co
Portugal

"Okonjima Plains Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 13 May 2017
"Another highlight of our trip.
Excellent food and service,great safari rides.
Saw cheetahs and leopards.
Lovely accomodation." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
raedrian
Canada

"Spectacular resort, Okonjima"

2 nights Arrived 19 Apr 2017
"The main building is huge, modern and filled with pictures of big cats and Namibia of years gone by.

Is seemed a bit sterile compared to the other resort but no less impressive. We stayed in the View Room and its highlight is a huge picture window looking over the plain were the wild animals grazed. It was awesome at night as the moon lit up the landscape and seeing animals while lying in bed was a delight. The safaris were keyed to finding cheetahs and leopards, the resort's claim to fame, and we were not disappointed. The cheetahs were found using their tracking collars and were asleep in the middle of the day.

The leopards were more challenging even with their collars on and we enjoyed tracking them through the bush. At first it seemed artificial to be tracking animals with radio collars on but realizing that they are there to be rehabilitated and given that the very tough nature of the terrain would make it extremely difficult to find these cats, we got comfortable with the program." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr H
Portsmouth

"Okonjima Plains Camp review"

1 night Arrived 17 Apr 2017
"This was a brilliant start to our holiday! During the drive up to the camp we saw lots of animals including baboon, zebra and warthogs and there was a family of warthogs living near the hotel!
We had a lovely spacious, clean room which overlooked the plain and the small balcony was great for observing the antelope and birds.

We did a leopard drive here, which was a great introduction to safari drives in Namibia. Our guide was excellent and we were successful in finding a leopard. We also saw lots of other animals and beautiful scenery.

Lovely dining area which looked out onto firepits and a watering hole.

There were also self guided walks which you could do from this hotel and we did the Giraffe Trail on the morning after we checked out which was amazing. Walking in the bush was a completely different experience to game drives and we saw several varieties of antelope and a tortoise at close range. The view over the plains was amazing and the walk was well marked along the way.

Our only wish was that we had time to stay here another night and do one of the other game drives (e.g tracking wild dogs) and another walk!
" See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr B
Chiswick

"Okonjima Plains Camp review"

1 night Arrived 12 Apr 2017
"The rooms were lovely. It was great to wake up and see springbok and warthogs.

After the wonderful wildlife experiences we had had elsewhere in Namibia we were rather sceptical about the game drive involving radio tracked leopards, however the area involved is large and beautiful and it was very exciting tracking the leopard. We got a good view of her but even more exciting was getting a good view of a brown hyena which wandered past our vehicle.

We had booked half board but arrived in time for lunch. Unfortunately there was not an option to have a light lunch and we were all charged N$120 for a lunch that was not much more that a wrap plus pudding.

The dining area is large and rather impersonal. The system for recording food and drinks ordered was chaotic. Our bills at the end of our meals were incorrect then our bill at check out did not reflect what we had signed after each meal. Although the lady on reception knew that we were keen to check out promptly, she said that she did not have the authority to change the bill and seemed reluctant to contact the manageress. Fortunately when she arrived she did sort it out however it meant that there was a considerable delay and left a bad feeling to finish with.
" See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Poor
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs S
Hassocks

"Okonjima Plains Camp review"

1 night Arrived 6 Apr 2017
"The only thing wrong with this place is that we didn't have a chance to make the most of all the possible activities available here.

We arrived late afternoon and had to leave early for the airport. This is another wonderful place. The chalet (no 3 with view) was spectacular. The design and furnishings were magnificent. One of the best rooms we have ever stayed in!

It had everything - a reading area, a desk, a huge shower, separate loo, double basins, two double beds, decking with comfortable chairs and a lounger and last but not least a great view of the reserve.

The public area, with shop, bar, places to sit and restaurant was also really well designed. We enjoyed the food and the service again was very good.

We intend to come back for longer!
" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr B & Mrs C
Glasgow

"Cheetah visit is a must do!"

1 night Arrived 2 Apr 2017
"We arrived early . Room was ready . A commercial hotel welcome - no singing , lemonade or towels as at later lodges . Just sign here , and here , and here . Superb room close to the centre and car parked just outside .

Within 10 minutes we are sitting on a veranda day bed watching giraffe , ostrich , springbok , other antelopes , eagles through 600mm lens or binoculars . It was entralling . It was only our second day - we were easily impressed - but it is still a vivid memory ! A warthog family patrolling the long grass within a stones throw occupied us for an hour or two! Small birds everywhere including a pair building a nest just above our heads within the veranda roof .
Food was good - no choice except rare game - but service cool and erratic . Very few moths . Large outside terrace with fire pit good before and after dinner . Cheetah visit was superb ! You are so close - 2 metres - you can hear them purr . Cheetah visit was also a game drive and on our second day was great for close up zebra , antelope , ostrich and wildebeest . " See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Poor
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mikel
USA

"Excellent Lodging, great Safari guides"

2 nights Arrived 1 Apr 2017
"Our "standard room" was a really nice building with a great bathroom and huge view window in front of the two beds with a fantastic view over the plain. The main lodge is a really nice place to sit, relax and eat. The food was good, the service a bit quirky (due to language and inexperience, but not effort) though certainly acceptable. Our Safari guide was amazing. Lots of energy, excellent communication, he worked very hard for about an hour to track down a leopard with a radio collar. He drove through parts of the bush that I didn't think he could get in and out of but he did so expertly. We saw many leopards and cheetahs, some baboons and then also the usual game that is on your plate later in the evening. This is a very well managed camp and with regard to game the most viewing we had of the four we stayed at. Granted, having radio collars on helps them find the animals and it's not quite the same "wild" experience you get in a national park or some of the other reserves but we were very happy to see the animals non the less." See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
Chiswick

"Wonderful place to see wild cats"

2 nights Arrived 27 Mar 2017
"Staff are charming and the accommodation was super comfortable, large and airy. Would recommend two or three nights, depending on how fast you like to see things before moving on - there's a good pool area and you might want to relax a bit, especially if it is the first or last stop before Windhoek. We loved seeing the cats and in particular tracking and finding the leopards.
However we came away with a big question: does the 'business model' here actually work? We were told that they had lost 12 of 15 cheetahs last year, most of them to leopards. If this is the case, then clearly leopards and cheetahs can't and don't co-exist. So what is the point of attempting to rehabilitate cheetahs if they then become leopard food? We were told that it had proved difficult to relocate animals of either species and this really did lave us wondering if the whole thesis of the camp was badly founded - much as we loved it, we didn't feel like contributing extra money because it seemed to us that the rehabilitation work simply wasn't working. We were told that attempts had been made to neuter female leopards in order to reduce their estimated population of around 35 - but the male leopards had then killed the two neutered female, for reasons unclear. We heard that the next plan was to clear two thirds of the reserve in order to create a landscape more suitable for cheetahs - but we couldn't help wondering if this would work, and if it doesn't - what then?" See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 81-90 of 361
95%
361 reviews of Okonjima Plains Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
290
59
8
4
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okonjima Nature Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okonjima Bush Camp

Okonjima Bush Camp

Roomy chalets, personal service and great food make Okonjima Bush Camp a comfortable base from which to explore the Okonjima Reserve.


97% (219 reviews)
Okonjima Villa

Okonjima Villa

Okonjima Villa is the most exclusive place to stay on Okonjima, offering guests world-class photographic opportunities.


100% (13 reviews)
Okonjima Bush Suite

Okonjima Bush Suite

Bush Suite is a luxurious, private two-bedroom retreat at Okonjima; track cheetah and leopard with your private guide, affording some great photo opportunities.


100% (6 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa