This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp

Reviews of Okonjima Plains Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

361 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Okonjima Plains Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 40 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Okonjima Plains Camp.
Leopard

100% success

Cheetah

81% success

Wild dog

18% success

Oryx

100% success

Giraffe

97% success

Zebra

94% success

Wildebeest

75% success

Eland

60% success

Brown Hyena

57% success

White Rhino

19% success

Aardvark

12% success

Spotted Hyena

11% success

Pangolin

4% success

Showing 91-100 of 361
Duration
Arrival date
Ms & Mr KF
London

"Lots of cats"

2 nights Arrived 23 Mar 2017
"The rooms here were great. The facilities were good- lovely pool area and. nice area for eating.

The food was yummy. Tasty breakfast and afternoon tea in particular.

The cats were amazing- cheetah walk was something we won't forget and looking for leopards was also great. Guides very knowledgeable here." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
K & J, J & R
UK

"A good visit"

2 nights Arrived 8 Mar 2017
"We were in the Plains rooms which are outstanding. Every detail has been thought through.

Meals, reception and the bar are all in a huge building which deals well with the volume of throughput although some might find it a bit lacking in ambience. But, it's efficient and the staff are attentive and keen to please. That said it's going to be very busy in high season. The pool is good.

Looking at this from an East African safari point of view there's an awful lot of gates; it just doesn't feel very wild. But, on the hand, there was a higher bird and animal count than elsewhere, so it's swings and roundabouts.

Our driver (Peter) was modest and good and found (collared) leopard and cheetah on all our game drives, and did so discreetly through a headset rather than a crackling radio. But for all visitors there were only three cheetah 'in the wild' which produces a bit of viewing pressure.

Overall, Okonjiwa worked well. It's a good last stop before leaving to go home." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr J
BIggar

"Excellent place to end"

2 nights Arrived 8 Mar 2017
"We had three enjoyable trips with a very good guide and saw a wide variety of birds and animals.

We saw leopards both with collars and wild and we saw three young cheetahs on a kill. Birds excellent.

Swimming pool the best of the trip." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Colorado

"Okonjima Plains Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Mar 2017
"We left Okonjima absolutely loving it! The property is stunning and you feel like you're entering Jurassic Park as you drive through all the gates.

The lodge itself had us very worried because the decor is very industrial and has an unwelcoming feeling after leaving lodges with beautiful African decor. Thankfully, the staff, the activities, and the rooms completely changed our initial impression. The service was impeccable here and every single staff member made us feel welcome. The guides even sit down with you during breakfast to chat, which was so nice to get to talk to them outside of a tour setting.

The rooms are lovely. We stayed in a standard room and were happy we did not upgrade because these are so beautiful! I couldn't imagine needing or wanting more! The tours were so much fun. We were worried that leopard & cheetah tracking would be boring/artificial feeling after our wonderful self-drive through Etosha, but were pleasantly surprised at what an adventure this was! The meals were also outstanding- the best we had on this trip.

Okonjima is a wonderful place to round out your journey!" See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Prof B & Mr K
Delhi

"Okonjima Plains Camp review"

1 night Arrived 8 Feb 2017
"After Etosha, Okonjima Plains camp felt like we'd gone to heaven!

A gorgeous design, great meals and superb wildlife drives with Rohan van Wyck. The high point was getting up close to a cheetah as she ate from a springbok she'd killed.

I only wish we could have stayed longer and explored the place a bit more." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr K
Cinderford

"Okonjima Plains Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 6 Feb 2017
"What a stunner. gorgeous rooms with incredible views across bush filled with antelope. Great staff, good food. Unbelievable 4x4 trips. Did not want to leave" See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs G
Huntingdon

"Bit like a safari park "

2 nights Arrived 24 Jan 2017
"This felt a bit artificial after Mundulea, with the animals and humans kept in a 'safe zone' away from the predators in the 'danger zone' which could only be seen on expensive game drives. The room was beautiful with a great view of warthogs and springboks happily running around with no predators to worry about.

I liked being able to go on self-guided walks in the 'safe zone' but unfortunately late afternoon storms meant that we didn't get to see the cheetahs as the game drive was cancelled.

The service was good but the menu had no choice and the meat was tough and overcooked." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Mr & Mrs K
Kitchener

"The best place in Namibia! "

1 night Arrived 7 Jan 2017
"Okonjima Plains Camp is INCREDIBLE! From the huge reception/dining/living area to the tours, we did not stop being wowed!

We went on an afternoon guided tour, and tracked a cheetah on foot for about 20 minutes! It was a dream come true! Still to this day, I feel so grateful for that experience. Our guide was excellent, sharing interesting information about the area and even helping us to spot a leopard! The best tour we went on by far!

Our dinner was incredible, and they were so kind, gave us a special honeymoon table with complimentary pink sparkling wine!

Our room was big and beautiful and had an amazing view despite being their "garden room." We saw warthogs just outside our door.

The staff was cheerful and friendly, joking around with us and being very helpful!

A magical, wonderful place!" See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
P & S
Pickering

"Okonjima Plains Camp review"

1 night Arrived 13 Dec 2016
"We were upgraded to Bush Camp as this was our last night in Namibia. A very nice surprise. Really excellent facilities.

We took the evening game drive looking for Leopard. We found one and also a thunder & lightening storm complete with heavy rain! The drive was shortened because of the storm but we did see a Leopard!

We also went on the morning game drive and found Cheetah and Leopard, job done. The guide was excellent.

We would have liked a second day at Okonjima, one night was not enough! We had to leave at 11.00 to catch our plane home!" See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia; 6n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs M
Egham

"A definite to visit"

2 nights Arrived 22 Nov 2016
"An amazing place that does amazing work, it did not disappoint.

The chalets are wonderful with huge panoramic windows overlooking the plains to hills beyond. The main building is stunning and beautifully furnished, staff are very friendly, food good and the guides who take you on the cheetah and leopard tracking drives do their very best to find the animals for you - we saw both.

We would recommend this place any day." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 91-100 of 361
95%
361 reviews of Okonjima Plains Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
290
59
8
4
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okonjima Nature Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okonjima Bush Camp

Okonjima Bush Camp

Roomy chalets, personal service and great food make Okonjima Bush Camp a comfortable base from which to explore the Okonjima Reserve.


97% (219 reviews)
Okonjima Villa

Okonjima Villa

Okonjima Villa is the most exclusive place to stay on Okonjima, offering guests world-class photographic opportunities.


100% (13 reviews)
Okonjima Bush Suite

Okonjima Bush Suite

Bush Suite is a luxurious, private two-bedroom retreat at Okonjima; track cheetah and leopard with your private guide, affording some great photo opportunities.


100% (6 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa