This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp

Reviews of Okonjima Plains Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

361 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Okonjima Plains Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 40 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Okonjima Plains Camp.
Leopard

100% success

Cheetah

81% success

Wild dog

18% success

Oryx

100% success

Giraffe

97% success

Zebra

94% success

Wildebeest

75% success

Eland

60% success

Brown Hyena

57% success

White Rhino

19% success

Aardvark

12% success

Spotted Hyena

11% success

Pangolin

4% success

Showing 101-110 of 361
Duration
Arrival date
Ms J from
UK

"Okonjima Plains Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 15 Nov 2016
"We found all the staff to be extremely friendly at Okonjima.

We loved learning about the cheetahs and leopards.

The rooms had a superb view out across the bush and we had the opportunity to go on our own self guided walks, which is nice." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
buckets
UK

"Okonjima Plains Camp"

2 nights Arrived 9 Nov 2016
"Loved every minute of this.

We were very lucky with our game drives - we saw Leopards, Cheetahs, Wild Dogs etc. - our rangers were a delight and made us feel very welcome and fully informed.

Although a very large lodge, we were made to feel part of it by friendly staff." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mr R.
Malmesbury

"Okonjima Plains Camp review"

1 night Arrived 28 Oct 2016
"The largest camp we stayed in and it felt a lot more commercial - saying that we had a great stay and really enjoyed it - it just felt more impersonal than the other lodges.
We were upgraded to view rooms which was nice. The pool was lovely. Food could have been better - it was the only place where portions were quite small.

Our guide was fantastic - very good at spotting the little things (e.g. owls). We went on a game drive and saw a cheetah (allowed to do the last 15m on foot despite us having children) and a leopard up really close. Both were collared, but wonderful to see them so up close." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
D & D
Cork

"Fantastic cheetah and leopard sightings"

2 nights Arrived 19 Oct 2016
"This was a wonderful experience. The accommodation was outstanding - very spacious room with large windows for viewing passing kudu and oryx. The main restaurant/bar/lounge area was exceptionally well laid out with lovely areas for relaxing both indoors and out. The food was very good - especially the breakfast. The staff were attentive and friendly.

We went on both the leopard and cheetah tracking trips with our guide Gideon. On these trips we were lucky enough to come up close to a leopard and cheetahs. Walking near the cheetahs was a special experience. Our guide was able to explain all about the animal conservation efforts being made and it made for a fascinating insight into the local area.

Overall this was an extremely enjoyable stay. The gift shop was good too!" See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs P
Waterloovi

"Okonjima Plains Camp review"

1 night Arrived 15 Oct 2016
"excellent in all aspects except room lacked air con which in the the dry season & 40C made sleep almost impossible
the game drives were excellent as was the food & the main accomodation" See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr R & Mrs N
NI

"Great choice at Plains Camp"

2 nights Arrived 4 Oct 2016
"The 23km drive from the main road was worth it. The reception at The Barn with its space, its vista and friendly, professional staff was impressive. The Standard Room was really well appointed with private, covered parking.

Activities are well-organised and the idea of being allocated a guide for your whole stay is very good. It is easy to plan the days with main activities at 06:30 and 16:00 each day. Only staying two nights we were able to pack in 3 activities during which we saw leopard, cheetah and wild dogs in addition to a rich variety of other fauna.

The staff are very flexible and were able to change seating quickly when three couples returning from a game drive wished to eat at a table for six. The food is of good quality.

The only regret was not squeezing in the Africat visit between main activities.

This is one Lodge which will inspire." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr S.
Clontarf

"Very wel run and informative centre"

2 nights Arrived 4 Oct 2016
"An excellent end to our trip around Namibia. The whole facility is very well set up and run, relaxing, informative and enjoyable.

The Standard rooms are nicely decorated in a simple way and have two large beds with views out across the plain. Meals are served in a large building. The set 3 course dinners were good - game each night. The first night's meal was significantly better than the second. All staff were keen to ensure the visit was good. Tables were allocated for dinner, but we asked to combine tables with others we met on the game drives and were accomodated immediately.

We took three drives out seeing leopard, cheetah and wild dogs, as well as loads of antelope and giraffe. The guide, Immanuel, was excellent and made an effort to ensure we saw as much as we could during our stay. We were nervous that the viewing would be affected by the way they collar the cats and track them but in practice it didn't affect the experience as the cats are roaming wild and the tracking doesn't 100% identify the location of the animals and the animals might be in areas the vehicles can't reach.

The clinic/centre is also worth a visit to understand the work AfriCat does.

We hung around on our final day as it was such a comfortable place torelax before heading on to Windhoek." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr R M
Illinois

"Okonjima Plains Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 1 Oct 2016
"This is a very nice camp which is quite large and different from the others in which we stayed.

The service is not excellent but the rooms are nice and the food is good.

The activities are well planned and enjoyable." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms M
dublin 22

"Amazing experience"

2 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2016
"We decided to spend 2 nights here instead of the one on the draft programme and we were so glad we did, such an experience! We had heard that the accommodation was of lesser quality to some other locations but we were delighted with ours. We stayed in S7, we had a great view of game rambling around, the room fitted in with the surroundings, was large, the bathroom was particularly well decorated. There was a fridge and staff filled a jug with water for us every day. We even had an owl visit us on the last night.

The staff were all friendly, the food was good particularly the afternoon tea!

We took part in the cheetah and leopard tracking - it was a great privilege to get so close to the cheetah and to learn about the work of Africat in preparing these beautiful animals for release into the wild. Our hunt for leopard illustrated the difficulty Africat have in monitoring these animals. Our guide Mike was informative and very experienced.
I also took the tour of the Africat foundation and got to see Leewa the leopard up close - such a beautiful animal. I really enjoyed the trip with Martin and learned so much about the difficulties caused by the local communities living in close proximity to cheetah and leopard.

Overall an amazing experience not to be missed" See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs G
Herts

"Okonjima Plains Camp review"

1 night Arrived 21 Sep 2016
"Bit of a surprise. Thought it might more like a zoo, but a true wild reserve. Good drive to find collared cheetahs

Good large comfortable room, with good pool associated with a small cluster of rooms. Restaurant very functional but food OK." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Showing 101-110 of 361
95%
361 reviews of Okonjima Plains Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
290
59
8
4
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okonjima Nature Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okonjima Bush Camp

Okonjima Bush Camp

Roomy chalets, personal service and great food make Okonjima Bush Camp a comfortable base from which to explore the Okonjima Reserve.


97% (220 reviews)
Okonjima Villa

Okonjima Villa

Okonjima Villa is the most exclusive place to stay on Okonjima, offering guests world-class photographic opportunities.


100% (13 reviews)
Okonjima Bush Suite

Okonjima Bush Suite

Bush Suite is a luxurious, private two-bedroom retreat at Okonjima; track cheetah and leopard with your private guide, affording some great photo opportunities.


100% (6 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa