This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp

Reviews of Okonjima Plains Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

361 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Okonjima Plains Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 40 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Okonjima Plains Camp.
Leopard

100% success

Cheetah

81% success

Wild dog

18% success

Oryx

100% success

Giraffe

97% success

Zebra

94% success

Wildebeest

75% success

Eland

60% success

Brown Hyena

57% success

White Rhino

19% success

Aardvark

12% success

Spotted Hyena

11% success

Pangolin

4% success

Showing 111-120 of 361
Duration
Arrival date
Mr T & Mrs H
Essex

"Okonjima, unmissable!"

2 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2016
"This was a great place to finish holiday, we were upgraded to The Bush Camp which was fabulous and strongly recommended .
The food and service just excellent
WE had a great guide who made sure we saw the leopards and cheetahs. We would have been very happy to stay another night and just relax at the lodge." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs A & Mr J T
Essex

"Leopards and Cheetahs"

2 nights Arrived 15 Sep 2016
"We were delighted with our spacious chalet here ,(Standard Room 8), with a 1.5 meter bed each and an enormous window overlooking the plain. Wildlife was plentiful, with a nearby warthog den, the resident of which enjoyed digging around the walls of our chalet.

Meals were served in a spacious glass sided building, tables were allocated. My only criticism is that we felt service was very rushed at dinner and we felt under pressure to be quick. The Bushmans Omelette for breakfast was vey generous!

The activities were highly organised, well described and priced in written and verbal information. We went on two trips, both Leopard and Cheetah spotting. These were well organised with many trips departing at the same time but none of the transport was crammed full, meaning that everybody had a good view of all about them. Our guide on each trip was Imms, who was enthusiastic and determined that the viewing would be successful. This involved a fair amount of off road driving through vicious thorn bushes but well worth it.


On leaving Okonjima Plains Camp we were stopped at the last exit gate by the gate man who had noticed that we had a slow puncture. He pointed it out to us and helped us to change the wheel within the gates of the Lodge.
Without this we would have found the puncture while on the main road and had a much more stressful change of the wheel.
It is also worth other visitors knowing that there is a guest toilet right by this gate which came in very handy for us!

" See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr G & Mrs S
NOT.

"KNOCK OUT !!!"

3 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2016
"Well what can i say they made this visit a dream we were allowed to go to the clinic to watch an operation on a sick cheetah.
we saw wild dog puppies we went to see the two male lions with champers sundowners
us not the lions

we went tracking cheetahs and leopards and saw a beautifull male leopard with no collar
we were allowed to watch them exercising a cheetah with a lure at speed and we even saw evidence of animals on the reserve we are not allowed to mention !!
And on our last night we had out table for dinner in a private boma with a fire, candles all over the place and our own waitress
The people here really did go out of there way to give us a good time and we thank them from the bottom of our hearts" See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs Judd
London

"Okonjima Plains Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2016
"Having stayed at Okonjima several times before we were once again not disappointed. We chose to return to Okonjima for my 40th birthday and I am very happy to say that the staff and the Hanssen family made it a birthday to remember for all the right reasons. Our guide Martin was excellent and ensured that we had some amazing sights of the cats.

The food and way of serving has also improved from earlier visits and we enjoyed some lovely meals.

The reception and waiting staff were friendly and professional and checking in was quick. It was nice to see some familiar faces during our stay and to meet some new ones.

Needless to say that we will definitely be going back.

" See all these reviews: 6n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
G & H
London

"Relatively speaking, not our cup of tea"

1 night Arrived 4 Sep 2016
"Many people sing the praises of the Okonjima Plains Camp - and Africat... we were not so sure.

Having visited eight national parks in five different African countries over the years this was our first experience of an 'enclosed' park. In comparison, we did not like it.

We felt that the camp tried too hard to ensure their guests were regimented. I am sure we disappointed by choosing to go on a self-guided walk rather than any paid activity (we seemed to be the only people doing that); this meant we were not certain what time we would arrive for breakfast (having been advised that it rant from 7-10) - but they wanted us to name a time (which we didn't) - meaning that, when we arrived just after 7am for breakfast, it was not ready.

The staff were regimented too - so it always felt like they spoke only from their script.

Overall, whilst the self-guided walk was quite enjoyable, not somewhere I would recommend.
" See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia; 6n in Zambia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Poor
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Average
Mr M
Cambridge

"Okonjima delivers what it promises"

2 nights Arrived 31 Aug 2016
"Really luxurous feel to View rooms at Plains Camp.

Guides and staff fantastic- vey professional, helpful and welcoming.

Saw cheetah (am) and leopard (pm). Even though they are collared, it was still a thrill.

Seems very heavily branded as an organisation - hopefully their commercial success does pay off for wildlife & locals." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs M
Italy

"Great experience of Okonjima Plain Camps"

1 night Arrived 20 Aug 2016
"I understood that there are also other accommodation at the Okonjima, we would have maybe preferred to stay in a more upscale accommodation, but apart from the first impact (which was a bit shocking for such a big place after all the small lodges where we stayed), we must say that they do a great job, we had a big room, a lot of privacy and a lot of opportunities to walk around by ourselves (we couldn't at the Ongawa Tented Camp)" See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs C
Romsey

"Great place to see cats"

1 night Arrived 31 Jul 2016
"We used this as a stopping point between Etosha and Windhoek and before we flew home. However, we wish we made it more of a destination in its our right and spent longer here than 1 night. 1 night doesn't give you much time to do all the activities they have to offer, or the chance to see the cats because there is a chance that on one of the drives you won't see one.

We got upgraded to a view room - although I have a feeling this was due to some sort of mix up with the booking. We were written in pen at the bottom of the sheet when we arrived at the gate for the reserve, and they were not ready with our check-in sheets when we got to reception unlike everyone else's. The view room we got was also brand new with us being the first in it, and still clearly in the process of having finishing touches being done. However, it was a lovely spacious room and very spacious bathroom with a nice view. We did however, both have to have two cold showers - not sure if this was due to it still being finished off.

The activities were brilliant with an enthusiastic guide who clearly cares for the nature. We got there early enough to go onto the leopard tracking, and we managed to track the first leopard to some deep undergrowth. Unfortunately it was clear that we were not going to spot him so we moved on to try and spot another leopard. All the guides talk to each other, and another guide had spotted a leopard called Shanti, up a tree. So we went to see her. It was incredible to be so close to her while she was up a tree. It was nice to also hear the guide say that sometimes we can't always take photos and its just for looking, when someone was complaining a branch being in the way and could he move the vehicle.

The next morning we got up early to go on the cheetah tracking - this was incredible. We walked with two cheetahs while they were hunting and watch them make a kill. I got the impression it doesn't happen often, and it was something I won't forget!

The food was ok. The cake and tea was nice before the activities. The evening meal was a bit chaotic, but they explained it was the busiest night the camp has had since it opened - I think they learnt a lot that night, and they managed to deal with it! I have a feeling if we stayed another night it would be a bit smoother, and be a bit quicker.

A great place, with friendly staff and fantastic guides and activities. Busy but once on the activities you don't notice that so much. Activities are well organised.
" See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs J & A
UK

"Amazing experience"

2 nights Arrived 30 Jul 2016
"The Plains Camp is superb. The barn is a very pleasant area to sit at night and to eat meals in.

The rooms are very comfy, well equipped and have beautiful views with lots of friendly wildlife. The game drives were excellent and we saw lots of wildlife.

The staff here are very friendly and the whole atmosphere is superb. Our evening meals were very good, the quality and variety are excellent." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs C
Droitwich

"Okonjima Plains Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 20 Jul 2016
"When we arrived we found that we had been upgraded to the Bush Camp which was very luxurious and a nice surprise for our last couple of nights. A pity we couldn't make more use of it with so many trips available.

The staff, restaurant and central area were also excellent as were the guided trips to see the Leopards and Cheetahs.

I think our only comment would be that we didn't realise how far off the main road the camp was (aprox 30km and 30 mins extra drive) which meant we arrived too late for that days game drive. That is definitely worth mentioning for future clients.

We were certainly very pleased to have asked to go there as it wasn't on your original itinerary.
" See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 111-120 of 361
95%
361 reviews of Okonjima Plains Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
290
59
8
4
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okonjima Nature Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okonjima Bush Camp

Okonjima Bush Camp

Roomy chalets, personal service and great food make Okonjima Bush Camp a comfortable base from which to explore the Okonjima Reserve.


97% (219 reviews)
Okonjima Villa

Okonjima Villa

Okonjima Villa is the most exclusive place to stay on Okonjima, offering guests world-class photographic opportunities.


100% (13 reviews)
Okonjima Bush Suite

Okonjima Bush Suite

Bush Suite is a luxurious, private two-bedroom retreat at Okonjima; track cheetah and leopard with your private guide, affording some great photo opportunities.


100% (6 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa